We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Inn with an amazing location and inn keepers!”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint Inn with an amazing location and inn keepers!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is our fourth year staying at the inn and we love it! Peter and Denise the owners are so friendly and make you feel at east right away. The other staff are just great as well and want to make you stay pleasant. The rooms are clean and cozy and since it is an old inn it has a lot of charm.The breakfast in the morning is always fresh and tasty with beautiful places to sit outside as well as a cute breakfast nook.There is also a pool with shade if you want to get off the beach for a bit. The walk to the Nauset beach is 5 or so minutes and it is a big beautiful beach with great waves. The drive to town is close and if you looking for something to do or a place to eat all you have to do is ask. They will even make dinner reservations for you.At night on the patio they have a fire pit so you can grab a drink and just sit and enjoy.Another plus is Marley, their dog who is sometimes in the office.We keep going back because we enjoy it so much- the people and the inn. I have and continue to recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: There are rooms that share bathrooms and rooms that have their own . All of them are great. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbird31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
166
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Outstanding in all respects. Great staff, beautiful and highly useable grounds, excellent breakfast.
Nauset beach is fantastic and a short walk from Ships Knee. I would definitely return, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast. Friendly staff very clean very close to the beach a five minute walk. Breakfast was delicious every morning. And the fire pit was a treat every evening. The rooms were very clean. Location is very close to downtown Orleans which has great shops and not far from Chatam which also has great shops and restaurants. Definitely worth it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My in-laws stayed here a few months ago and recommended it to my wife and I when we were looking to get away for a few days in the summer. We are not fans of B&B-type properties and this Inn was really perfect for us, meeting or exceeding all of our expectations.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed graciously and escorted to our small room. The description on the website was not misleading - we knew we were in for a cozy stay. We could have paid an extra $50/nt for a larger room when we booked, but we felt we would only be there to sleep and we were right. There is a large outdoor patio and plenty of places to relax if you want to read or use the wifi, so for three nights I am glad we saved the $150. The room was clean and well-appointed with a small LCD TV and a nice sized fridge for drinks, etc. The bedding was nice and comfortable, and the decor was what one would expect from a small inn on Cape Cod. The staff was very pleasant and was quick to answer any questions and provide good recommendations.

The breakfast in the morning was perfect for us, as we don't typically eat a lot when we wake up. There was plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, bagels, muffins, jams, and a few kinds of juice - A nice continental presentation. Everything was fresh and the coffee was delicious. If you are looking for someone to cook eggs and sausage, waffles, pancakes, etc. then you can just go into town where there are plenty of places for that. My wife and I like to be leisurely in the morning and we don't like to have a schedule when we are on vacation, which is what a B&B feels like when someone is cooking for you. The breakfast is from 8am-9:30. I wish it was available longer to have allowed us to sleep in a bit later, but we took advantage of it two of the three mornings and it was great.

The proximity to the beach is perfect, as it is a 1/4 mile walk, and the inn is happy to offer beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels for their guests. The pool is nice - clean and a refreshing temperature - with lounge chairs and towels for use. At night, the owners light a gas-powered fire pit, which is great for enjoying wine and chatting with the other guests. It gets shut off at 10:30 each night, which is plenty of time to enjoy a night under the stars. Be sure to bring a sweatshirt or fleece, as the cape gets chilly at night.

The only drawback is really something that can't be helped - it is not close to town. You will have to drive every night for dinner, which we were happy to do, but don't stay here if you intended to walk into town for a bite. There are great restaurants in Orleans (a five-minute drive), and others in Wellfleet and Chatham which are about 20 minutes away. The owners gave us great recommendations each night and I encourage you to pick their brains for suggestions.

One of the highlights for us was cruising along the bike path - be sure to spend an afternoon on the well-kept and relatively flat path that winds throughout the whole cape (tip: wear a bathing suit and bring a towel because you go right past some beautiful fresh water ponds that you can swim in which is a great refreshment after an 8-mile ride south). There are places to stop along the way for lunch and the bike shop in town is reasonable with very helpful staff ($28 for two well-maintained bikes for up to 4 hours).

Nauset beach is beautiful with a great little clam shack. There are definitely a lot of kids and families at the main part of the beach (we don't have any children yet) but if you want a quieter section, just walk north (left if you are looking at the ocean) and the crowd thins out after 100 yards or so . We saw seals on many occasions and we really enjoyed spending the days relaxing there.

I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone looking for some quiet time away from the hustle. The owners and staff were very friendly, the room was clean, and the property offered some nice touches to make your stay comfortable. Great Job, Mr and Mrs. Butcher! We will recommend your lovely Inn over and over.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hansellvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We recently returned from a trip to Boston and Cape Cod. The Ship's Knees was a great choice for a couple of peaceful days on Cape Cod. Very comfortable and relaxing.The grounds are immaculate. We loved the fire pit in the evening, the swimming pool, the grounds and the 5 minute short walk to Nauset Beach.

This was my husband's favourite beach with some waves 4 to 5 feet high. Our room/bathromm was a litlle small but met our needs. Our teenage daughter who was on the trip with us described this as her favourite place of all the B & Bs we stayed.

The Innkeepers are very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pina_Advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I just spent a week at the Ships Knees and had a wonderful time. The innkeepers and their staff are all lovely, delightful people. Breakfasts are delicious. There are a number of very pretty, comfortable outdoor areas all over the property; the pool is clean and refreshing and the landscape is lovely. You can walk down the hill to Nauset Beach (clean and wonderful) - preferable to driving - you skip the $15.00/day parking AND the beach parking lot fills up quickly. Orleans has many good places to eat. The inn's rooms are air conditioned, clean, really comfortable beds. We've stayed elsewhere on the Cape in the past but this is now our favorite spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tina711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The inn has beautiful grounds and welcoming patios. You can sit by the fire pit and enjoy Cape Cod. Located near Nauset Beach but a couple of miles out of Orleans Center, you feel the peace of Cape Cod. The rooms are clean and sufficient but small. The Inn has a lot of help. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and bakery products and you can enjoy it on the patio. The Butchers are excellent innkeepers who can help with reservations or ideas.

Room Tip: First floor by the pation is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quietvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
652 reviews
22.0 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
356 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing