We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE!”
Review of The Gaslight

The Gaslight
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dennis Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gaslight
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“DONT STAY HERE!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the worst experience for my wedding.
First, we blocked off 10 rooms, and gave a credit card to guarantee them, until June 15, 2014 with a written contract. My guests were calling for weeks and were told that there were no rooms available. Sona, the owner, told my mother that she “rented the rooms because (she) thought we didn’t need them.” We were never contacted, notified, or considered during this breach of contract. Many of my guests had to stay in other towns and drive/sit in traffic to get to our location because Sona was so inconsiderate, and 2 couples did not attend the wedding because there were no other accommodations available in the area.
Then, when we dropped off the welcome baskets for the 3 people that did get a reservation at her motel, she gave away the chips and candy to kids that were in the basket. The groom’s mother stayed at The Gaslight Motel and came back to the room one day to find that the door was propped wide open and unlocked with no one inside. The room was not cleaned, and all of their luggage and valuables were in plain view.
My cousin, upon check-in, had already paid for one of the 3 nights he was staying, yet she charged his card again for the full 3 days. He informed her of the error and she tried to run the card AGAIN! She was totally ignorant to the entire process of how to charge his credit card, and after multiple attempts his credit card company blocked further attempts.
It is amazing to us that this woman can run a business. The simple fact that she guaranteed us 10 rooms in writing, and then rented them without notifying us is bad business. Not to mention the fact that she markets herself as having free WiFi but no one could access it. We highly recommend the other hotels in the area, and while they may be slightly more expensive, it will be worth it to not have to interact with this woman.

Room Tip: Stay some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kzims617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aramweb, Public Relations Manager at The Gaslight, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We feel that we must respond to this negative review, for there are incorrect assertions and false accusations. First and foremost, we are sorry that you did not get the experience you wanted at our motel. We try our best to accommodate the needs of our guests to ensure a positive experience.

It seems that much of the dispute centers around miscommunication. We received a telephone call from the brides mother, who had secured the room block with her credit card. She advised us prior to June 15 that we no longer needed to hold the rooms. Our mistake was not communicating this information immediately with the bride, a lesson we have learned the hard way. Clearly there were problems with the line of communication between the bride, her mother and us - a situation we hope to avoid in the future.

As for the accusation that we gave away items from the gift basket, this assertion is BLATANTLY FALSE. We have no idea where this accusation came from or what evidence there may be to support it. We have many wedding parties who stay at our motel and we always do our utmost to assist the bride and groom with any and all of their needs, in particular assisting with gift baskets. The assertion that is made is false and has no basis in truth.

Regarding the wifi, our recollection is a guest did have trouble accessing one of our 3 wifi routers and came to our office for help. We provided the router information and password and access was gained to our wifi. We do have guests who cannot access wifi on occasion and we work with them to get them online to the best of our ability. We also cannot control when the wifi signal is down due to our ISP being down or having slower service. This is an amenity we offer as a convenience to our guests and cannot control how it is accessed by our guests.

The statements about the credit card being charged is also not as clear as it is stated on the review, as it is based on misunderstandings. There were problems with the charge being accepted, and eventually it was processed. Of note, we do not charge guests for 1 night in advance. We may process the card as a temporary hold at the time of the reservation, but do not process the charge until the guests arrive. The bride's cousin called another family member to get credit card information to process the first night's charge, and then used his own card for the final 2 nights. His card was declined. We cannot be held responsible if a guest's card is not denied by his credit card company. Eventually, after several tries, the charge was accepted by the credit card company.

As to the door being open, our cleaning staff was in the process of cleaning the rooms at the time. The timing may have been unfortunate as our staff occasionally has to retrieve cleaning supplies and linens, but the rooms are always under supervision. We have reminded our housekeeping staff again to ensure that doors are secured whenever the room is unattended.

It is our opinion that this negative review is based on misinformation and/or misunderstandings,. We are sorry that our reviewer was unhappy, however the guests that did stay with us that weekend (the groom, his mother and aunt in particular) did have a wonderful time and enjoyed our facility and our hospitality. The groom thanked us profusely as did his mother and aunt. We hope this review will not deter you from booking a room with our establishment. We have been in business for over 50 years and pride ourselves on our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have always stayed in Dennis Port. Our Hotel went Time Share. Now little or no availability, too expensive, and more than we need. Tried Gas Light last year. Very happy we did-will be back this year. Clean, inexpensive, friendly and accommodating! Everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was so relaxed at this cozy motel which is family owned and so well run. We come here every summer and are made to feel like this is home. We love the Gaslight Motel...I encourage everyone to come to this beach motel.
K. Caily

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skinDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Gaslight is an older, charming, Cape Cod establishment one block from the beach. Having never been to the Cape before, we were so pleasantly surprised with the location, the oh-so accommodating owners; Suna, Charlie and their friend Lucille as well as their staff. With the ambience of the beach within a 1 minute walk, restaurants all around and an exceptionally clean room, who needs the "Ritz" when you have the Gaslight? We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the generosity of the owners who gave us great information on places to go and even lent us beach chairs, beach towels and a hair dryer! It doesn't get much better that that!! We hope to visit again soon! Thank you Suna, Charlie and Lucille!! You attributed to the great time we had on the Cape. Fondest regards, Garie and Al

Room Tip: best room - #23 - partial view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Super awesome owners...we will be coming here EVER YEAR from now on! One of the best located hotels around so close to everything especially the OCEAN! Clean rooms and the owner go above and beyond to make sure your stay is the best you can possibly have on the Cape.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have been coming to cape Cod for many years, this time was our first in Dennisport. The Gaslight was very nice, we very much enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very very kind and accommodating. Many very nice eateries within minutes of hotel and beach is right across the street. Will definitely be returning next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loftusklan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have been coming to Dennisport, Cape Cod for over 40 years. For the last 14 years, my family and I have gone to The Gaslight. WHY?
The simple charm, the location, the warmth of not just the temperature but also from the family who owns it. They are friendly, caring and the sweetest people on the Cape. I am proud to know them.
Their rooms are a great price, comfortable and CLEAN with chairs to sit outside and enjoy the Cape Cod air. Close to so many resturants, beaches and great place to step out and take a morning walk or bike ride. There is even a nature trail a few steps away.
Simple and classic, just like my "old Cape Cod"!
Summers are a great time of course, but September and October is also special.

Can not go wrong staying at Gaslight. I promise!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise1ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dennis Port hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
0.2 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Old Landing Motel
Old Landing Motel
#2 of 19 in Dennis Port
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Beach Resort
Edgewater Beach Resort
#5 of 19 in Dennis Port
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaslight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslight

Property: The Gaslight
Address: 82 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2611
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dennis Port
#8 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslight Motel is a charming family owned and operated Motel situated in the heart of Cape Cod. The Gaslight offers a preferred location where the warm water and excellent beaches on beautiful Nantucket Sound are only minutes from your door. The summertime water temperature is a comfortable and refreshing 72 degrees. We offer spacious rooms with a choice of one queen or two double beds. Our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, cable/color TV, refrigerators and private baths. Complimentary coffee is served every morning. FREE WIFI is available for all registered guests throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gaslight Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing