We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located on the Cape and a Great B&B”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Thirty minutes to Provincetown, fifteen to Chatham. Great restaurants nearby. One quarter mile walk to Nauset Beach. Extremely clean and a great, friendly staff. Teens enjoyed the clean pool. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSJrFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

My sister and I have been coming to the Inn for the past 3 years and we just love it here. The Inn is an old sea captain's house with low ceilings and narrow hallways. The rooms have been refurbished but retain their old charm. Parking is plentiful and convenient to Nauset Beach. The grounds are strewn with gorgeous flowers and is very quiet and peaceful. There is also a swimming pool on the property, fabulous breakfasts with great coffee every day, a fire pit is lit at night on the patio, outside seating areas and the rooms are air conditioned with televisions. We walked to the beach every day (beach chairs and towels are available). Peter and Denise Butcher (the Innkeepers) are wonderful hosts, eager to please and helpful. We feel like we are staying with family when we come here and look forward to our stay next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkoneMilton_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The service at The Ship's Knees Inn which includes cleanliness and an awesome continental breakfast each morning is excellent, including interaction with the other guests (as little or as much as you like), and the Inn Keeper and his wife.
My husband and I had a room with a shared bath and the bathroom was immaculate at all times and our room was cleaned daily, and replenished with towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion.
The Ship's Knees Inn is a 5 minute walk from Nauset Beach with huge waves, a beautiful beach, and Liam's Snack Shack, with an amazing menu and famous onion rings!
Up the street a mile or two are two wonderful Deli/Markets with fresh produce, great sandwiches and really, really good soups and chowders, and a good selection of wines!
The best thing about our stay was that we did not have to go far to find sand, ocean,or good food, the atmosphere was realxing, almost like time had stood still for a few days!
The Inn is also just off of the RT 6 highway which is a huge blessing traffic wise!
Totally awesome experience!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babbs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at Ships Knees Inn for three nights this past weekend and had a very nice stay. The property is well maintained both in and out with attractive grounds. The location is just under a half mile from Nauset Beach, which makes it a very easy walk, and you can avoid the parking fee at the beach.

The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but this is cape cod. You'll find the rooms clean and ours had a small fridge which is convenient on a beach vacation. A continental breakfast was served each morning that had purchased and fresh baked products as well as fresh fruit and yogurt.

The owners and staff were friendly and very helpful. If you're looking for a quiet inn that is close to Nauset Beach, I don't think you'll go wrong here. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I've lived in Canada all my life, but have been visiting Cape Cod regularily since I was 5 years old. Years ago my wife and I discovered The Ship's Knees Inn and found it to be our most romantic, charming and perfect place to escape. We have been staying in Room 3 with the fireplace, a couple of times a year now for the past 5 years, spring, fall and even in winter. Peter and Denise are just the best. The rooms and grounds are immaculate. The pool and patios are beautiful. Denise always adds a wonderful touch with seasonal decor. We even named our Golden Retriever "Nauset" in honour of their Golden. Only a 2 minute walk to Nauset Beach for sunrise over the ocean. Great continental breakfast includes lots of variety. A 5 minute drive to Skaket Beach and Rock Harbour for sunsets and walking on the flats at low tide. Very close to Joe's Beach Road Bar and Grille and the Nauset Beach Club for dinner. This is the ideal central point for seeing the best of Cape Cod... a short drive from Chatham, the National Seashore, Eastham, Wellfleet, the Dunes in Truro and of course the art and character of P-Town. From an unofficial life long Canadian ambassador for Cape Cod, I say that you can't beat what Ship's Knees Inn and it's location has to offer. Can't wait til our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cape_House_bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

ships knees inn is a pristine, lovely inn located up the road from nauset beach in orleans, cape cod, ma. the rooms were beatifully kept, and the free breakfast provided was delicious and had a wide variety of tasty treats to choose from! the inn keeper pete was very amenable and pleasant , and provided us an upgrade on our room, which was very gracious. we will definetely visit the inn again next summer - a quaint, lovely place to stay on cape cod - a must!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann6088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This Inn was everything we hoped for and more! The location is a five minute walk from amazing Nauset Beach, close to great restaurants and the center of Orleans. The Inn is cozy and well kept. The beds are so comfortable and the hosts are great! Even though the breakfast continental , there is such a great variety- fresh baked goods, fruit, yogurt and fresh breads.They are more than willing to help you out- recommendations for dinning -even making reservations or ideas for things to do and see. Peter & Denise made us feel so welcome it was easy to relax. We can't wait to go back! We loved the fact that they have a dog!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenbird31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
7.7 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
1.3 mi away
The Parsonage Inn
The Parsonage Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#2 of 8 in Orleans
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
376 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
#1 of 1 in South Orleans
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range: £111 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing