We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The FedEx guy”
Review of The Cutty Sark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cutty Sark
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The FedEx guy”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Enjoyed my stay at The Cutty Sark. Rooms were very clean, service was #1, Quiet location, Beach area was clean and quiet, and plenty of good restaurants around, Pat the owner went out of his way in making us feel welcomed and was very helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just returned from Cape Cod where we were attending a wedding at a nearby hotel which was sold out. We found The Cutty Sark which was within walking distance of the wedding. On first inspection of our room we found it to be adequate enough. A few of the bathroom towels seemed damp and the soap bar clearly had been used before. When we retired for the night I noticed an unclean smell from the sheets . In the morning I went to the lobby to question the manager and the door was locked. I tried to call the motel to speak to someone but received a recording. After the wedding once again I went to the lobby and the door was locked. At this point we just gave up and slept with our clothes on and left very early in the morning when, again, the lobby door was locked.  

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orangelady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have not been to the Cape in years and found researching a place to stay quite cumbersome. We lucked into Cutty Sark because of its accessibility to the beach and its personable owner, Pat, who assured me that we would be pleased. That was an understatement.
The motel's location is perfect to explore the cape. The beach is virtually private and a short residential block away. The house keeping staff did a great job and cleanliness is tops. We rented two rooms, one with a king and the other w/ two beds. Both rooms were spacious with excellent amenities and character. Pat proved to be a great host giving good advice whenever we needed it. Even our fellow guests were a pleasure to meet and clearly the motel attracts excellent repeat customers. We had very warm week but the rooms had great windows and at night the breeze from the water was so comfortable that we rarely turned on the AC. We coincidently passed several of the other properties we had considered on-line and there is no question that pictures are deceiving. Cutty Sark is miles ahead. Five days were not enough, we will have to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have been to most of the hotels and motels on the Cape and the Cutty Sark is as nice or better than any one of them. Very reasonable price for the property and location. GREAT restaurants in walking distance and right across the street form the beach----- Property has a great owner, staff and is very clean. LOVE the pool!

Thanks Pat

Room Tip: Ocean view upstairs or any room really, they are all clean and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We recently stayed here for a 2 day, 1 night mini weekend getaway for our anniversary on Cape Cod. The owner, Pat, gave us an upgrade to a room with a king bed for the same price as a double - much appreciated! It was reasonably priced considering the time of year and comparing to similar places in the area.

If you're looking to be on the beach, this isn't the place to go. The beach is a very short walk away down one little street, but it's a very small beach that smells and has seaweed and other assorted things all washed up on the edge of the shore... not exactly inviting. There are a few other similar places to stay within walking distance that we had considered before picking this place - however, they all charge more to "be on the beach!" ... don't be fooled & pay a premium for this tiny little "beach". I'm sure glad we didn't.

With that being said, it's extremely convenient to many beautiful beaches and other attractions on Cape Cod, it provides a central location and worked great for us! There is also a pool here if that's important to you. We didn't use it, but it looked clean and inviting!

No problems with noise from other guests or anything. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV and an air-conditioner. It seemed very clean. Only complaint is the water pressure in the shower... it was definitely lacking! But all in all, the room was just what we needed. Nothing fancy but who goes to Cape Cod to sit in their room? :) I would go back when in the area.



Other small tip: there is an Irish pub in their book of local places that is in the room... stay away! It's called the "Cape Cod Claddagh Inn & Pub" or something. It's in West Harwich and claims to have live Irish music, etc. Instead it's like you're in someone's basement straight out of the 70's with reggae music blasting. It was disgusting. They must have changed owners in the last few years or something but needless to say, it should be taken out of that book!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristaLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a double queen room and enjoyed it very much. The beach was directly across the beach on a short road and there were plenty of upscale restaurents within walking distance of the hotel. There's also a lovely pool which was pristine, however, it was raining and a little too cool for a dip. I definately recommend this quaint little motel for a get-away or longer as it is convenient to all areas of the Cape.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are just a couple steps from your door. Great for Seniors/handicaped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Room was very clean, painted all white! Ammenities were more that one would expect from a small motel: frig/micro/ coffee pot/ toiletries. Staff was very friendly, considerate, accommodating. Beach is just down short street, a 5 min easy walk. And, is private to residents in the area. Would definitely stay again. Thanks, Pat. Janice

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janicetravels47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
6.6 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Holiday Hill Inn & Suites
Holiday Hill Inn & Suites
#10 of 19 in Dennis Port
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Garlands
The Garlands
#16 of 19 in Dennis Port
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club at Cape Cod
The Club at Cape Cod
#8 of 19 in Dennis Port
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cutty Sark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cutty Sark

Property: The Cutty Sark
Address: 396 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2522
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cutty Sark 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cutty Sark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cutty Sark Hotel Dennis Port
Cutty Sark Dennis Port
The Cutty Sark Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing