We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend an afternoon”
Review of Cape Cinema

Cape Cinema
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Dennis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Art Deco theater dates back to 1930.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

For only $6 you can see a first rate movie in a cozy old theater. Some of the seats which are probably the original seats, are not very comfortable and taped together, but you can manage for a couple of hours. It is not a huge cinema complex with big expensive candy etc. it is an easy in and easy out with plenty of free parking. You can get a cup of good Cape Cod coffee or a bag of popcorn and see a good movie. Some are oscar nominated movies or you can see opera. Whatever you choose to see, it is a great way to spend a winter afternoon ( or evening) on the Cape.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“Great Cinema...uncomfortable seats”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Loved this theatre, loved the movie. Unfortunately, found it hard to walk after the film...the seats are so uncomfortable! I recommend bringing a pillow to sit on if you go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cityblockclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Interesting movie night”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had heard about the Cape Cinema from Trip advisor when looking for things to do in the Brewster area. My fiancé and I are regular movie goers so we thought this would be a fun experience. While it was a unique experience I was not impressed with the historic theatre. While the movie was great, the so called comfortable arm chairs used for seating were ancient and far from comfortable. The chairs were draped with white sheeting which looked pretty tacky. I prefer more modern seating. If you are a popcorn fan, the large size was very modest and I didn't see any other snacks that appealed to me. There were cookies available for purchase but they didn't look too appealing. The cinema definitely draws the senior crowd who apparently talk a lot prior to the movie and intermittently during the movie which was annoying. The mural on the celling as described by others was very pretty and unique. Ladies room was located down steep stairs and not sure if it was handicap accessible. Overall it was an interesting night at the movies far from the typical Regal experience but If you are looking for a different type of movie experience, I preferred the Orpheum in Chatham. They had great seating and a unique cinema.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sealover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The movie theatre is part of 3 building campus, consisting of an art museum, playhouse, and movie theatre. It was constructed in the early 1900s and its art deco ceiling makes the visit well worthwhile. First quality movies are shown with comfortable arm chair seating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not your cookie cutter movie theater!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

THis is a special place, an old fashioned summer stock theater for movies. THere are real arm chair seats and a wonderful, fun, homey sort of feeling. They also feature quality movies, not the usual shlock. Makes for a great break at the end of a Cape Cod day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NFKBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Cape Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing