We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom unit and were put in the beachside building. The parking is kind of tight and odd (need to do a 3 point turn to get out which is a challenge if the lot is full). The rooms were nice and clean - and having 2 bathrooms was a bonus. The fridge and microwave came in handy. Lots of storage and a TV in each bedroom as well as one in the living room (which also had a pull out couch if sleeping more than 4 in the space. The floor has some kind of fake hardwood which was fine - except that it made people walking overhead seem quite noisy. But overall, noise from other units was not as bad as I had expected. The pool area was nice and the small beach was nice to have just a few steps away. Warning - Dennis and other South facing beaches can get seaweedy and this was no exception. Waters are generally calm and warmer than some other coasts in New England.

It is odd to have to check in/check out at the neighboring Soundings Resort down the road (which has amenities that are usable by Breakers guests). I understand those reviewers which are offended by the cost but it seemed in line with other similar places that we looked at and, in our opinion, provided more than we expected - but we are kind 'low maintenance' people. We went for a few days, and it provided a great location to do all that we wanted to do on our quick vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ocean side - and on the top floor if you don;t mind carrying your bags. Unit 100...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Steve K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. We are glad that you were not only satisfied with your stay but also pleasantly surprised. We are grateful for your compliments regarding our accommodations and amenities. We appreciate the feedback you have provided, which will help to ensure a positive experience for all guests. We hope you come back to The Breakers soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A few things to note: you can't beat the location (right on the beach), great pools, perfect set up for a family of 6 adults and one baby. We've stayed here and next door at the Soundings and have been happy each time. Also love Dennisport in general!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Karson962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello Karson962,

We are thrilled you had a great family vacation at The Breakers. Thanks for sharing your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I took a chance and booked this "waterfront" hotel for a weekend as we usually stay elsewhere in the cape not on the water. Photos of rooms and beach view were appealing but turned out to be very misleading. Our room was across the street from the beach, not on the beach as advertised. Photos of room were staged very well. VERY small room with no space for all furniture that was crammed in there, not to mention our luggage and belongings. Soaking wet stained carpet (as if it had just been cleaned) and pull out queen bed. Many fruit flies in the room and there was a funny musty smell. Access to the beach is wonderful but I do have to say as advertised this hotel was very misleading and disappointing. Would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joannapolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Joannapolley,

We are very sorry to learn about your disappointment with your stay at The Breakers. We are grateful for your feedback and would like to hear more about your particular experience. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently spent 3 nights in room 210A facing the dumpster and road. I did everything I could while there to overlook problems and enjoy the wonderful location on the beach, but in the end there was just too much to "get over".
Pros: Very clean room, plenty of parking, the location was just as promised (right on the beach!)
Cons: You have to check in down the street at a different resort. While checking in, the front desk worker forgot to give us the keys to our room (it required physical keys. not a key card), so after hauling everything upstairs we had to go back and get a key. We were told the Wifi was being replaced, so although there was a signal there would be no wifi service.

Due to the location of our room, we did not have access to the central air units in the resort. Instead, we had a hotel-style air conditioner that had to run almost constantly to keep up. While running, the unit was so loud it was hard to talk at a normal level and be heard (so much for sleep!). We were awakened the next morning around 7:30am by the dumpster being emptied outside. To make matters worse, anytime our neighbors used the water in their room it was loud enough to wake us up.

Generally speaking, there was no privacy as one could hear EVERYTHING around you. Construction noises, conversations, doors opening and closing, we heard it all. We had the front desk called on us because of a domestic dispute in a movie we were watching. The second morning we were awakened by maintenance drilling and sawing in the room next to us at 9:30am. It was so loud the front desk worker couldn't understand me on the phone when I tried to find out what was happening. On our final night, low on sleep and patience, we were woken up at 7am by the dumpster being emptied and general noise in the hallway from people leaving. I suppose if we were on the exact same schedule as our neighbors we wouldn't have had any problems. Unfortunately, we were traveling by ourselves.

Although I had high hopes for this vacation and the Breakers delivered a great location, I was let down by many other factors. It should be of no surprise, then, that when the manager took my number and promised to call he did not. Even when I left, the Breakers still managed to let me down.

Room Tip: Unless you rent out the whole place, stay at a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello Mark W,

We regret to learn you were dissatisfied with your stay at The Breakers. We apologize for the construction related noise you encountered and any inconvenience this may have caused. We would like to further address your concerns. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My opinion...

Pros: good location, clean, well equipped compared to a hotel, parking is great, could use wifi and coffee from nearby building.

Cons: cell phone reception is really bad here, wifi was broken in our building for all 7 days we were there, beds are small and uncomfortable, plus we can easily hear neighbors. It is really loud when they use water. I think it is the toilet. Feels less like a vacation when I can get better rest at home. Neighboring properties have "No Trespassing" on the beach, so taking a stroll on the beach seems discouraged here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank screenname609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello screenname609,

Thank you for staying at The Breakers and sharing your review. We are glad you were pleased with our location and that you found our condo-style accommodations well-equipped. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and will be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will consider giving us another chance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent Christmas at the breakers. We had a one bedroom condo with the spiral staircase that led up to the bedroom. The condo was located across the street so if beach front is important, make sure to inquire about actual location of unit. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Small complaints: no bathroom upstairs which make midnight bathroom runs tricky; also the spiral staircase makes bringing suit cases up an experience. Major complaints: only one washer and dryer for nearly 60 units (I can't imagine the craziness in the high season); gym was horrible and located about a block away at another resort along with the indoor pool. Overall the resort was very nice and would be a great place to stay in the summer. It is located on a very quiet street in a small quiet little town; would be a great family destination. Everybody I met was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Half of the units are across the street from the beach; inquire about location of unit rented
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tloco1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello tloco1979,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Breakers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything clean and comfortable. We regret that some of the amenities did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments regarding the helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We're in unit 213 facing the ocean on the ocean side. We have 1 bedroom + 1 loft bedroom and 1 full and 1 3/4 bathrooms. The unit is well appointed and we have a great view of the ocean from the 2nd floor living room of the ocean and can hear the waves.
On the first floor is the mbr en suite, a 3/4 bathroom and the "kitchen". The "kitchen" has a refrigerator, microwave and std toaster. We miss not having any burners/oven. There is also a Jacuzzi tub just off the kitchen looking into the parking lot? The upstairs includes a sitting area facing the ocean. The upstairs is actually a loft so you can hear the TV through the entire unit. The other half of the loft is a "bedroom" with 2 twin beds. I'm sure who would sleep there though the mbr also has a TV. This would not be good for more than 1 couple.
The WiFi is unpredictable even now off-season.Sometimes you have 2 options, sometime 1, sometimes you get right on, sometimes you watch the "spinner" turn, turn, stop, turn...
Fortunately we're here on an II Getaway. Otherwise, at full price, I would be more upset.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KASEY3615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello KASEY3615,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Breakers. We are happy you enjoyed the great view and found the unit well-appointed. We appreciate your comments as we seek to improve the guest experience. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to share additional details. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
4.2 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
404 reviews
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Beach Resort
Edgewater Beach Resort
#7 of 19 in Dennis Port
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 61 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-2627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range: £61 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story rustic Motor Inn, ocean view or ocean front guest rooms, sandy beach; located 5 miles from HYA airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Dennis Port
The Breakers On Ocean
The Breakers On The Ocean Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing