We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My opinion...

Pros: good location, clean, well equipped compared to a hotel, parking is great, could use wifi and coffee from nearby building.

Cons: cell phone reception is really bad here, wifi was broken in our building for all 7 days we were there, beds are small and uncomfortable, plus we can easily hear neighbors. It is really loud when they use water. I think it is the toilet. Feels less like a vacation when I can get better rest at home. Neighboring properties have "No Trespassing" on the beach, so taking a stroll on the beach seems discouraged here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank screenname609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello screenname609,

Thank you for staying at The Breakers and sharing your review. We are glad you were pleased with our location and that you found our condo-style accommodations well-equipped. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and will be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will consider giving us another chance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    14
    9
    15
See reviews for
36
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent Christmas at the breakers. We had a one bedroom condo with the spiral staircase that led up to the bedroom. The condo was located across the street so if beach front is important, make sure to inquire about actual location of unit. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Small complaints: no bathroom upstairs which make midnight bathroom runs tricky; also the spiral staircase makes bringing suit cases up an experience. Major complaints: only one washer and dryer for nearly 60 units (I can't imagine the craziness in the high season); gym was horrible and located about a block away at another resort along with the indoor pool. Overall the resort was very nice and would be a great place to stay in the summer. It is located on a very quiet street in a small quiet little town; would be a great family destination. Everybody I met was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Half of the units are across the street from the beach; inquire about location of unit rented
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tloco1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hello tloco1979,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Breakers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything clean and comfortable. We regret that some of the amenities did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments regarding the helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MASSACHUSETTS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We're in unit 213 facing the ocean on the ocean side. We have 1 bedroom + 1 loft bedroom and 1 full and 1 3/4 bathrooms. The unit is well appointed and we have a great view of the ocean from the 2nd floor living room of the ocean and can hear the waves.
On the first floor is the mbr en suite, a 3/4 bathroom and the "kitchen". The "kitchen" has a refrigerator, microwave and std toaster. We miss not having any burners/oven. There is also a Jacuzzi tub just off the kitchen looking into the parking lot? The upstairs includes a sitting area facing the ocean. The upstairs is actually a loft so you can hear the TV through the entire unit. The other half of the loft is a "bedroom" with 2 twin beds. I'm sure who would sleep there though the mbr also has a TV. This would not be good for more than 1 couple.
The WiFi is unpredictable even now off-season.Sometimes you have 2 options, sometime 1, sometimes you get right on, sometimes you watch the "spinner" turn, turn, stop, turn...
Fortunately we're here on an II Getaway. Otherwise, at full price, I would be more upset.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KASEY3615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello KASEY3615,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Breakers. We are happy you enjoyed the great view and found the unit well-appointed. We appreciate your comments as we seek to improve the guest experience. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to share additional details. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were in unit #304. It was located across the street and not on the ocean, which was a little disappointing. All we had to do was cross the street though and we were on the public beach. Our unit was very clean. The kitchen area (not really a kitchen) was very limited. A small bar size refrigerator and microwave, small sink, toaster and coffee maker. We were in a handicapped unit. Very large bathroom and extra room for wheelchair movements. Having stayed in many other timeshares at the Cape, I thought this was nicer than most. Newer and cleaner than others we have stayed at. I liked being nearer the beach rather than right on Rt. 28. The pool area outside of our unit was very nice and clean. The indoor pool was shared by the Soundings down the street. An easy walk or you could take the car and park right there. I would recommend The Breakers. I would not have more than 2 people in our one bedroom unit. If your familiar with Cape Cod rentals and hotels you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: When booking ask if you are in the ocean front or ocean view building. Only a few of the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSalemSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello PSalemSutton,

Thank you for sharing your review and recommending The Breakers. We are thrilled you enjoyed the beach and found the property nice and clean. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Dennis Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were in Unit 103 in the Oceanfront building. You enter the unit directly into the bedroom which was kind of strange. The bedroom and living area is separated by a pocket door. A stretch to call it a 1 bedroom -- more like a studio -- but is was nicely decorated and perfect for 2 people, crowded with 3. We had our college aged daughter with us and she was glad we had packed an Aero Bed as the pull out sofa bed was awful. The unit's front window was directly on the pool deck, however there is no access to the pool from the unit, so no outside space. In fact ALL of the units in the Ocean building have neither balconies or patios. The building across the street (Units in the 300-500 block) do have balconies/patios. Being on the first floor we heard every footfall, bathroom flush, and opening of drawers of our upstairs neighbors which was a bit annoying as we are late sleepers. The beach is directly in front of the pool with easy access and even a few lounge chairs. The beach is not cleaned so there was a lot of ocean detritus, but not horrible. The pool was well maintained and I saw staff there every day checking PH levels, etc. The unit had a full size refrigerator, microwave, and enough dishes and glasses to keep us happy. There are two grills in the parking area -- we did not use -- but people were grilling every evening so seemed to be well maintained. Laundry is free in the common area which included a guest computer. We had little interaction with the staff as the front desk is at The Soundings next door, but the staff we did speak to were gracious and helpful. Towel exchange every day if desired. There are two restaurants within 2/10th's of a mile. The snotty and pretentious Ocean House is a nice place to have an after dinner drink, and if you can stand the "holier than thou" attitude of the staff you can enjoy an overpriced entree for dinner. The Ebb Tide is by far the better choice. Service, food, and ambiance are all wonderful, and they have a prix-fixed 3 course menu for $27 on Mondays or for early birds every day. My husband got the best Prime Rib he's ever had on this menu -- and the a la carte menu was even better! I did not give this resort 5 stars merely because of the small size of the unit and lack of outside space, however, it was clean and comfortable and oceanfront.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello tallgirl1,

Thank you for staying with us at The Breakers and sharing your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed the oceanfront location and found the unit clean and comfortable. We appreciate your descriptive review as it will help prospective guests visiting the area. We do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the Dennis Port area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I exchanged our timeshare and based our selection on the online reviews, pictures and exchange agent recommendations. We expected a much better resort that what greeted us. We were placed in a studio that we were told would accommodate 4 and had either a patio or deck. When we arrived in the room, it was very small, could only accommodate 2 and had no outdoor space. The view from the room's one window was the dumpster and the street. The resort desk staff was less than helpful and it took multiple calls to reach the resort manager. The Internet was spotty at best and there were no pool towels, a poorly kept beach and one washer/dryer for each of the 2 buildings. This resort should be listed as a marginal 2 star on par with a Hampton Inn. The resort staff was not very caring and could benefit from some customer service training. Buyer beware....there are many options for much better accommodations on Cape Cod so don't settle for a substandard, poorly managed facility............choose another establishment.

Room Tip: Choose another establishment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bunny1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

West Keansburg, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I loved our stay at the Breakers ! We stayed in a one bedroom unit that was really spacious !
It was nice and clean and had all the amenities that I would want. Everyone I came in contact with was very helpful and friendly. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on the ocean side - and we did have a nice view. The other building is across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tink513pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
7.9 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 61 Chase Ave, P.O. Box 1131, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story rustic Motor Inn, ocean view or ocean front guest rooms, sandy beach; located 5 miles from HYA airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Dennis Port
The Breakers On Ocean
The Breakers On The Ocean Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing