We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, fun vacation”
Review of Nauset House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nauset House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing, fun vacation”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We've stayed at the Nauset House Inn twice now. Both times were fantastic. The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are amazing, and the rooms are charming and comfortable. Everything is clean and well kept, and the pricing on the rooms is affordable.

They are an easy bike ride or walk to Nauset Beach (tip, if you go after Labor Day you can drive and there is no parking charge! The weather is still warm and there really aren't crowds). They are also in a good proximity to many attractions on the Cape, while still feeling peaceful and secluded.

We stayed in the Wild Strawberry Room both times. A nice size room with a Queen bed. Very comfortable. It did require sharing a bathroom, but the bathroom always seemed clean and tidy, so no complaints. They give you a bathrobe to use in each room. There is also a "wine and cheese" hour between 5:30 and 7, and you can get to know those who are staying in the Inn with you, as well as get info on attractions and restaurants.

I can't recommend Nauset House Inn enough. Stay there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
216
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

When our children were growing up we rented houses for our annual Cape Cod visits. One day it became just the two of us, and we found the Nauset House Inn. We've been staying there for years now, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Stepping into the living room to check in feels like coming home. The warm and quiet hospitality of the inn keepers is so amazing. Each room has the feeling of charm and history of a lovingly restored, old seaside home. Our favorite room is the beautiful, big dining room where truly delicious breakfasts are served every day. I would never sleep in and miss the home made muffins, waffles, etc. Lovely choices! Not to mention the delightful company of fellow guests from all over the world! It's worth mentioning that NHI does not provide air conditioning, a pool, or tv! Yet it appears to always be at full occupancy. Why? Well, gorgeous Nauset Beach and the mighty Atlantic Ocean is right down the road, and we've never missed the ac. As for tv, we find it to be an amazing opportunity to unplug from our hectic lives, enjoy listening great conversation, and truly relax. If you try this wonderful inn you'll be hooked. We love Nauset House Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladstone, new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I wish there was a rating higher than 'excellent' because this charming inn would certainly qualify!...We continually look forward to our summer and fall visits to Cape Cod and especially to re connecting with the people who re visit the inn every year...We've made some good friends over the years!...The Nauset House is convenient to beaches and restaurants and is a wonderful place to enjoy some quiet time. The breakfasts are 'gourmet' and John, Cindy, Diane and Judy are always 'on hand' to meet your every need. We feel as if 'we're coming home' when we visit the Nauset House.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank byannaccone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We look forward just as much to spending time at the Nauset House Inn--having a picnic lunch in the grove, reading, writing, playing cards there--as we do to spending time tooling around the towns and beaches and other places of natural beauty on Cape Cod. There is a peaceful aura about the inn, both inside and out, that has drawn us back there for the last 8 summers and will continue to draw us back for many more. The innkeepers are exemplary. The rooms are unique and beautifully appointed. The breakfasts are consistently superb. There is a graciously hosted wine hour every evening. And it's a short walk down the road to Nauset Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

For years we've been going to the Nauset House Inn during the spring season, not too long after they open. Yes it's not beach season, but The Cape has a special beauty at that time of year and I'd encourage others to try it. Same for the after Labor Day period, this is a wonderful time to visit The Cape.

We always thoroughly enjoy or stays at the Inn. John and Cindy are the ultimate hosts, the rooms are spotless (great showers too!) and the breakfast last time was so thoroughly excellent that we've been eating a modified version of it ever since.

There is just no comparison to your typical hotel experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We usually stay in the Carriage House, but Rosebud in the main inn building is very good and has an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pederobba, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Wonderful place, quiet, and very close to Nauset Beach and strategical place to visit Cape Cod. The staff is very welcoming, and the breakfasts are fantastic.
Finally the price is right / average.
Highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in bayberry room, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank e_durighello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was the tag-line of The Nauset House Inn back when my husband and I started coming in 1997, well before the ubiquity of cell phones and iPads! But we still shut off our phones and our other electronic devices most of the time and continue simply to enjoy the beauty, hospitality, serenity, and community of The Nauset House Inn as much as we can, year-after-year. Coming back to this wonderful family-owned place is like coming home every summer (I think we've missed 3 times in 16 years), but better because there are no chores, errands, or family squabbles to worry about. Our big thing is biking: we bring our bikes and every non-rainy day bike 25-30 miles, mostly on the nearby Cape Cod Rail Trail. (Orleans is almost exactly in the middle of the 22+ mile trail.) The rest of the time we read all those books that we wanted to read during the year but never did, take walks to the beach, and eat great food. The food starts with fresh, made-to-order breakfasts, where the omelets are perfect every time, the homemade granola is outstanding, and each morning starts with homemade muffins that are to die for. John, Cindy, and Judy bend over backwards to help us find exactly what restaurants we want to try for dinner, make reservations for us, and because of the high regard with which they are held by local restaurant owners, can often get us last-minute reservations that we'd be unable to get for ourselves. This was confirmed for us this year by one local restauranteur, who also marvelled that the guests that come to his establishment from The Nauset House Inn are always such nice people! And that is what we've found as well: our fellow guests are always such nice people. Whether they are perenials (we met one woman this summer who has been coming almost every year since Diane and her late husband, Al, opened in the early '80s) or first-timers from Boston or Michigan or Italy (homes of some of this year's first-timers during the week we were there), somehow the Inn attracts really lovely guests. The only downside for us is that Beach Road is the main road running to Nauset Beach, and so occasionally it can be noisier or busier at night than we might like. If that bothers you, ask for a room at the back of the main Inn or the Carriage House, or ask for the separate Outermost House at the back of the property.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.7 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
3.8 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Parsonage Inn
The Parsonage Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauset House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauset House Inn

Property: Nauset House Inn
Address: 143 Beach Road, P.O. Box 774, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nauset House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nauset House Inn is a place where the gentle amenities of life are still observed... a quiet place removed from the cares of a workaday world... a place where sea and shore, orchard and field all combine to create a perfect setting for tranquil relaxation. Family owned and operated since 1983. Fourteen guest rooms with a complimentary full breakfast served everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nauset House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nauset House Hotel East Orleans
Nauset House Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing