We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cutest Cottage EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nauset House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nauset House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cutest Cottage EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After looking at several things on line we decided to rent a room at the Nauset House Inn for a couples weekend. We were absolutely blown away by how perfect this place is for a weekend on the beach. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and taken to our room very soon. We had a shared bathroom but that was not a problem the entire weekend. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding! It is home cooked delicious food! Every evening we would have a glass of wine and John and Cindy would help us decide where to eat for the evening. If you want a break from a typical hotel experience this is truly a awesome place to stay and only a little walk from the beach which we did at least twice a day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
208
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I did the research online using Trip Advisor. and reserved well ahead...B & B's have been the best for us for years, so we know the level of comfort and individual attention that can be offered.

Nauset House Inn is a lovely respite from chain hotels and the crowded chaos of traffic on Cape Cod. Tucked away near the elbow of the cape, you are close to nearly everything, from P'town to Chatham to Barnstable. This location makes even a day trip to Nantucket feasible. John's generous help and advice helped us plan our precious days there. Such serenity and calm.

We came to treasure the daily scrumptious breakfasts alongside guests who have been coming for years. It was nice to share destinations and experiences.

There are some remarkably great restaurants nearby for evenings, and John can help you choose or even make reservations, although we were usually seated without reservations.

I don't believe you could go wrong here, unless you are looking for the sterile environment of a chain hotel or a nightclub's pounding beat and late night rowdiness.

Tip: Don't underestimate the traffic - go out to the cape Monday through Thursday, and return on a Friday or Saturday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Outermost Cabin, a quet world all its own and highly recommended. There is a group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornhuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife went there in july 2013.
They said in the advertising we had a peak view to the sea at the Rosebud room: this is false advertising.
Couch and Chairs in the room : not comfortable
Climatisation : noisy as hell.
Ratio price/quality : certainly not the price asked for what we got.
Breakfast : good , the only definitive positive point.
Conclusion : We will never return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMagicianMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nausethouse, Owner at Nauset House Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are sorry that your experience at Nauset House was not a pleasant one. As Innkeepers we strive to make all our guests happy and comfortable.There are times that problems do arise and we will do anything in our power to solve the problem so you leave with a good experience. Please in the future as a courtesy, let your Innkeeper know you are not happy so we have a chance rectify the problem. Since your stay over a year ago the air conditioner has been replaced with a very quiet central air split unit. It is now so quiet you do not even know it is running. As for the view we are not false advertising. There is a picture posted on our TripAdvisor site showing Rosebud's view. It is a peek. Nauset House Inn may not be for everyone and that's ok but please remember this is our livelihood and we work very hard every day to make everyone's stay a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Can't get better than this! My husband and I started coming to this inn soon after it opened. We look forward to our annual visit with great anticipation. We spent last week in Outermost, the little cabin on the inn's property. It is private, homey and so relaxing, with lovely windows and a private bathroom, plus plenty of storage for clothing and bathing suits and beach towels.

For all the great activities on the Cape, we love to keep it simple while visiting the Inn. We wake up to the Inn's amazing, delicious breakfasts--tasty, custom-made omelets, pancakes with gorgeous fresh fruit, homemade granola and more. We laze about on the shady grounds or in the lovely arboretum. We walk to the beach, just half a mile away, the inn's beach chairs and towels in hand. We walk the miles of lovely shoreline, swim and lunch at Liam's Clam Shack, which offers the best lobster roll in town, along with amazing fried onions rings and raspberry lime rickeys. Then we walk back to the inn for wine, cheese and pleasant conversation with the inn's staff and visitors.

Need a dinner reservation? Owners John and Cindy or their staff are happy to help.

Not only do we relax, but we get a great value--we've eaten a lovely, substantial meal that is included in the room rate; we have avoided beach parking hassles and charges. More than that, we really enjoy the atmosphere and the people at the Inn. Inn is an easy drive from Nauset Farms, which has great sandwiches, beer, wine and other goodies, and just a short drive to enjoy the Orleans Firebirds, one of the great Cape Cod baseball league teams.

A great place for couples; great for single folks who want some--but not too much!--company.

Room Tip: We love Outermost, the Inn;s separate little cabin, but many people prefer the larger suites in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30thAnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington or Cambridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed in the Iris room this time and arrived before anyone else checked in so got a tour of all the other rooms which were all lovely and interesting, with antiques and artful decoration. The owners, John and Cindy, are very hospitable and helpful. Got to meet Diane this time, the artist in the family. The inn is so clean and well taken care of and the common areas are welcoming. It's easy to just feel at home here. Breakfast is delicious and made to order. Very convenient location too. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I liked the Iris room for my husband and I -- king bed and ample room with sitting area. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This week I spent three nights at the beautiful Nauset House Inn. It is about a half a mile from Nauset Beach which is where the National Seashore begins.
The time at the Inn is so relaxing, getting away from all of the noise and clatter of the world. There are no TV's here to distract from the serene beauty of the Inn and its grounds. The short drive to Orleans is so convenient, it takes few minutes to get there. Orleans has the bikepath which goes a good distance on the Cape.
John and Cindy who run the Inn are so accommodating and welcoming it really is like coming home, Juice or wine in the afternoon is a great way to gather with others and get ideas for where and what to eat in all price ranges.
The breakfasts in the brick floored dining room is another thing to not be missed, it is a real treat. Pancakes, homemade granola (my favorite), or eggs prepared in different ways.
I mentioned to John and Cindy that it is like sitting with family and catching up for a short time before the day begins a truly warm and welcoming feeling, totally comfortable.
I can not recommend it enough as a quiet getaway. I spent a fair amount of time just relaxing in the main room reading in my days and nights there. At Nauset House whoever you are, you will be welcomed.
PS. I stayed in the room in the main house named "Sundew" the bed was very comfortable, plenty of room for the things I brought with me and quiet.

Room Tip: I say, take a look at each and stay that feels the best to you, they are all great rooms, even the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and felt welcomed and cared for. Rooms spacious. A little dated but adequate. What stood out was the plentiful home made breakfasts with multiple choices. All excellent. Great hosts. Lots of repeat customers. Plan to come again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelisJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.7 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Parsonage Inn
The Parsonage Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauset House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauset House Inn

Property: Nauset House Inn
Address: 143 Beach Road, P.O. Box 774, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nauset House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nauset House Inn is a place where the gentle amenities of life are still observed... a quiet place removed from the cares of a workaday world... a place where sea and shore, orchard and field all combine to create a perfect setting for tranquil relaxation. Family owned and operated since 1983. Fourteen guest rooms with a complimentary full breakfast served everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Nauset House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nauset House Hotel East Orleans
Nauset House Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing