We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Chelsea, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had a great stay - the room was clean and easy to live in. The kitchen was great but there wasn't anything to heat food (no stove or microwave) so if you're coming for a long stay bring a hot plate! Otherwise it was fantastic - we're coming back for sure. We came in November when things are quiet and it was PERFECT!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amyneuzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    14
    10
    16
See reviews for
38
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We absolutely love the Breakers!!! Being timeshare owners elsewhere on the Cape, we come to the Breakers at least once a year because it is like being in heaven. We are here for a week in Nov. & have not seen any construction. The staff is wonderful & we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom when we arrived!!! It doesn't get better than that. There are 3 flat screen TVs & we can see the ocean from our room. Do not listen to the last review. Some people are never happy. I was worried about sleeping in the bed cause I have back problems, but not to worry, it was very comfortable. There are 2 restaurants within walking distance if you like to walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Misleading descriptions... We went there believing we would have a room with ocean views, and easy access to a beach with white sand. Perfect as part of our honeymoon.

What we got was a note on the door telling us to go to the hotel along the road, where reception was in turmoil due to building work. We were then told (or shouted over the noise) that our room was actually in another building on the other side of the road, with a view over the parking lot and some waste ground. When we said this wasn't what we'd booked, the lady dealing with us just got aggressive and said we could complain to booking.com and might get some money back, but it was nothing to do with her. We stood our ground, and she stormed off to find her manager. 45 minutes later, she finally reappeared, and said that her manager was busy talking to the hotel owner, so couldn't see us. By that time we'd made other arrangements and told her we were cancelling. She then got even more hostile saying that we'd just been given a free upgrade - we still had a room overlooking the parking lot, but now we'd get an extra bedroom... Great. We left. We won't be going back. And we wouldn't advise anyone else to go there either.

Oh yes: we weren't the only ones complaining. There was a queue.

Room Tip: If you want to find a good room, try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here for 5 nts in late Sep and were pleasantly surprised.
First, I'd booked thru Expedia and when I arrived, found that they hadn't a King room, but Lynn at the desk was terrific. They had a King Oceanfront that we were upgraded to, Expedia cancelled my res at no charge, and Lynn booked us into the Oceanview King Suite for $21 per night less than my original rate! Good start.
The "suite" part of the Suite, was sweet! Nice King Bedroom area, plenty of closet and dresser space. The Livingroom area had a nice gas fireplace, pullout sleeper couch and a comfortable recliner, and a small kichenette, large fridge, toaster, microwave, plenty of utensils, plates and actual glassware including decent wine glasses. Both the bedroom and Living room had 32 inch flat screen TVs with a lot of programming, including the Golf Channel.
The "dining area" had a small table for four snuggled next to a garden-style jetted bathtub. That's right folks, you can apparently have your beefcake and eat it too in this cozy set up. Unfortunately it was this section of the suite that faced the ocean, there was no balcony, so to see the water one had to be in the bathtub or at the table.
Nevertheless,this was all fine, especially since we weren't planning to spend much time in the room. And only had our cereal at the table in the AM before heading out each day.
However, the bathroom was a disaster, so small, you had to step outside of it to change your mind - (rim shot please). The sink was tiny and very low. There was virtually no shelf space. It was old as well, the tub and grout were cracked and stained. But, since we weren't planning on spending too much time in the bathroom ... It was almost as though the two areas, suite and bathroom, were in different motels - Twilight Zone-like.
There was a nice, heated pool directly below the room and there were Gas Grills that were available for those wishing to BBQ, and as I've said, the ocean was directly in front of the pool with lighted stairs leading down to the beach.
The price (off season) was terrific - $95 per night plus taxes. The location in mid-cape was excellent. Thirty minutes or so to P-town; 15 minutes to Chatham; 20 minutes to Hyannis, etc. made for easy day trips.
The ferry to Nantucket was only five minutes away in Harwichport, with free parking and costing $10 or so less than the Hyannis Ferry (no cars though). There was good Golf (Dennis Pines and Highlands) and there were good restaurants, especially Villa Roma, nearby.
So, if you're looking for a comfortable, inexpensive, albeit a bit quirky place to hang your hat and explore the Cape - I'd definitely recommend the Breakers. Thanks Lynn for all of your help.

Room Tip: I think our room number was 201. The one next to it had a window in the bathroom opening onto the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seyhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have to admit that I was a little worried after reading some of the more negative reviews, but there's always glass half empty people, and places can and do improve over time as well. I feel like the Breakers definitely paid attention to what people didn't like and took action. For example, some people said the walls were paper thin; we didn't hear ONE thing from any other room. Occasionally, you'd hear kids run past the door, but it was rare and during hrs you'd expect.
My wife, two children, and in-laws stayed here for a week in August, 2012. In a word, it was fantastic! The place was super clean (heard it was renovated w/i the last year or so) and welcoming. No bad odors, no stains, no broken anything...nothing that turned us off. It was a little odd that there was a jacuzzi in the dining area, but hey, it didn't bother us. I'm sure other places don't even have jacuzzis. My wife never sleeps well out of her own bed, and we both slept like rocks - the beds/pillows were so soft and inviting! The place is steps, that's right, steps to the beach. And the only thing between you and the private beach, is a wonderfully-maintained pool. Because Bluegreen owns adjacent places, we were welcome at the indoor pool and a gym that were a 2min walk away. The have a daily itinerary that has all various activities going on. We thoroughly enjoyed making s'mores on the beach with the girls! It's ultra-convenience at its best. The only two things we could possibly imagine that would have improved our vacation would be to add a stove (we had a microwave, fridge, etc), and if there were a few more restaurants within walking distance (we had to take two cars wherever we went). But that's being *super* picky. We didn't miss the stove half as much as we thought we would, and the several restaurants we walked to were fantastic. There's so much in the area (Wee Packet & Sundae School!) that there was always places to go and things to see. We are seriously considering buying a timeshare either at the Breakers, or one of the adjacent, sister places. Staff was very friendly, too. They went out of their way to call unprompted and make sure everything was fine. We were able to see the ocean (at an angle) from our room (#215 I think). But being able to see the ocean has such a powerfully relaxing effect on everyone. It set a nice tone for the whole trip. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Make sure to request the building that is on the ocean side of the main drag. There is another buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rokkinlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our 5th year staying 4th of July week- awesome location, beautiful pools, clean beaches, great staff, highly reccommend

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holkarent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I booked through Hotwire and got a good price for off season. We had a room overlooking the pool, which of course was not open (outside pool) There are 2 different buildings, even though we had an "Ocean Front Room" it really wasnt on the ocean it was beside the pool. In order to go to the ocean from here, you had to walk all the way around the building and back up the parking lot to walk down a large set of stairs to get to the beach. It is tight on the beach, and there is clearly owner wars going on, with respect to guests using beach rights so beware! Do not walk over to the right of the property (facing the beach) CHECK OUT TIME IS 10:00, very early. There is no indoor pool but you do have rights to use the pool at Tidewater another hotel up the street, but when we went to check it out, it was not to our liking. When we went in the front to show the desk clerk our key, there was a Nasty sewer smell. The pool was glass enclosed and it just didnt look that clean. The courtyard that faced it reminded me of a welfare project or something, not sure if people actually lived there. Needless to say , we left. Back at the "RESORT" I dont know if I would call it a resort at all but it does have sister time share places in other states. The desk clerks were nice, and would help you if they could. The room we had overlooked the pool, had a jacuzzi tub in the corner opposite the dining table, ya odd, but hey, they tried. The corner fireplace is nice, and great for the off season for cuddling. There is a stocked kitchenette, the bathroom is small but clean. Beware of the trim on the floors, it was a pain, and kept stubbing toes on it. There was a pull out sofa, but the mattress was so thin, dont think anyone could sleep on it. I just made up the couch and daughter slept on the cushions without pulling it out. The bed was soft, but again clean. In the summer months, people walking by your window to go the pool would be a pain. Also they can just look right into your window, you could just use the windows to climb out into the pool. We didnt even use the beach there, we just drove up the street where it was easier to access the beach. Dennisport is a tourist trap, great to keep everyone happy. Shopping , and the playland for the kids is great. There is minature golf, go karts, batting cages, soccer cages, and a place to hit out the golf balls. The arcade is clean and the machines looked fun, although when we were there we were invaded by a school trip. Back at the hotel, the parking is very tight. They have a couple of handicap spots, but the location is strange, close up to the office. The driveway in and out is only one lane, and in the Summer I just cant fathom how that works out well. There are places to eat, even in off season. There is a place that has seafood and ice cream not far. The food was greasy for me, but the soft serve was amazing, and they had so many differnt flavors...YUM. They have a 3 ring binder in the room, with information on the area, and places to eat.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean room, make sure its really ON the ocean. Ask for the building to the left, faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
249 reviews
9.0 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
7.9 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 61 Chase Ave, P.O. Box 1131, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story rustic Motor Inn, ocean view or ocean front guest rooms, sandy beach; located 5 miles from HYA airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Dennis Port
The Breakers On Ocean
The Breakers On The Ocean Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing