We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of Colony Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Beach Motel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
PA
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the colony motel while attending a family wedding in cape cod. The main attribute of this hotel is cleanliness. It is an older motel, we had an efficiency unit that definatly could have used some updating. But- it was clean and I slept well every night. The continental breakfast was adequate. The pool was refreshing and the beach was clean and gorgeous. It was nice to have beach chairs and towels. A good value in expensive cape cod.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yarnluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    26
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I decided to travel to Cape Cod to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Having never vacationed there we had some difficulty deciding where to stay. The Colony Oceanfront Resort caught our eye a few times so we booked 6 days/5 nights with them. Yes, the rooms are very clean, good rates, and accommondations. However, 2nd floor rooms are back to back and you hear your neighbors loud and clear..... and..... if there are children .....look out for noise..our neighboring room had 2 boys who continually ran up and down the corridor and ran throughout their hotel room before settling down for the night!!! Frustrating and aggravating if you want quiet..... Air conditioners less than efficient....on...off....on...off....Ao, if you are looking for quiet and romantic look elsewhere.
The ocean is located on the Long Island Sound so if you are like me and you long for the roar of the ocean and the beating of waves this is not the place you want to be. The beach is small, it smells of dead fish and is filled with seeweed and debris and is not enjoyable to walk. However, if you just need a place to sleep and then be gone all day, then this is suitable. Doubt if we would stay there again.....there are lots of hotels, motels....and B&B's available everywhere.... for romance and quiet, we will look elsewhere next time.....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We rented a Suite with ocean view and that is just what we got. The view and the sound of the ocean was amazing! The staff was friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and the kitchenette was convenient. They have gas grills for your use which are a great touch, there is also a charcoal grill that you can use, Tony I believe the owners husband offered he would get the charcoal grill started for me due to the wind, but the propane was fine. It was nice to cook out steaks on the grill made things easy for a dinner in.

The beach area was cleaned by staff daily of all the debris that washed up over night, the pool was well maintained and the property well kept. Very nice and convenient to all of the great places you would want to visit. I will be back again.

Room Tip: The suites are a little more then a pool side room, but the view and the sound of the ocean is amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Decent hotel, does the job, nothing extraordinary. Much better location for family than couples. Good location on the beach, though the beach isn't much to speak of. It's nice that they have beach chairs for you already down there. Had a two bedroom suite, rooms are pretty basic, bathrooms are very nice. Living room is pretty sparse and not very comfortable. One complaint is that there is a lot of light pollution into the room from outside spotlights at night. The spotlights shutoff around midnight, I think, but if you are going to have a pretty bright room trying to sleep before then.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We rented 2 rooms (poolside king upstairs and 2 double downstairs) - if I was reviewing just based on our upstairs room it would be a 2.5 stars.
Pros:
-Excellent location: right on the beach, center of the Cape with nice restaurants near by.
-Very clean: everybody always putting effort to keep this place clean - loved that.
-Nice amenities: pretty large refrigerator in room; beach towels and chairs provided, front desk gave us iron and boad after a call, wifi ok.
-Pretty good value compared to some other high-season prices on the cape for beachfront properties.
Cons:
-One of the worst beds, really! You do not go in expecting Hilton or Sheraton bedding, but even by motel standards the bed was very uncomfortable despite soothing bed linens.
-AC in our room was extremely noisey. To make matters worse, it would run for 15 minutes and then stop for 15 minutes and then re-start with all that noise again. We barely slept for 3 nights, but it seemed that the AC was ok in the downstairs room (which seemed to be more updated anyway with newer furnishing and flat panel TV).
-You can hear everything that is being said outside your room or even at the pool - the AC noise covers that problem when it is running; but when the AC refuses to run, you are at other people's mercy. You almost wish that the noisey AC would start running.

Everything else was pretty average - what you would expect in a motel like this. Ok breakfast, hooks missing at the bathrpoom door, nice-size rooms. The staff, during our limited interactions, seemed friendly. We might return if we see they have updated the beds and AC!

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhattaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This motel wAs recommended by two people on trip advisor. I booked it for a few days on labor day weekend for my husband, myself and my 19 year old daughter before we dropped her off in Boston for college. Perfect location for our first time. The room is a little dated, but clean. We loved it. We Are jersey shore vacationers, so we know a good value. We had an ocean view room with kitchenette and two beds with a pull out couch.
The staff was efficient and courteous.
They serve coffee, tea and muffins in the a.m. The beaches cafe next door is a good place for breakfast or lunch. Good dinners at the Oyster company Raw bar and grill and next door, the Ocean House restaurant. You can also take out from the Ocean House. Great lobster mash potatoes. The beach bar next door is fun too.
There is a small private beach and a heated pool. they have grills for cooking if needed.
We went kayaking on the swan river, about a five minute drive on 28 at cape cod waterways, then lunch at Clancy's. After we check out we plan to ride the bike trail and than head to Boston. Overall a fun, fabulous, few days at the Cape.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGrimaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was our first time staying here, and we had a great time ! It's the perfect spot. Loved the beach and the pool. It's nice that there were plenty of beach chairs available to use also! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cttraveler0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
4.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
0.2 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Landing Motel
Old Landing Motel
#2 of 19 in Dennis Port
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Garlands
The Garlands
#16 of 19 in Dennis Port
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Beach Motel

Property: Colony Beach Motel
Address: 413 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2542
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beach overlooking picturesque Nantucket Sound is the Colony Beach Motel, a clean and quiet motel that is perfect for a relaxing vacation in the heart of Cape Cod. Here you'll enjoy a welcoming atmosphere, comfortable accommodations, and all the pleasures of sun, surf, and sand that you can expect to accompany a Cape Cod vacation! From the moment you arrive, you'll experience gracious New England hospitality and appreciate the many comforts of our newly renovated facility, including a new video game room and outside BBQ grills. Whether you choose a standard motel room, spacious efficiency, or handsomely-decorated two-bedroom suite, each unit is individually heated and air-conditioned and features wall-to-wall carpeting, a large closet, color cable TV, cozy sitting area, ceramic tile bath with tub and shower, refrigerator, telephone, and picture window overlooking the heated swimming pool or beautiful Nantucket Sound. Our efficiency units and apartments include fully-equipped kitchenettes and comfortable eating areas. Colony Beach Motel offers a continental breakfast every morning and has a large tanning deck complete with lounge chairs. Our pool is heated, so you can still take a dip, even if the cape is too cold for you. Our convenient mid-Cape location offers an endless selection of leisure time activities, from shopping for crafts and antiques to challenging your skill at golf, fishing or boating. Experience the thrill of a whale watch, ride your bicycles along Cape Cod Rail Trail, or enjoy one of the many nature walks throughout the town! Your choices are limited only by the time available! We're looking forward to helping you enjoy a carefree vacation at Colony Beach Motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colony Beach Hotel Dennis Port
Colony Beach Motel Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing