We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal getaway”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
1 review
“An ideal getaway”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We loved our three nights at The Ship's Knees! With a lovely homemade breakfast to begin each day and some time in a comfy chair by the fire pit to wrap it up, this was a real home away from home. Peter and Denise were exceptionally welcoming hosts who remembered our names and gave us great recommendations for the area, as well as some tips about Boston, which was where we were headed next. They provided chairs, towels, and umbrellas, which we brought with us on an easy walk to Nauset Beach. We also took advantage of the pool for a more relaxing swim in the late afternoons - and we saw a mother deer and fawn at one point! We saved some money by staying in a room with a shared bathroom, which was just fine for our purposes. On the rare occasion that the bathroom was occupied, we just used one of two other ones available to us. And although our room was on the small side, it had a beautiful ocean view. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask the hosts for tips and they can recommend a room that fits your needs! Some have private entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11JMG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
164
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I returned today from a one week stay at the Ship's Knees in Orleans. We stayed in the twin room on the second floor of the main inn. The room was small but very comfortable, cozy and clean. There was a small bureau(4 draws) and a small closet to store our clothing for the week and a fridge.The beds were extremely comfortable and the continental breakfast was fantastic. The best part, though, was the quiet..never heard noise from other rooms or outside noise..very quiet area of the cape. the walk to Nauset beach took about 10 minutes and the beach is amazing..We had a great vacation and highly recommend the Ship's Knees if you like quiet and cozy.

Room Tip: Rooms are described very well on ship's knees website, including sq. footage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I started at Ships Knees to get some time alone. We loved the easy walk to Nauset Beach... one of our favorite Cape beaches. We brought our own, but the owner has beach chairs, towels, umbrellas and boogie boards available for guests. We spent a little time at the lovely pool where towels are supplied. The complimentary breakfast was much better then a typical "continental breakfast". There were lots of choices and always a hot egg-based item too--all homemade and delicious!! We stayed in a king bed room with private bath. It was very clean and comfortable and came with a refrigerator which was handy. The decor both inside and out is quintessential Cape Cod. I highly recommend the Ships Knees. Giving it a 4 instead of a 5 because it is not luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was a return visit for me and this time I was with my daughter, my sister and my niece. It had been about 5 years and it was worth the wait. For a beach lover there's no better place in Orleans, even though they have a beautiful pool. The Inn is a short stroll to one of the most beautiful beaches on the Cape. The owners are so kind and accommodating, the rooms cozy, clean, and comfy, and the breakfast is amazing...best scones I've ever had!!!! Can't wait to visit again and hopefully my husband can join me the next time.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the most comfortable king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Charming Cape Cod Inn. Our room was very comfortable, quiet & cozy. Super comfortable beds and the best continental breakfast in we have ever had with fresh homemade & creative baked goods, egg dishes & fruits. Beautiful Nauset beach was an easy 7-10 minutes walk. Perfect spot on the Cape!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 652happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for our two year wedding anniversary. We were delighted to realize it's so close to the beach, truly within walking distance. We didn't have to pay for parking down the street, etc. We walked our beach chairs and belongings down the hill onto Nauset Beach, one of the prettiest on the Cape. It's also very close to the Cap Cod Rail Trail (bike trail) and you can go over to the bay side of the Cape, only four miles away. There were nice restaurants in the area. We will definitely return. The owners were pleasant and thought of all the *little details*. It's a lovely preserved old home. There is no reason to go anywhere else in the future... I couldn't give up the perfect proximity to the beach and the beautiful gardens on this property! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I don't know what they could possibly do to improve. My girlfriend and I only stayed for 1 night (they only allow this if there is a room open for 1 night in between two other stays) and we wish we could have stayed all summer! The decor throughout the inn was incredibly relaxing and consistent, the breakfast was delicious and clearly handmade, and the bedroom was extremely clean and comfortable. The beach was a quick walk and was perfect. I'm a beach snob, but this beach with it's soft sand exceeded my expectations.

It is definitely pricey, but if you can afford it, this is THE place to stay in Orleans!!

Room Tip: If you think you'll want your own bathroom, the extra $40 or so dollars is probably worth it. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
345 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing