We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than last time.”
Review of The Ebb Tide

The Ebb Tide
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A true Cape Cod Classic! Built around an original Cape Cod sea captain’s home, the Ebb Tide serves fresh, local seafood, whole lobsters and prime beef in five intimate dining rooms. Three-Course Dinner Specials offered 5pm-6pm. Open May – September.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much better than last time.”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We went to dinner after spending a day on the road driving to Provincetown. This restaurant is close by and no traffic to fight. We went before 5:30 PM for the early specials. Compared to the last time we ate there, several years ago, the inside seemed freshened up. There was a new menu. There were no house flies bothering us. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We ordered salmon, scallops, crab cakes and duckling. Each entree was very well prepared, hot and as expected. Dessert and salad come with the early specials. The salad is of average quality and size. If you want dessert, skip everything else and order the Mud Pie. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 56386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    57
    17
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My son and I arrived fairly late by Cape standards - 7:30, but thought we'd be OK having bypassed the dinner rush. We were seated in what my teenage son called "the children's room" which is the room with crying babies and toddlers. They all finally left, but the waitress had yet to appear. Service wasn't slow, it was excruciating. I have a theory that if you don't order liquor, sub-par service is to be expected and I was proven correct. My scrod stuffed with lobster was scrod stuffed. There was a lobster flavor, but I didn't see any. My son's swordfish "steak" was about a quarter inch thick. The chowder had the right consistency in stock (thin yet thick with ingredients) but the potatoes were mush. We did not get the three course, opting for the full appetizer, salad, intermezzo and entree. The price we paid to add a lousy house salad and lemon sorbet was not worth it! Two hours too long. The meal, the service, the ambience - one big disappointment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem! Fine dining in Dennisport”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was my first visit to the Ebbtide. Although I'm from the Cape, for some reason I thought this was a breakfast place, had no idea it was such an elegant and cozy dinner spot. I went with several friends and we loved everything, fantastic service, very pretty atmosphere, lots of soft blues and whites. Great wine selection. I had a nice Sauvignon Blanc, Monkey Bay that I've had before and enjoyed.

The Clam Chowder here is one of the best and truest simple Cape Cod chowders, it's creamy and has a nice balance of meaty clams and tender potatoes. Salads were nothing special though. When I go next time, will definitely get the caesar as that looked much better and you have the option of either caesar or garden salad.

Our entrees were amazing. Two of us had the same thing, Tournedos of Filet Mignon that were cooked perfectly and that delicous grilled taste. They were topped with several chunks of fresh lobster tail that was sweet and wonderful especially with the bernaise sauce that accompanied it. Asparagus, baked potato and a nice butternut squash rounded out the meal.

Coffee was very good and we split a slice of the key lime pie which was decadently creamy and had just the right amount of tartness. The lemon sorbet between courses was an elegant and appreciated touch. Looking forward to coming back here soon!

Our bill for three people came to $137 before tip, which was reasonable for the high quality of food and service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consistently great for the past 10 years!”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Visit to Ebb Tide is our must when in Cape Cod. It's traditional New England food with modern twist. If going on Mo or Tue, they have $26 prefix dinner menu with all the best choices of appetizers, main courses and desserts. I had French onion soup and sampled my hubby's beet salad, again had duck and sampled pecan-crusted salmon, for dessert we all chared our choices, since we were stuffed: carrot cake, choc truffle cake, lemon merengue pie- everything was the best quality and delectable! The service is consistently good and all bar drinks-exceptional. With cappuccinos and liquor your dinner will be around $50 per person, but it will be time well spent!
Word of advise: do not go with kids under 7 years old.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatushaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

pretty good for local fresh seafood. liked the lemon sorbet amuse bouche between courses - a nice unadverised touch.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyn61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ebb Tide also viewed

Harwich, Cape Cod
 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
Harwich Port, Harwich
 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Ebb Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing