We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in "old Cape Cod"”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
1 review
“A weekend in "old Cape Cod"”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited Cape Cod after seven years and once again stayed with Peter and Denise at the Ships Knees Inn.
Many improvements have been made making the Inn more visitor friendly ..availability of larger rooms.Breakfast foods have been upgraded to more choices and better presentation.
The pool area is very pleasant, and would be even better if pool was heated.
The Inn has that old Cape Cod feeling of days past, a good thing in a time when so much has been "improved" to the contemporary and impersonal style.
Gardens are lovely with traditional plantings, all is well manicured and inviting.
Denise and Peter are welcoming, friendly and never too busy to talk.
When we think of Cape Cod we think of The Ships Knees Inn.

Room Tip: rooms are small, for sleeping not to spend the day in . However larger rooms or suites are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
163
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Nauset suite for 2 nights and wish it was for longer! It was better than a 5* hotel. There was plenty of room for 3 adults as the main bedroom area had a small living area and TV of it's own and could easily be separated by doors from the main lounge and sofa bed. The whole property was fantastic in every way from the beautiful pool to the excellent breakfasts, patio areas, beach chairs etc to borrow and short walk to lovely beach. Would definitely stay here again - situated in one of the nicest places on the cape.

Room Tip: The Nauset suite was lovely for 3 adults but I would imagine every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haddam, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent our weekend once again at the Ship's Knees Inn and were amazed at all of the new improvements made by Peter and Denise. The Inn is looking more beautiful than I remembered, the breakfast choices have been upgraded, the pool is sparkling and the Inn Keepers are as wonderful as ever. Thank you so much for a short, but rejuvenating stay. It always makes me feel like the Cape Cod of my childhood as opposed to some cookie cutter chain. If you care that the rooms are too small, you are bringing too much. All we need is our bathingsuits and a couple of toothbrushes!

Room Tip: Their website is very clear, just read it carefully, they even have the square footage listed of eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJSEastHaddam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was my second stay at the Ship's Knees Inn, and it was nice. The inn keepers are super friendly and helpful. The grounds are very well maintained here, and the decor is very nice. They have a really neat gas fire pit in the courtyard. Breakfast is good -- nice selections of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels/bread, hard-boiled eggs, etc. Nauset Beach is a 1/4-mile walk down the road. Our room was very small, however. There was hardly room for our bags, and we kept stumbling over them. I will definitely stay here again, but I'll request a larger room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YankeeTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Ship Knee's Inn was one of the best get aways we have had in a long time. The owner's Pete and Denise could not be more friendly or accomodating. The property is gorgeous and the rooms are very clean and very well kept. We extended our stay while there, and had to move to another room. Both rooms were equally as nice and the beds were extremly comfortable. We booked in for next year before we left, and can't wait to go back!

Tom D

Room Tip: Both rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

the owner had advertised the wrong room for the price. we stayed in the king suite with a separate sitting area and he honored the price we wqere quoted for a queen room. The furniture, decorating are very nice. The owner Peter is very helpful. One advantage is the short walk to Nauset beach. Peter also allowed us to keep car in the parking lot and use the amenities on check out day so we could go to the beach. We would definitely stay at Ship's Knee again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My 16 and 18 year-old kids and I just returned from a week long stay at Ship's Knees Inn and we absolutely loved it!! We stayed in one of the apartments and it was beautiful and perfect for our needs. In the morning, we woke up to a bountiful breakfast that always included fresh fruit, homemade muffins or pastries, bagels, english muffins, cereal, coffee, fresh juice and the smiling face of the woman who prepares it. It was a five minute walk from Nauset beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen. My kids and I had so much fun swimming, sunning and walking to Liam's a few feet away for great food. Peter and Denise are so warm and welcoming and eager to help in any way. Our housekeeper brought us 3 chocolate chip cookies on our last day there. We LOVED it and recommend it for families and couples!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing