We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little find right across from the beach!”
Review of The Gaslight

The Gaslight
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dennis Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gaslight
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Randolph, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic little find right across from the beach!”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a family owned small hotel with cape cod charm and all the special comforts.
Each unit has a small table and chairs outside to sit and take in the views and salt air, a fridge for waters or lunches for the beach which is just across the street :)

The owners are wonderul; I have been here several times with my sister and will be back again in September, but this time I came with my boyfriend and we were just as comfortable hanging with them and talking about our day and where we ate.

If you want real cape cod with down to earth people for a reasonable price, this is it!
If you want fancy and snobby go elsewhere.

I look forward to our next visit!! Thanks! :)

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BetsyHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Older motel across the street from beach. We turned on the air conditioner to drown out the talkative guests. The A/C was so loud we thought it broken. We checked with other residents to find they were all extremely noisy. The bathroom was less than clean and the mattressess' very very FIRM.
There was a fridge in the room. Bring your own hairdryers, coffee makers, cell phones, and irons if you do decide to stay here. There is a iron and board to be borrowed..but beware the board emits the scent of mold..not sea.
The owners were very nice, but we were looking for cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KNUBBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aramweb, Owner at The Gaslight, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay at the Gaslight. We do attempt to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

Regarding your comments about our amenities, we would like to point out that we serve complimentary coffee every morning and have coffee available throughout the day in our office. We do not have hairdryers in the room but do have some in the office for guests to borrow. Additionally, although not in every room, an ironing board and iron are available for our guests to use. The cover on the ironing board is changed and washed regularly during the season.

We wish that our guests would advise us of any problems during their stay rather than waiting until afterwards to inform us of problems via a negative review. If you were unsatisfied with the cleanliness level of your room and had advised us at the time, we would have had our housekeeping staff double check the room and clean it if necessary. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and have had many happy guests return year after year.

Regarding the mattresses, we replace our mattresses routinely for the comfort of our guests. It is difficult to accommodate everyone the same, as some guests prefer firm mattresses and some prefer softer. Had you advised us of your discomfort, we gladly would have switched mattresses with another room. Failing to inform us at the time of your stay does not afford us the opportunity to remedy the problem.

We hope that trip advisor users will not allow this negative review to affect their decision to stay at the gaslight. We are a family owned business operating for over 50 years. We pride ourselves on providing a clean, comfortable environment for our guests and do all we can to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We do hope you'll consider staying at the Gaslight, and if you do, will do all we can to make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicope, MA
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at the Gaslight motel the weekend of 8/14. We wanted a clean, simple room that was close to the ocean but didn't want to spend the cost of a room ($200+) that was "on the water". We had a simply decorated, large enough room with a small refrigerator, air conditioning and cable. You could help yourself to coffee in the morning. The owners are on site and available when needed. Yes, you couldn't really see the ocean from most rooms but the beach was steps away, just across the street. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Just returned from Cape Cod last night after having a wonderful time. We stayed a the Gaslight Motel in Dennis Port, Ma and really liked it. I must tell you, this is a 4th stay there.

The Gaslight Motel is a family owned small and simple Motel. There are only about 23 rooms and to my knowledge most of the rooms are all the same. Each room has private bath, small refrigerator, air conditioning and daily mail service. There is no pool here, but it is located across the street from beaches on the Nantucket Sound which is just beautiful. The owners, Charlie and Sona are wonderful hosts and are there for you if you need help. We love stoping by the office to say HI to them. There is always a story to be told.

If you are looking for a clean and simple place to be comfortable and get a good night sleep I do recommend staying here. It is truly part of Cape Cod and I will not look any place else to say.

Dennis Port itself is a great area to stay. It is right in the middle of the Cape and easy to get to just about any place you want to go. We are already thinking of our trip for next year and of course I will be going back here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyDutchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dennis Port hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
0.2 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Old Landing Motel
Old Landing Motel
#2 of 19 in Dennis Port
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Beach Resort
Edgewater Beach Resort
#5 of 19 in Dennis Port
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaslight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslight

Property: The Gaslight
Address: 82 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2611
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dennis Port
#8 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslight Motel is a charming family owned and operated Motel situated in the heart of Cape Cod. The Gaslight offers a preferred location where the warm water and excellent beaches on beautiful Nantucket Sound are only minutes from your door. The summertime water temperature is a comfortable and refreshing 72 degrees. We offer spacious rooms with a choice of one queen or two double beds. Our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, cable/color TV, refrigerators and private baths. Complimentary coffee is served every morning. FREE WIFI is available for all registered guests throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gaslight Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing