We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Marshside Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Watertown, CT
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Very lovely place to dine. From the valet parking... to the cheese/crackers while you wait for a table...to the bar service on the porch...to the dolls and high chairs for little girls to play with...they thought of everything to make this place stand out among the rest. Lots of little details made for a memorable time. Food was wonderful. Service was friendly. It is a bit pricey, but will still go back. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsl_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    159
    70
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a great experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having toys for little ones to play with while they wait is sheer brilliance and definitely added to our great experience. Thought the place was very family friendly, clean, smelled of delicious baked goods. Had lovely landscaping (as an aside). Service was a wee bit slow.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jv0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a lovely meal”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First, you have to try the seafood stew. It is full of lots of different seafood and a delicious base. Plus the breadbasket that comes with it is unique, delicious and about the only one that I want to take home what I don't eat. The other meals I have had there are of good quality, nicely prepared, and delicious. You don't get a huge portion on all meals but i haven't had anything bad there. Plus you get to look out through the huge windows across the whole front of the restaurant to look over the marsh land and watch the herons fishing. Very friendly staff too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent views, food, and service.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We waited briefly for a table, but the one we got was right by the window looking over the marsh. Lovely. The wait staff was quick and attentive. The food was excellent,nothing too exotic or imaginative, but definitely a superlative clam chowder and their signature seafood chowder was delicious. The presentation of the food was also very well-done. I would definitely go again. It has recently been renovated- I was never there before, but the current ambiance is casual Cape Cod. There are booths and tables- seems like it would be good for families with children- not too fancy, but very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank apacheChatham_ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport MA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect all around - My favorite restaurant on the Cape”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My in-laws live on the cape and frequent this restaurant often. We dine with them there quite a bit when we visit and go there for family get-togethers. The restaurant itself is stunning. The architecture is amazing, as are the panoramic views of the marsh and Sesuit Harbor. The staff is super friendly, the menu has many choices to fit everyone's needs, also a good selection of wines. I always choose a fish entree and have never been disappointed. We enjoy going there most in the off season when it's not so busy. If you wish to dine there in the summer, be aware there is usually a bit of a wait .... but you can sit on the deck and enjoy the views of the marsh. It's worth the wait!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetjayne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marshside Restaurant also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Marshside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing