We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowzer!”
Review of By the Sea Guests

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By the Sea Guests
Ranked #2 of 8 Dennis Port B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I will start right off by saying that I can't wait to go back, to this beautiful and peaceful bed and breakfast. I have never stayed at a place that was so clean, and had such terrific hosts. The little touches, that are missing from many places today, added so much to our visit.
The beach is as clean as the rooms-it is raked every day. I mean, how cool is that!! My sisters and I were there to celebrate my mom's 86th birthday, and they were so accommodating. The location was excellent-so close to shopping, eating, and beaching. The closed in deck, where you eat breakfast and can hang out all day, if you'd like, is perfect. Windows all around!
Love, love, love~~

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is our third time at the By The Sea, primarily because it has two two bedroom suites with a full kitchen. With another couple we just wanted to get away for the weekend for our anniversary and wanted to cook our breakfasts and dinners, so this worked out fine. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the balcony off the suites overlooks the Atlantic. I would imagine these suites sell out quickly in the summer, but in the winter are fantastic as well. The staff was friendly and helpful and more importantly laughed at my jokes. The weekend flew by and was thoroughly enjoyable. Definitely a good value for the money and right on the ocean as a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a wonderful time at By The Sea. The room was very clean, comfortable and well cared for. The breakfast was fantastic! This Bed & Breakfast is right on the beach, very clean, well kept and super enjoyable. It is in a great location that gives both privacy and convenience. The Owners & staff are so friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would go back! Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShowMeMo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here in early October - were only going to stay one night but decided soon after arrival to stay an extra. What a wonderful B&B. So friendly, welcoming and homely. Lovely extra little touches like fresh baked cakes, fruit, tea & coffee available all day. Gorgeous deck overlooking the beach to eat breakfast on and the most beautiful fresh, plentiful breakfasts. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband wanted to stay somewhere "on the beach" in February two years ago. Most of the places on the Cape that are on the beach are not open that early. The Chamber of Commerce recommended "By the Sea" and we have been frequent guests ever since! The owners have become like family to us, very kind, thoughtful and helpful. The suites are lovely, a view of the ocean from every porch/deck, a gas burning fireplace which is so comforting when you just want to sit and relax. The beach is always right there for your enjoyment, whether to walk on, swim in or just sit and enjoy the view. Although there is a full kitchenette, I am not crazy about cooking while on a vacation, therefore we buy a few things to snack on and enjoy our meals out. We have stayed in 2 of the suites and find them very comfortable, always clean and really the "perfect get-away". Our friends wonder why we go to the Cape so often..."By The Sea" is the reason. We highly recommend a stay there. We have never stayed in the bed and breakfast part, but it must be just as lovely. Helen, Marie, Jean and the entire staff are there to make your visit the best!! We just stayed there a week ago and are already planning an early spring get-away!!

Room Tip: The suite closest to the main road is the one we prefer, nice breeze into the bedroom from the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Once again my wife and I had a wonderful stay at By the Sea! It is such a warm and quiet place to get away and relax. The entire staff is full of smiles and kindness and goes above and beyond to make our stay perfect. We will be back again next year!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jmast19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a suite room... But apparently bed & breakfast doesn't really apply. Breakfast isn't included if you reserve a suite!!!! Why not?! Upon complaining I was told breakfast doesn't come with room in a suite because our room had a kitchenette. Why would I want to make breakfast on vacation? Just add the cost of breakfast to my room charge and not tell me. It only ticks me off! Also, no shampoo or conditioner in the rooms! That is quite Cheap, spend the quarter and get repeat visitors! Place was clean but dated.... Replace the dirty throw pillows and disgusting rugs and the place would look 100% better.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Scbecke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
4.2 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Beach Resort
Edgewater Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Dennis Port
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
An English Garden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Sea Guests? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Guests

Address: 57 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-2627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dennis Port
Price Range: £125 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Sea Guests 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your By the Sea Guests reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Guests Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing