We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”
Review of The Ebb Tide

The Ebb Tide
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A true Cape Cod Classic! Built around an original Cape Cod sea captain’s home, the Ebb Tide serves fresh, local seafood, whole lobsters and prime beef in five intimate dining rooms. Three-Course Dinner Specials offered 5pm-6pm. Open May – September.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

pretty good for local fresh seafood. liked the lemon sorbet amuse bouche between courses - a nice unadverised touch.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyn61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    55
    16
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kewanee, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with early bird specials”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We ate here while on vacation and really had an enjoyable meal. We arrived at 515pm (I had made reservations only one hour prior) in time for the early bird specials which are 430-530. My kids are ages 11,13,15--so it is like having 5 adults including my husband. There was only one other table that I saw w/ children. Most of the crowd appeared to be retirees. There is a nice seafood variety. For $26 there was a 3 course meal or the early bird specials which included salad or soup, main entree, dessert, homeade bread, and water/ice tea/coffee. One thing the waitress failed to tell us was that they did not have free refills on soda (which was served in small glasses). Each soda was close to $2 which added up quickly. The clam chowder was the best I had while on Cape Cod--very hearty w/ large chunks of clams. The homeade bread was wonderful. I had a seafood bake which I thought was a little chincy on seafood-small amt scrod, 3 scallops, and one shrimp served in a small casserole w/ buttered crumbs on top. It was okay-nothing fabulous as the crumbs overtook the seafood. My daughter's salmon and husband's swordfish were very generous servings. The desserts were very good. I think they were homeade. I had a mixed fruit pie and the kids had mississippi mud cake--looked great. Everyone finished every crumb of dessert. Our bill came to $150 w/o tip. Would probably eat here again if we revisit this area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fnpmom2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valatie, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kitchen Closed Early On A Friday Night”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Traveling on a Friday night, we arrived at 8:30pm to the Ebb Tide to find out that the kitchen closed early that evening. The weather was beautiful just before the Fourth of July weekend. We were disappointed as we had looked forward to dining there upon the start of our vacation week. The food and atmosphere are quintessential Cape Cod. There is no excuse and it is in poor taste for a restaurant of this quality to close so early at the start of the summer season.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jagular48761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
“Terrific!”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Dinner was outstanding! We had the 3 course meal for $26, (only good until the end of June). The service, (Christine) was outstanding!!! We both had the beet salad, seafood cassarole with garlic mashed and chocolate mousse for dessert. The waitress made herself present in case we wanted anything but was not bothersome. She had a great personality. Food was HOT and delicious. Plenty of food as we both left full. My mother said everything was perfect from start to finish. Even the coffee was great. I will go back again. Make sure to stop in the gift store too. Cute items for a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Old Cape Cod charm”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Ample free parking. We were there before the high season, so it wasn't crowded. Got seated immediately. Large menu, heavy on the seafood items. Adequate wine list & full bar. Good service. Several kinds of bread in the basket. Wife & I shared a calamari app. I had the seafood sampler casserole; my wife had swordfish. We were both happy. No room for dessert. The decor is stereotypical "old Cape Cod." We would go back again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonehomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ebb Tide also viewed

Harwich, Cape Cod
 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Ebb Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing