We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in East Orleans”
Review of The Parsonage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parsonage Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in East Orleans”
Reviewed 10 September 2007

The Parsonage Inn is an absolute delight! This quaint old house has been lovingly cared for by Ian and Liz Browne, the hosts. Each room is sparkling clean and has everything you'd want, like TV, air conditioning, wireless Internet, a hair dryer, coffee maker, and a walk-in closet in many rooms. Close by is an espresso bar, a deli with great sandwiches and salads, a newsstand, a homemade ice cream shop, and pizza. There's a beautiful flower garden and chairs under shade trees, and meals can be taken outdoors in nice weather. Breakfasts are fresh cooked, with things like eggs and pancakes and fresh fruit. The Brownes are charming and thoughtful hosts who will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. It's over a mile to the ocean, but that's about the only thing I'd want to change about the Parsonage Inn.

  • Liked — Attractive and comfortable
  • Disliked — Too far to the beach
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NohoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
155
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutchess County, NY
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

My wife & I were first time guests in early August for four nights. Innkeepers, Ian & Elizabeth, were most welcoming from the moment we arrived. We were drawn to this location due its close proximity to Nauset Beach & previous visits to the area. We had the opportunity to stay in two rooms - Oak & Maple - both neat & clean. Each had its own charm & Elizabeth has a unique flair for decorating. Every morning we awoke to a delicious, full breakfast, personally prepared by Elizabeth, which included a different hot entree daily (i.e. waffles, frittata & fresh blueberry pancakes.) Unlike other inns, having the option to eat outside on the porch w/the morning paper was a nice treat. Owners for 15 years, the innkeepers are always visible and ready to attend to any needs to may have from local attractions to favorite restaurants. This was one of our best B&B experiences and we will make it a point to return.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beachruler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at The Parsonage Inn! We were so very happy to find friendly service and the most comfortable atmosphere on our special day. Ian and Liz are helpful, thorough, and most pleasant to visit with. The room we stayed in (The Maple), was very clean, comfortable and a perfect place to relax after a long drive on the Cape. We will definetly hold a special place for The Parsonage Inn and hope to return someday.

  • Liked — Tasty Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Absolutely NOTHING:)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JessJ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We have visited the Parsonage at least 8 times in the last 10 years or so. The quality of our visit is always top-notch. The rooms are cute and comfortable. The breakfasts are delectable (especially the homemade scones!). Most importantly, perhaps, the inn owners are warm and polite, but they give you the space you need. On a related note, breakfast is served at individual tables, so you don't have to sit with strangers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

Liz & Ian were lovely hosts for our visit -- their attention to detail in the rooms, in the common area, and at breakfast made our stay very special -- my wife and I felt at home immediately and by the end of the visit, we had found new friends in Liz and Ian --we will return again to enjoy this special place again

  • Liked — warm hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic Ct
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2006

The Parsonage Inn in East Orleans, Massachusetts(on Cape Cod) is the gold standard by which I judge all other B and B's. We have traveled extensively both here and abroad and have stayed at many B and B's.

Liz and Ian Browne have this down to a science. They have 8 beautifully decorated rooms with top notch beds and all the conveniences anyone could want including plenty of lamps for reading. Their breakfasts are superb--one can eat indoors or outside according to the weather. They are the most personable hosts one could imagine.Please give yourselves a real treat and book a night or two at The Parsonage Inn.You can pull up their website by Googling their inn name.

Submitted by Cindy Allyn

Helpful?
3 Thank MysticCtCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2006

My husband and I have been staying at the Parsonage Inn for several years now both during the summer season and in the fall. We have been so happy there we have never found a reason to look elsewhere.

During the summer we stay for a week in one of the larger rooms with a mini-kitchen and it is just like having our own little apartment on Cape Cod. We love bike riding on all the local bike trails. One of our favorite places, aside from beautiful Nauset beach, is the Audubon Center in Wellfleet. An absolutely beautiful nature retreat with lovely walking trails that end up on the water. In the fall, since it is just a long weekend we often stay in our favorite room (The Pine room I believe it is called) and we often bring one of our parents who stay in a room with a handicap shower that is much easier for an older person to manage in.

Liz and Ian are so friendly and fun loving you feel like family when you are staying there.
The inn is extremely clean and very comfortable and decorated in a very charming way with great attention to detail. We have stayed in many of the rooms and we both have bad backs and we found each bed to be very comfortable.

The breakfast is served with not only a buffet with a wide variety of cereals, fresh fruit , yogurt, juices and freshly baked muffins, etc,.....there is also a special item each morning like waffles or pancakes or an omelet and each is more delicious than the one before. We love to have breakfast served this way because the mornings we just want coffee and cereal or a muffin that is fine and on days we want to indulge.....we eat it all! Some B&B's that we have stayed at where they just put a plate of food in front of you, the owners seems to get insulted if you don't eat it all....the way Liz and Ian serve breakfast you can eat as much or as little as you like....and on those lovely summer days you can eat outside on the patio if you wish....what a great way to start a day.

East Orleans is a lovely area of Cape Cod and I think Nauset beach(about one mile down the road) is one of the nicest beaches on Cape Cod. Across the street is a wonderful farm stand type store with lots of prepared foods and a lovely, fresh salad bar. We often just stop over there for our lunch and head to the beach for the day. There are also great restaurants in Orleans and several within walking distance...Joe's right down the street is one of our favorites....great food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LovesEastportME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
4.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
683 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
1.0 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
366 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parsonage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage Inn

Property: The Parsonage Inn
Address: 202 Main Street, P.O. Box 1501, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parsonage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Jo-Anne and Richard Hoad look forward to welcoming returning and new guests to The Parsonage Inn, an 18th century parsonage, now a romantic village Inn, located in the heart of East Orleans and just one and a half miles from Nauset Beach. The eight guest rooms have been redecorated with refitted bathrooms to offer a relaxing, cozy and contemporary feel. Breakfasts are freshly prepared each morning, using wherever possible organic seasonal produce locally sourced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Parsonage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing