We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February Getaway”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We go to the Ship's Knees Inn in February to celebrate our birthdays and Valentine's all in one long weekend. We have told our friends about it, and now enjoy the Cape off season with them there as well. We have hit some unseasonably warm days this year and last year, too, which makes walking around Chatham even nicer. We enjoy the Lost Dog Pub, Chatham Squire and the Yardarm for local good food . Provincetown and Brewster are always a nice drive and we get moonlight pictures of Nauset Beach when we can. Peter and Denise give us new ideas of places to go and are always friendly to talk to. We have been going here since the 80's and look forward to continuing our tradition. We always hate to leave! Jeff and Cari Duigou

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

This was our second trip to Ship's Knees. It's very quaint and the rooms are very warm and welcoming. Great central location, and walking distance to the beach (weather permitting...it was really cold in February). We toured nearby Chatnam village, where most of the stores were open (off season). Ate several times at Lost Dog (4/5 star), and they have entertainment on the weekends, starting at 10:00.

There is a nice breakfast area, supplied with muffins, bagels, cereal, fruit and drinks. I would definately recommend Ships Knees...especially in the summer. Since it was cold outside, it would have been nice to have a place to relax or play games. We had a nice big room with a mini sofa, but we came with friends, so there was no where to really hang out together in the evenings...except at the bars. In the summer, it's probably not an issue since it gets dark so late, and you're exhausted from being at the beach all day.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We have been going to the cape for over 35 years. We have stayed at the Ship Knees Inn for the last several years and we always look forward to staying in the Inn for our midwinter getaway. The room is charming, the location perfect and the breakfast is excellent. It is the perfect place for a relaxing respite. We can't wait to go back next year.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank barkman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed at the Ship's Knees Inn twice during 2010 - can't think of any other place to stay, while visiting the Cape. The accommodations were beautiful inside and out. Lovely landscaping. Delicious breakfast everyday. Denise always bakes something wonderful. Within EASY walking distance to Nauset Beach. Peter and Denise and staff are always very helpful with any questions. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Can't wait to go back again this year!

Laura Lepine
Cape Elizabeth ME

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralk1p2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I had several memorable stays at the Ship's Knees Inn over that last couple of years, so the warmth of it's innkeepers and accommodations made it a natural choice when our extended family needed a place to gather for our Dad's memorial service. The host went out of his way to assist us in finding some special arrangements we needed for the memorial service, and all our rooms were beautifully prepared when we arrived. The breakfast is delightful, and we especially enjoyed the new gas fire pit in the courtyard, where we gathered to reminisce and be together each evening before retiring to our rooms. The Inn is cozy, but has places to 'get away' as well as areas to congregate. The staff is available and friendly, but never intrusive. The heated outdoor pool is fairly secluded for privacy; the proximity to Nauset Beach is unsurpassed, and there's lots to do in Orleans for dining and shopping ( Mahoney's in town and Liam's at Nauset Beach are our favorites). I stayed once in early spring in the room with the wood fireplace - it was fabulous! I recommend the Ship's Knees for a solo vacation, a romantic get-away for two, or a family reunion. After one visit, it's just like coming home!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripfeedback1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

You can't go wrong here. My wife and I stayed here in July 2010 during a trip to Orleans and Chatham on the cape. We spent some great days on the beach that is a short walk down one street from the inn.

The rooms aren't going to knock your socks off here, but they are comfortable and well kept. The inn has some great qualities with the service by the innkeepers, location, fantastic grounds, pool, and location in the town of East Orleans.

Pool: nice pool area to swim and read
Grounds: great little spots for sitting outside, eating breakfast outside, and a fire pit at night to have a glass of wine or beer
Innkeepers: very friendly and welcoming. Wish we stayed here at the second half of our stay. Instead we were at the Captain's House Inn in Chatham which is also fantastic from a location/property standpoint, but the service there was lacking by the innkeepers.
Food: nice continental breakfast to start your day. You're not getting a full breakfast, but you know that going in. It does the job and you can also go into town for something more (we didn't need to). Good coffee, bagels, fruit, muffins, etc

VALUE: CAN'T BEAT IT ON THE CAPE

Check out the Orleans Cardinals if you are there in the summer for the Cape baseball league. I have tried to go every year for awhile now - it feels like you are watching pro baseball in the 50s (or something like that). Family atmosphere, great ballplayers, free attendance...

Bring your bikes to enjoy the cape bike trail that goes through Orleans. We had a terrific ride up to Truro and back. The bike shop next to the trail also fixed my gears for free since something was wrong with them.

Don't count on the wireless internet. We were unable to get a signal except out on the patio area. I would recommend to the innkeepers to install a few repeaters in the house area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This was our second stay at the Ship's Knees Inn. October is a beautiful time of year there. There is very little traffic and the beaches are virtually empty! There's still lots to do off season. We attended a sea chanty concert at the Salt Pond Visitor Center that we loved! Our breakfasts were yummy with bagels, muffins and scones. Tea is always available. Our room was very cozy and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Peter and Denise keep a wonderful inn! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debralee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
376 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range: £136 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing