We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Below”

La Scala Restaurante
Ranked #26 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“See Below”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I was looking forward to experiencing LaScala's in Dennis Port. My sister and I had a $15 gift certificate from restaurant.com and we were excited to try the food/atmosphere. Upon arriving, we went through the only designated entrance in the back of the building. When we walked in, we were completely ignored. We didn't understand the set up because when we walked in, the door took us to the bar area. We stood there for about 5 minutes, and the bartender confusingly welcomed us, saying, "Uh....can I help you?" We told him we were here for dinner, and he informed us we needed to walk through the bar to get to the dining room part of the restaurant. It was a very strange set up.

While we were ordering dinner, the waitress (one of the owners) told us they no longer take restaurant.com gift certificates. She told us they would take half the price of the certificate off the meal, ($7.50 off), then she left to answer the phone. There is nothing on their website stating that they no longer take the gift certificates. It was ridiculous. We paid for that certificate and they should honor it. We ended up getting $10 off the meal, and we were very disappointed with the food.

I ordered the sausage and pasta, while my sister ordered the broccoli and sausage pasta. It didn't taste like they seasoned the food or anything, and it was pretty clear the sauce came from a can/sausage was frozen.

I think this whole place needs a re-vamp. Bring in Restaurant Impossible's Robert Irvine and fix this restaurant. It has so much potential, it just needs to be acted upon.

What a disappointment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allisonj144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unimpressed....”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I were here a few years ago, and were unimpressed, but we thought we would give it another try. The result? We were still unimpressed, as was our daughter who joined us. We started with the appetizer special of fried polenta wrapped in prosciutto. It was served with a side of marinara and another sauce. The polenta was tasteless except for the prosciutto. I drenched my piece in the marinara to give it some taste. Disappointing. The salad and bread arrived next. The salad was fresh and yummy with grape tomatoes, cucumbers, and a few black olives. The bread was the size of an oversized softball. It arrived warm. We all agreed that it lacked flavor. For dinner, my daughter ordered the pork tenderloin special. She said it was good, but the pork was dry. I ordered sausage, broccoli, and pasta. The serving was enormous! Enough for four meals; however, it was bland, and I was really disappointed that the broccoli was overcooked and mushy. My husband ordered eggplant and said it was good. Both their meals came with a side of pasta topped with marinara. No waitress here to offer fresh grated cheese though!

As for ambiance, there really isn't any. The dining room is in the front of the building and there is a large bar area on the side. They had tables in the bar which were set with plastic tablecloths, and since they had keno in the bar, there were many locals there. Weird setup...... Overall, it was "just a meal" but it will be our last one there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beck1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Enormous portions.
Not all so tasteful. Depressing ambiance. Nice waitress (everything was "Awesome" . You fom Holland? Wow!,, I met somone from Austria once!,,!!,
No espessso machine in a n Italian restaurant??

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurens D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not a tourist trap”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Here they do NOT pack you in like sardines! The servers are great, the prices even better. This is a local place, they LIKE you being there. There is no rush to get you out .
The food is very good, and the portions are actually too generous. You will end up taking food home.
The scrod is cooked to perfection, and the sausage dishes are as good as Arthur Ave. in NYC.
The sauce is old style Italian.
Again the service is pas good as it gets. That and the quality of the food, and the prices makes this place something to try.
They can do something about the atmosphere. But outside of that , try it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 98999Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor italian offerings”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This restaurant puts out some the worst italian food I have ever tasted. We have eaten italian cuisine all over the world and in the U.S. but the pasta tastes like it has been sitting in the pot way too long. The sauce is so bland that it seems it came out of an expired can with no taste what so ever. In the dead of summer there was hardly anyone in the restaurant which should have tipped us off. This is no place on the Cape to take in an italian meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequentraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala Restaurante also viewed

West Harwich, Harwich
 

Been to La Scala Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing