We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but don't go to the bar first” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean House Restaurant

Ocean House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food but don't go to the bar first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We loved our food here - fabulous seafood as expected for the Cape - but we arrived in a bit of a bad mood having waited in line for almost 20 minutes to get served at the neighboring bar. So if you are coming here, go somewhere else for pre-dinner drinks.

Service at the restaurant was very good and the view was lovely. Good to see the ocean before sunset and then the delayed 4th July fireworks after dark.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaineyLou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    172
    56
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We frequent the Ocean House regularly and the food & service is always top notch! Its actually one of our favorite restaurants south of Boston!

We typically sit at the bar and still have a lovely view of the ocean. Bartenders are very knowledgeable about cocktails and wines, as well as the menu. They are very efficient while still being friendly and entertainin. Martinis are fabulous - you must try their own house infused vodkas! Menu has an array of choices including an amazing wedge salad, tuna cones, and steaks with "to-die-for" truffle french fries! During the off peak season they offer a pre fixe menu as well.

Its a must go if you're near the area and looking for great food and great service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeFoodie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The BEST on Cape Cod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

It's a must eat destination when you're on the Cape. The ocean view and superb dishes coupled with the excellent service rate Ocean House a 10. We go here every year and have never been disappointed except when they ran out of our favorite lobster dish.

Helpful?
Thank kennytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Where to begin.....the setting overlooking Nantucket Sound was wonderful. The service was perfect...our server Denista was the best. We started with the Crab Cake appetizer and it was big enough to share. Beautiful big hunks of crab and very little filler. For an entrée I had the Cape Cod potato chip encrusted Cod fish. The portion size was huge and came on a bed of truffle oil fries, with fennel coleslaw. The fish was cooked perfectly and the fennel slaw was brilliant. My sister had the Lobster Ravioli and it was to die for. They take reservations, have valet parking and their wine and mixed drink selections were wonderful. A perfect dinner from start to finish! I'm ready to go back...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
245 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food and service but........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Managed to get an 8:30 reservation and the place was packed. Appetizers of crab cake ( 2 inches thick ) , ribs and spring rolls were terrific. Entrees of filet, sea bass and chicken were great
as well. Service was knowledgeable and attentive but the noise was horrible. Barely able to have
a conversation without speaking really loud. Have been in packed restaurants before that weren't
nearly as loud , must be an acoustic problem but the noise did take away from the enjoyment of
the evening. Beautiful seaside restaurant with great view if you can get a window table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean House Restaurant also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ocean House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing