We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the Soundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Soundings used to be one of our favorite resorts. However, when we arrived this time, we were told we would be in one of the new buildings which is a townhouse-style with two floors. The stairs were somewhat of an unexpected issue with the ups and downs every time my husband and I were in the living room and needed something from the suitcase or closet in the bedroom. Previously all rooms were on one level even though you might need to walk up stairs once to get to the unit.
Also, there was massive construction and piles of dirt all around the resort making it difficult to get around easily to or from the beach or outdoor swimming pool.
The glass door to the deck on the second level had no curtain or shade which is a problem at night when lights are on and you are walking between the bathroom and the bedroom. Also the spotlights from the Breakers shine across and directly through the glass door into the bedroom, lighting up one whole wall throughout the night. This is poor planning since the bedroom has room darkening shades and now this light shines straight into the room.
The living room is very tiny so if you pull out the couch to use as a bed, you can barely squeeze around the end to enter or exit the kitchen. Also you need to move the coffee table which is in front of the couch and either put it in the kitchen or block the entrance and stairs to the second floor.
There are two stools provided to sit at the kitchen counter but there is barely room to fit even one stool at the very end of the counter.
The Wi-Fi access has been and continues to be an issue.
The new "ocean-view units" and the building that will enclose the "indoor pool" are going to completely block the view of the ocean and outdoor pool from several of the buildings. I realize Bluegreen is trying to make the most use of this Cape Cod property but they are trying to force too many units into the available space and making them too small in comparison to other Bluegreen properties.

Room Tip: The new "ocean-view units" and the east and west wings facing the outdoor pool will be the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applemom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello applemom98,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Soundings Seaside Resort. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with certain aspects of your stay. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We had never been to this resort and wanted to check it out. We knew about construction because we had received the email as well. Our room was in the west building which did require dragging your luggage through a grassy area between the pool and construction area (thankful it wasn't raining). They really should have left access from both sides of the lot. The villa was clean but would have been disappointed if we were staying longer than 2 nights - no dishwasher or stove, etc. the pool is finished and is nice. The view is great. When you walk in the room the bed is right there and the ac is loud and a foot from the head of the bed. Extremely loud and annoying.
The bed is the worst I have ever tried to sleep in. Time for some new mattresses. Bed was so bad we opened the sleep sofa to attempt to sleep on that and it was worse. At this time this resort does not seem to be up to Bluegreen standards. Points should be discounted for the inconveniences. We won't return to this resort. I would be surprised if construction is finished this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello Karen J,

Thank you for sharing your review of Soundings Seaside Resort. We regret to learn the construction work around the resort made for a less than pleasant experience. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider a return visit when the work is completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent Memorial Day weekend here through Bluegreen. I was told the renovation construction was to be completed the Friday before so we would not be disturbed. Then received an email saying it would not be finished until end of June. Let me just say there is no way construction will be done for quite some time. There is a large amount of renovation & new construction is going on with maybe 1/3rd complete. Construction fence is everywhere with a large hole in the ground in between buildings for a pool. I would not consider this a child safe place as flimsy as the fencing is. Be warned!

We stayed in the oceanfront presidential suite. It was not worth the points spent considering so much of the resort is incomplete. It was beautifully renovated with a great ocean front balcony. But the gas fireplace did not work. I reported it to the front desk & received a flippant reply that none of the fireplaces work. Okay. The bed was comfortable, nice bathroom, nice kitchenette. They are trying hard & will be very nice one day once the resort is finished. But it is far from being finished.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smileycuteness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello smileycuteness,

Thank you for celebrating the Memorial Day weekend at the Soundings Seaside Resort. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused by the renovations during your stay. We are happy you were impressed with the presidential suite. We hope to have you back when our remodeling is completed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent Memorial Day weekend 2014 at Soundings.
This will be a great resort -- when they finish building it, Literally finish *building* it.

Pluses:
- Great location: On the ocean: 90 second stroll from my room to Dennis Beach
- Set up well for week-long or longer stays: One bedroom suite has small bedroom with full closet & nice TV, Living room has TV, pullout sofa, hassock, fireplace. Deep, long soaker tub in bathroom. Kitchenette is outfitted with microwave, full sized fridge, dishwasher, dishes & flatware, dish soap, & dishtowels, bagel sized toaster, nice drip coffeemaker. Laundry room with complimentary facilities.
- Midweek or daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee.

Minuses:
- The construction that everyone is commenting on is that they are adding a building and an indoor pool. Right outside your your door, if you are in building 1. Blocking your view of the ocean. BIG drawback for me. The ongoing construction was not disclosed at the time I made my reservations.
- No hot water the first morning of my stay. That made the fancy coffeepot handy for heating up bathwater :-( No apology from staff.
- The "indoor pool" is currently under construction: they are sharing the neighboring hotel's pool access when that hotel is not full-- and what beachfront hotel on the Cape isn't full all summer?
- The outdoor pool was filled but the lawn & walkway were still under construction, so we couldn't get to it. I imagine it will be nice when it's done - there is a glass surround to make the pool area less breezy than the beach.
- 10AM checkout and 4PM check in -- I'd be less cranky about this if checkout didn't require you to strip your own bed linens, wash your own dishes and take out your own trash by 10AM. There is a $50/hr late checkout fee. (In fairness, they did give me a free 11AM checkout when I reminded them of of the hot water situation)
-Parking seems limited. We were there during a time when the place was less than half full, but most of the spaces in the parking lot were taken.
- Walls are thin. I could hear the content of conversations in the adjoining rooms or when people walked past outside. (Um, not so good for romance)

I'd look at Soundings again in 2015 - even at the $300 a night rate -- if I had an oceanfront room in Building 3, and the facility was complete. Complete as in completely built, no construction workers on site. I stayed for half that rate with a ChoiceHotels discount, but could have gotten equally good accommodations elsewhere on the beachfront side of Chase Road for less.

This could be a great place for a group of friends or a family, esp in a 2 or 3 BR suite with a full kitchen - the money you save by not dining out every meal could make the room affordable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MistinguetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello MistinguetteS,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Soundings Seaside Resort. We are delighted you found the resort to be in a great location and enjoyed the condo-style accommodations. We regret to learn where your experience fell short of meeting your expectations. We hope you will consider a return visit when work around the resort is completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We rented several rooms at The Soundings for a wedding weekend. The hotel rooms are gorgeous and very clean. Staff was excellent and accommodating.
The presidential suite is unbelievable. Large balcony ocean front with Adirondack chairs. Plenty of windows provided excellent breezes and lighting. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello Lauren W,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Soundings Seaside Resort. We are thrilled we were able to share happiness as part of a special weekend. We thank you for the compliments regarding the rooms and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dennis Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stay there! Both indoor and outdoor pools. OCEANFRONT! Plenty of Parking and a wonderful staff at the Desk. The rooms are lovely and clean. The waitstaff are helpful and polite. A great place to stay with beautiful stretch of Ocean out front. A quick walk to restaurants, other beaches, and shops. The Presidential Suite is a MUST!! enjoy.....

Room Tip: Try to stay up Front near the ocean..... in Presidential Suite....yes!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicklone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello chicklone,

Thank you for staying with us and recommending Soundings Seaside Resort. We are thrilled you had a great experience and enjoyed the oceanfront location. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to provide outstanding service and share happiness with all of our guests. We do hope you will stay with us again on your next getaway to Dennis Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We love the location. Beautiful Nantucket Sound. Loved sitting on the balcony and the calmness of the water. We stayed in a two bedroom presidental ocean front unit. Compared to other presidential units in Bluegreen resorts, this one was much smaller, however it had many great features such as 3 flat screen TVs, stainless steel refrigerator etc. Our you unit was decorated perfectly for a beach setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello gtteacher,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Soundings Seaside Resort. We are happy you loved the location and enjoyed your Presidential oceanfront unit. We hope you will return and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
4.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
266 reviews
5.4 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
611 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 79 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627 (Formerly Soundings Seaside Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range: £55 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soundings Seaside Hotel Dennis Port
Soundings Seaside Dennis Port
Soundings Dennisport Ma
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing