We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noanet woodlands”
Review of Noanet Woodlands

Noanet Woodlands
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Dover
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Follow a network of trail across a grand preserve that features woodlands and ponds, a former mill site, and Noanet Peak, which offers views of the Boston skyline.
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noanet woodlands”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful area in which to walk, cross-country ski, mountain bike (not in spring). My family hikes there several times a year. The trails are varied and well marked, even in the snow. There are hills, ponds, a dam, A great place to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank judbud76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice secluded place”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We went for a hike here on a beautiful Saturday, and although we had some problems finding it initially, we were very glad we did. You have to enter through Caryl Park, but there is parking for about 40 cars (although this Park is also home to tennis/basketball camps, so if it's a busy time for lessons, etc., the parking disappears quickly).

There is a map of the available trails, and there are quite a few to chose from -- some that walk to ponds, one to a dam and one to the "peak." The loop to/from the peak is quick and not very steep at all, so it'd be great for folks of all ages/health levels and there is a view of the Boston skyline from there. Because of the recent rain a lot of the trails were flooded, but I imagine this is not an issue for most of the year.

Regarding the "dog-friendly" aspect -- we did see quite a few dogs, all off-leash, but they were well-behaved and dog waste wasn't an issue as far as we saw. Hopefully people have just been better at picking up after their pets lately.

Looking forward to returning with a picnic lunch sometime soon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for you and your dog!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I'm there most nights after work. You can always count on lots of friendly dogs and nice people to run into. A million trails lots to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
655 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Spectacular Property”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Marvelous trails for riding, hiking, and dog walking. Not too busy. Limited parking. Take a map -- there are 17 miles of trails and you could get lost (the trail marking is excellent). Recent improvements include marking several loops that are self-contained smaller hikes (say, 2 miles each). Beautiful trees and terrain, large ponds and waterfalls -- you won't believe you are surrounded by a (quiet) town. It is hilly if you go off the main trails -- the best way to get a view of Boston. Owned and well maintained by The Trustees of Reservations.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Peace,Quiet & Beauty All In One Place”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Located on approx. 600 acres of land the Noanet Woodlands offers 17 miles of trails good for walking, cross-country skiing, or snowshoeing. There are 4 trails that have colored markings and are very easy to follow. The trails overlap in some areas so you can go from one trail to another and not get lost. There are the remains of an old mill site that you can see and you can go the the top of Noanet Peak and get a good view of Boston. The Noanet Woodlands was listed in the Boston Globe as being a great place to hike around the Boston area so we decided to try it while on vacation.
Living in a very populated area of Massachusetts we found this to be a nice break. When we first started out on the trails there were alot of people and yes, lots of dogs (no dog doo doo). The further in that we went the less people we saw. We got to a point where we walked for an hour or so and didn't see anyone and talk about peace and quiet. The only sounds were birds. Some of the areas on the trails were very pretty. We didn't go up Noanet Peak to see the view of Boston. This was the only area of the trail that we found confusing so we missed it. The admission is free and I forgot to mention that there is a port-o-potty in the parking lot.
My husband and I both really enjoyed the Noanet Woodlands and I would recommend visiting it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Noanet Woodlands also viewed

 

Been to Noanet Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing