We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute, quaint, quintessential Cape Cod” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Garden Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spring Garden Inn Motel
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“cute, quaint, quintessential Cape Cod”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The pluses: I found this place perfectly relaxing, especially for the price. The view out the back was tremendous, and Linda the inkeeper was lovely and very accommodating. My room, #1, right next to the office, was large and had wood paneled walls, lots of lighting, a decent flat screen TV, mini-fridge and other nice little touches. It was also immaculately clean.

The not-so-pluses: My bed was soft. Like, REALLY soft. Too soft. And I'm not that picky about beds. The walls are very thin, so I heard a lot of conversations word-for-word going on in the office, as well as the TV in the next room over. But I always travel with earplugs, and in any case it was very quiet at night.

The complimentary toiletries were the most basic brands possible. The breakfast was toast, or a small store brand blueberry muffin. And orange juice, and the coffee was not great. Jazzing up those little details would make this place nicer, but then again, they were only small details. The view, price, cleanliness and inkeeper outweighed the negatives for me, and so I wish I could have stayed longer, and I'd surely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We absolutely loved this great little motel. We have a 6 month old baby. The motel provided a very clean pack n play for her to sleep in. It was a better pack n play than we have used at high-end hotels - the mattress boards were lightly padded. We stayed in the Sailor's Rest - a small efficiency that had plenty of room for two adults and a baby. It was very quiet - we could not hear the traffic from the road. We were glad to have the little kitchen (note that there is no oven), however with the great breakfast provided in the motel office we didn't need to do much but use the fridge and microwave. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room clean. Best of all, though, was the setting. The door to our room opened up onto the back lawn - a beautiful, peaceful well shaded lawn furnished with chairs, picnic tables and a hammock. The motel sits right on a marsh that borders a river, and we could see people kayaking and enjoying the water as we sat on our patio. We wished we could have spent more time at the motel enjoying the great back yard. At night a family staying there grilled their dinner and started a bonfire - we would have done the same had we stayed longer, but we were visiting relatives in the area and were busy each evening. The management & staff were very friendly and helpful. Great place for a family vacation! I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wseashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Been vacationing Sandwich for over 10 years. Have stayed at many of the quaint motels along 6A. Came upon the Spring Garden Inn six years ago and it has become one of our favorite get away spots. Rooms are simple but very clean. Through the years we have been impressed with all the updates the owner (Linda) has made including, freshly painted decorated rooms, flat screen TV, new windows and mattress. The motel overlooks a salt marsh with breathtaking views and smells.
Location is great with Sandy neck Beach a few miles away. Relax at the pool after a day at the beach.
A true hidden gem!

Carolyn from Westford

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We had stayed here a number of times more than 5 yrs ago and it still has the same appeal; mainly the scenery of a lovely marsh which the motel length deck overlooks from each room. Each room on the upper level has a back door which opens onto the deck. 2 chairs and a small table are outside each door allowing guests to sit and read, converse, or have a glass of wine, while listening to the many song birds on the property and enjoying the view. there are some picnic tables and grills on the back lawn and there is a swimming pool on the side of the motel.
The rooms are rustic, very clean, but could use a little paint. Our room had a large flat screen t.v., a comfortable queen bed, mini fridge, and coffee pot.
the proprietor, Linda, is very accommodating and serves juice, coffee, fresh muffins, or other treats every morning.
We will definitely return again. seleary, Franklin, MA

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsysue43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

The rooms are spacious and very clean with queens size beds, cable TV and refrigerator. Go out your back door and sit and view the salt marsh and nature in your rocking chair.
Wake up to coffee and muffins every morning.
Linda and Jess are great hosts. They will always make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurawilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2007

Rooms were a bit dusty and musty. Kitchens were not the cleanest and the whole place needs updating overall. If the owners invested a bit back into updating the property, it has a great deal of potential. The door to the room opened out towards a marsh and the door itself didn't lock properly so we didn't feel totally secure. Staff were all very nice and friendly. Rooms had reading materials and a sitting area, which was nice.

  • Liked — Coziness
  • Disliked — Musty Feeling / Outdated
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank witchway400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2006

The location is the nicest part of the motel, located on a beautiful saltmarsh. Not much else impressive other than the view. The rooms need an upgrade and are mildew like. The beds were not that comfortable.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room quality
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Sandwich
5.4 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.9 mi away
Earl of Sandwich Motel
Earl of Sandwich Motel
#1 of 2 in East Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
4.4 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Garden Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Garden Inn Motel

Property: Spring Garden Inn Motel
Address: 578 Route 6a, East Sandwich, Sandwich, MA 02537-1437
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Spring Garden Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Spring Garden Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Garden Inn Motel East Sandwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing