We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pelham House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doryman Motel(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cutty Sark(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Beach Motel(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipper Motel(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Garlands(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
37
59
23
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
59
23
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachcape codocean breezemicrowave and mini refrigeratorred seaweeddeck dooroff seasonnantucket soundlate octoberbeach hotelpancakes and french toastroom was spaciousopen windowsbit outdatedocean frontsound of the wavesevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

First vacation with both of my daughters together in a long time and anxiously awaiting the Summer of 2013 for our return visit! Our room was nice and clean with a private deck, comfy bed, and a beautiful oceanview! Daily complimentary breakfast, and just steps from the lovely pool area and private beach! Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaycee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at the place for few nights and consider it to be a great value for the "buck". The room was clean, but had no A/C... Our room had windows on the tennis court and since no-one plays early in the morning - it was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was up to standard. One of the great advantages of this hotel - location - right on the shore... It literally takes less than a minute to walk onto their private beach, which however lacks the umbrellas... One minor problem was a weak signal for the Wi-FI internet, that strengthens the closer you are to main lobby/reception hall. The staff is very helpful and cooperative... And since the breakfast was included in the price of the room - it was satisfactory...
Overall, i believe, this hotel is a great place for the money it costs, considering hundreds of greatly overpriced property's that Cape Cod is filled with...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonardo501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our last stay at the Pelham House was in 2008 and we were eager to revisit. We spent 3 nights as a family (my husband, 13-year old son and me). The resort was just as lovely and well-maintained as we remembered (huge rooms) but the property was over run with small children this particular week and the walls are paper thin. Since there is no air conditioning in the rooms, you really must keep the balcony door open at night to get air in and we were woken up at at 6:00 a.m on the first morning by children having a race in their room (with their parents actually encouraging this saying "ready, set go!!). Management was wonderful and upgraded us to a quieter room (a 2-rm. suite), but if you have teenagers or don't have children and want to sleep past 6:00 a.m., this is not the place for you. Considering the extensive renovation they did, air conditioning really should have been installed, which might cut down on the noise factor. However, the pool is one of the nicest on the Cape and breakfast is included in the price. The rooms were clean on the surface, but we found a few items from previous owners on the floor in plain sight and my son found one flip flop inside the pull out couch, leading us to wonder how thoroughly the rooms ARE cleaned. When I brought an eyeglass case to the office saying that was the 3rd thing we found in the room from a previous owner, the front desk person asked if we happened to find a set of keys by any chance that were missing....kind of missing my point about the maid service. Although a great location, we came home exhausted from our vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripledecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

For her first trip to the Cape, my niece wanted to stay in a hotel/inn with an ocean view, so my sister found Pelham House through Hotwire. Not having had much luck with the weather, we got to Pelham House in the rain and soon discovered that our room did not have air conditioning, so it was a bit stuffy. Sure, we did get an ocean view overlooking the pool area, but this is not what we had expected. A box fan was in the room, so we got that going quickly. On the bright side, for an older inn, our room did have a comfortable king size bed and sleep sofa, and there was ample space for the three of us. There was also a microfridge in the room but no coffee maker. The bathroom was small and the shower pressure wasn't great, but we managed. We are early risers, so we missed out on the buffet breakfast because it started 8am. All in all, our stay was satisfactory but I would not want to pay as much again for what little we got.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HabesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Pelham House is a very typical Dennis Port hotel right on the Nantucket Sound. The staff were always accommodating, friendly and worked very hard to get us anything we needed. But what we really needed was a decent mattress and a fitted sheet on the pullout sofa (and that mattress was pretty bad as well, but kids can handle it). Every morning we woke up feeling broken and my children couldn't keep the sheet on the pullout sofa.

The room itself was clean but the coffee tables were quite worn and I pulled the bedspread off immediately upon arrival (and purchased a fleece at Christmas Tree Shop) as it looked grungy. There was a fabulous amount of bureau/closet space, a microwave and a good sized fridge. Unfortunately there was no coffee maker. Additionally, there was a wonderful marble counter and sink but no glassware or utensils to use on it so it was kind of pointless (also bought wine glasses at Xmas Tree shop, but I would bet the innkeepers would have helped us with that if we asked-just hate drinking wine out of a plastic cup!)

The housekeeping was very good and worked around our stuff nicely. Additionally was very appreciative of the tip we gave the day before we left (wrote a thank you on the note I left her).

The pool was nice, clean and well kept with nice and plentiful lounge chairs. Unfortunately there were no chairs on the beach, though they supplied some pretty beat up ones that we were free to carry down ourselves.

They served a full buffet breakfast from 8-10 which was more than adequate but I was getting tired of scrambled eggs by the end of our stay. They alternated bacon and sausage each day, and provided pancakes and french toast alternately as well, and had bagels, danish, and cereal daily.

Luckily it was not beastly hot as there was no air conditioning.

It was nice visiting a hotel where the innkeepers really did seem to want to be accommodating; never seemed put upon when we asked for something.

Beside the terrible mattress, the only other complaint was that the entire duration of our stay there was construction going on - circular saws, hammering, etc. Was grateful there were no jackhammers. Difficult to sleep in or take a nap.

Room Tip: Be very specific when you call. Make sure to tell them for "ocean view" I'd like to be on an upper level. While we had an ocean view it was very limited. They were happy to move us but were very booked and we would have had to move after a day or two and the room wasn't appreciably better than where we were. I have a feeling if you tell this establishment what you need they will do their best to get it for you.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Savalumom9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews