We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude owners. Embarrassed waitresses”

The Sailing Cow Cafe
Ranked #34 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Cuisines: American
Description: Beachside dining located on Nantucket Sound. Come to The Sailing Cow Cafe and enjoy the beach, fun staff, udderly delicious food, refreshing cocktails and live entertainment! At The Sailing Cow Cafe we use fresh ingredients to create specialty dishes. Our food is cooked to order, and we are happy to accommodate special menu needs. We serve homemade breakfast, lunch and dinner, so you can enjoy our delicious food any time of the day! Some local favorites at Sailing Cow include our overstuffed omelets or signature corn bread french toast for breakfast. Lunch favorites are our fresh seafood, overstuffed sandwiches and large crisp salads and large burgers. Sailing Cow dinner menu offers great seafood, fabulous steaks, mouth watering prime rib and grilled lobsters. Come eat, drink and hang out with us at Sailing Cow Cafe! Whether you're in town on vacation, or permanent resident, we look forward to meeting you and serving you home cooked food with a smile.
Restaurant details
Description: Beachside dining located on Nantucket Sound. Come to The Sailing Cow Cafe and enjoy the beach, fun staff, udderly delicious food, refreshing cocktails and live entertainment! At The Sailing Cow Cafe we use fresh ingredients to create specialty dishes. Our food is cooked to order, and we are happy to accommodate special menu needs. We serve homemade breakfast, lunch and dinner, so you can enjoy our delicious food any time of the day! Some local favorites at Sailing Cow include our overstuffed omelets or signature corn bread french toast for breakfast. Lunch favorites are our fresh seafood, overstuffed sandwiches and large crisp salads and large burgers. Sailing Cow dinner menu offers great seafood, fabulous steaks, mouth watering prime rib and grilled lobsters. Come eat, drink and hang out with us at Sailing Cow Cafe! Whether you're in town on vacation, or permanent resident, we look forward to meeting you and serving you home cooked food with a smile.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rude owners. Embarrassed waitresses”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After fifteen minutes of sitting outside on a wonky table I asked what turned out to be the owner if I could make an order. After being jabbed in the chest by this angry lady about how the kitchen was changing from breakfast to lunch and how I had been told (I hadn't) a very sheepish waitress approached to take our order before we could leave.
The food we did receive was good and the service from the second waitress was very good. I would struggle to recommend this to anyone however.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    32
    16
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off night?”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Went with friends from out of state as they remembered this place from a previous visit last year.
The wait for the food was quite long. Two of the chicken dishes that were ordered contained raw cold chicken. When the plates were sent back they were returned with so much barbecue
sauce so as to make them nearly impossible to eat without disastrous results. One of the diners actually left without having dinner which was actually a shame as they had driven over ten hours and so looked forward to going to this restaurant. Another diner was only able to eat half of his dinner (the half that container the chicken) entitled "surf and turf". The lobster Mac and cheese was quite good and the forth meal of barbecued chicken was okay. We hesitate to recommend this to any of our friends and visitors now unfortunately.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobikiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“Stuffed Mushrooms to die for!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I ate my first stuffed mushrooms here tonight, and by the way I don't eat mushrooms. They were amazing...and I will at them again. I ordered these on the owners recommendation....and I have no regrets!! In fact, I am pleased to say the stuffing rocked my world!! Thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“right by the beach”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have been going to this beach for a number of years and never ate at this restaurant because we figured it was probably overpriced being that it sits right across from the beach with a lovely view and small town beach atmosphere.... we were wrong... the food is good- the fish sandwich was very good , the stuffed quahogs were delicious and seem very fresh... the prices were not outrageous either. The bar is quite people friendly and the young male bartender should be commended for being so professional in what could be a 'party atmosphere'.... great selection of cocktails and food items.... we tried a number of things between this year and last year and they were all good... except for the chicken caeser salad wrap - which was way to wet and hard to eat...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn T, Owner at The Sailing Cow Cafe, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Some time has passed since you left your review, but we still wanted to thank you for your kind words now that we're getting started on TripAdvisor. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed everything from the service to the fish sandwich a while back -- that's great to hear. I'm confident the wrap will be just as impressive next time, so I hope we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon. Looking forward to your return visit already!

Take care,

Robyn Thibodeau, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Small restaurant right on the water. Food was great! A little on the pricey side but with a view like that you cant complain!! Nice staff!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenpooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sailing Cow Cafe also viewed

 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 
South Dennis, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Sailing Cow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing