We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Get-Away”
Review of By the Sea Guests

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By the Sea Guests
Ranked #2 of 8 Dennis Port B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband wanted to stay somewhere "on the beach" in February two years ago. Most of the places on the Cape that are on the beach are not open that early. The Chamber of Commerce recommended "By the Sea" and we have been frequent guests ever since! The owners have become like family to us, very kind, thoughtful and helpful. The suites are lovely, a view of the ocean from every porch/deck, a gas burning fireplace which is so comforting when you just want to sit and relax. The beach is always right there for your enjoyment, whether to walk on, swim in or just sit and enjoy the view. Although there is a full kitchenette, I am not crazy about cooking while on a vacation, therefore we buy a few things to snack on and enjoy our meals out. We have stayed in 2 of the suites and find them very comfortable, always clean and really the "perfect get-away". Our friends wonder why we go to the Cape so often..."By The Sea" is the reason. We highly recommend a stay there. We have never stayed in the bed and breakfast part, but it must be just as lovely. Helen, Marie, Jean and the entire staff are there to make your visit the best!! We just stayed there a week ago and are already planning an early spring get-away!!

Room Tip: The suite closest to the main road is the one we prefer, nice breeze into the bedroom from the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Once again my wife and I had a wonderful stay at By the Sea! It is such a warm and quiet place to get away and relax. The entire staff is full of smiles and kindness and goes above and beyond to make our stay perfect. We will be back again next year!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jmast19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a suite room... But apparently bed & breakfast doesn't really apply. Breakfast isn't included if you reserve a suite!!!! Why not?! Upon complaining I was told breakfast doesn't come with room in a suite because our room had a kitchenette. Why would I want to make breakfast on vacation? Just add the cost of breakfast to my room charge and not tell me. It only ticks me off! Also, no shampoo or conditioner in the rooms! That is quite Cheap, spend the quarter and get repeat visitors! Place was clean but dated.... Replace the dirty throw pillows and disgusting rugs and the place would look 100% better.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Scbecke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have had the pleasure of staying in two of the one bedroom suites and one of the two bedroom suites. A real delight. Ambiance, comfort, design and service. The place is immaculate and the staff works hard to keep it this way, and it is done quietly and respectfully. The beds are extremely comfortable and supportive of aching bones and backs. The linens are divine! Would I stay again and recommend...you betcha!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for breakfast on the veranda!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCJADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We just finished a most enjoyable stay at "By the Sea Guests." It is a water front property directly facing Nantucket Sound and is just steps to their private beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas are readily available. Our room, 112, was spacious, bright and very clean with comfortable bedding and a small refrigerator. The ladies in the office, Helen, Marie and Sylvia, were welcoming and full of useful information about the area. The breakfast is great and far from a typical B&B coffee and muffin. Chef Tom oversees each breakfast and provides daily specials such as Eggs Benedict, homemade waffles with strawberries and various versions of scrambled eggs. You always start with a fruit cup topped with sherbet. Breakfast is from 8:30 to 10:00 AM and you shouldn't miss it. Coffee and cakes are available 24 hours a day. We enjoyed eating at the Ocean House, The Oyster Company and the Ebb Tide (now closed until Mother's Day 2014).When we left By the Sea, we felt like we were leaving family. It was a wonderful relaxing long weekend for us and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms 112 is large, bright and airy with Sound views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairfax_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a gem this place is! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Big breakfasts are delicious and save you money because lunch is not needed! Marie in the office reminded so much if my Nana. She is funny and told us all the great places to go while we were on the Cape. Maps and directions included.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamallady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was wonderful and very helpful! The breakfasts were superb and the presentation was excellent! We really enjoyed visiting with the other guests. We had a wonderful room with a great view of the ocean. There were wonderful restaurants close and the staff was very helpful guiding us to other points ! Don't hesitate to make a reservation and enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
4.2 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
An English Garden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Sea Guests? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Guests

Address: 57 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-2627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dennis Port
Price Range: £119 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Sea Guests 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your By the Sea Guests reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Guests Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing