We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - great service and location”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - great service and location”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

You can't go wrong here. My wife and I stayed here in July 2010 during a trip to Orleans and Chatham on the cape. We spent some great days on the beach that is a short walk down one street from the inn.

The rooms aren't going to knock your socks off here, but they are comfortable and well kept. The inn has some great qualities with the service by the innkeepers, location, fantastic grounds, pool, and location in the town of East Orleans.

Pool: nice pool area to swim and read
Grounds: great little spots for sitting outside, eating breakfast outside, and a fire pit at night to have a glass of wine or beer
Innkeepers: very friendly and welcoming. Wish we stayed here at the second half of our stay. Instead we were at the Captain's House Inn in Chatham which is also fantastic from a location/property standpoint, but the service there was lacking by the innkeepers.
Food: nice continental breakfast to start your day. You're not getting a full breakfast, but you know that going in. It does the job and you can also go into town for something more (we didn't need to). Good coffee, bagels, fruit, muffins, etc

VALUE: CAN'T BEAT IT ON THE CAPE

Check out the Orleans Cardinals if you are there in the summer for the Cape baseball league. I have tried to go every year for awhile now - it feels like you are watching pro baseball in the 50s (or something like that). Family atmosphere, great ballplayers, free attendance...

Bring your bikes to enjoy the cape bike trail that goes through Orleans. We had a terrific ride up to Truro and back. The bike shop next to the trail also fixed my gears for free since something was wrong with them.

Don't count on the wireless internet. We were unable to get a signal except out on the patio area. I would recommend to the innkeepers to install a few repeaters in the house area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
165
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This was our second stay at the Ship's Knees Inn. October is a beautiful time of year there. There is very little traffic and the beaches are virtually empty! There's still lots to do off season. We attended a sea chanty concert at the Salt Pond Visitor Center that we loved! Our breakfasts were yummy with bagels, muffins and scones. Tea is always available. Our room was very cozy and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Peter and Denise keep a wonderful inn! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debralee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

As repeat visitors we always come back to the Ships Knees Inn. We have tried other inns at the Cape and find we always come back to the Ships Knees Inn. The peaceful, tranquility and homeyness of the inn are wonderful. Denise and Peter are extremely attentive to all of our needs, even allowing us to have our "dog fix" with Marley. A wonderful inn with wonderful innkeepers. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This quaint inn provided all of the best of the Cape. Its location was ideal, the room was comfortable and extremely clean, and the host and hostess were charming. We also enjoyed the fresh fruit and the great homemade pastries and coffee available every morning. We felt pampered and enjoyed the constant sound of the ocean only a short walk out the front door.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karrot1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Everything about it was great. The staff is friendly and it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We were here for a few days for a family member's wedding. The Inn was perfect and we had enough free time to take the five-minute walk to Nauset Beach a couple of times. The owners were on site and were great hosts. We hope to come back and if we do, the Ship's Knees Inn will be our destination!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddjq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Friendly and helpful Innkeeper. Stayed in Room 16, which has very comfortable bed, couch for sitting and a great shower. Walked short walk to beautiful Nauset Beach in the morning. Property has outdoor gas fire pit for nighttime gathering--very nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
355 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
413 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing