We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Accomodations in an Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge

Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Orleans
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simple Accomodations in an Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge. The views from both inside and out are beautiful. There is a large lawn area where kids can play at the motel. Nauset Beach is an easy walk just down a small hill and across the lot. You do need to drive to get to town and any restaurants or other sites.

Our room had two double beds. It was clean and pretty roomy. The beds were not terribly comfortable, but it helps you get up to watch the beautiful sunrise.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bballfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed here a few years ago for a Cape wedding at the groom's recommendation since his family lives on the Cape. The motor lodge os located directly on the beach and is run by the coast guard. I selected it among other suggestions because it was reasonably priced and I did not have to pay for two nights, a common industry tactic during the summer season to boost sales. To start off, it is not fancy by anyone's definition. It is a no-frills motor lodge with outdated rooms, no flat screen tvs (haha! Tv reminded me of my parents old tv from the 80's: tiny screen, boxy shape!) or wi-fi and certainly no maid service and a salty manager to boot. However, the rooms are pristine in terms of cleanliness and the views of Nauset Beach are second to none (each room has a huge bay window and the motel is right on the beach, offering unobstructed ocean viewd). The rooms have more of a cottage feel and a quaintness to them, with clean chenille bedspreads on the beds (honestly, linens were cleaner than at some of the high-end hotels I have stayed at! Chenille bedspread, bedding and towels were just-laundered fresh and pristine in appearance.). For me, this option was a perfect selection as the price was very reasonable, the rooms were immaculate and the ocean views were divine! I would definitely stay here again. If you like hotels with lots of bells & whistles, this is not the place for you! I was simply looking for clean and cheap and the killer beach views were the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AMY05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Our absolute favorite beach on the Cape. My wife and I have been coming to this beach in the off season for years and always wanted to stay here. This year we did it and could not have enjoyed it more. Fantastic view from your room (every room) and literally next to the beach. The gentleman that runs the place is so friendly. We definetly plan to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dude011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our home away from home and on my favorite beach. The view is unbeatable and the rooms are cozy and kept impeccably clean (daily). It's the simplicity of Nauset Knolls that makes it so appealing to us, just easy living for a while, and thats what my kind of vacation is all about. Over the years we have become neighbors and friends with some of the nicest people and John is just so informative and fun to chat with.
See you next year:)

Room Tip: Every room has a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mung_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Very basic but impeccably clean. Loved the peace and quiet and fantastic view and location... walk down to the beach! If it matters to you, bring a hair dryer. Would be nice if a community microwave were available. Our unit had only a shower (no bathtub). No air conditioner, but a nice big portable fan was in our room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank quahog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

1950's style. No frills. But what a location. Can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudandEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

My children and I, for a mini vacation, stayed at Nauset Knoll for just 2 nights last week, we had noticed in while on a day trip to Nauset Beach (one of the best beaches at the Cape!). The room was so clean and neat, and the bathroom was large. The best part there was the shower stall was very big; you could turn around, move and not touch the walls or curtain!
The older gentleman who runs this place was just that, a gentleman. Just wonderful.
The only thing I would have liked better is a coffee pot in the room and maybe a small fridge to keep milk for said coffee in. Fortunately, there are plenty of options for take out or sit down for coffee.
The location couldn't be better, we could hear the waves all night long, awesome! The grassy grounds were great for playing a little frisbee and at Nauset beach there are Monday night concerts which we could hear from our room, a cute bluegrass type band...till the rain came! Even the storm could not dampen our spirits.

I cannot wait to return to this gem on Cape Cod!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank hurricainesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
7.6 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge

Property: Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge
Address: 237 Beach Rd, P.O. Box 642, East Orleans, MA 02643
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge with Cape Cod-style units with sweeping views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nauset Knoll Motor Hotel East Orleans
Nauset Knoll Hotel
Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing