We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plus for tourists - Kitchen now open all day”
Review of Bee-Hive Tavern - CLOSED

Bee-Hive Tavern
Price range: US$0 - US$26
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A plus for tourists - Kitchen now open all day”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

While the food is average, being able to have a late lunch or early dinner is convenient. Cute decor and pub atmosphere. Friendly staff. Recommend the thick chowder.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    40
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tavern with tasty options and some 'best of' items on the menu: get the Mudcake dessert!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We live local so it's always a good option for us. Owner almost always on premises, good selection of good for all tastes. Some pros: 1) almost never a wait, tv at the cosy bar
2) really good buffalo chicken 3) the Mudcake dessert is possibly the best dessert on the cape, if you like warm gooey brownies with chocolate, vanilla bean ice cream and whipped cream that is!).
Cons: 1). Seating can be uncomfortable for me, esp on the hard wood bench type seats in the main dining room, but there are table options 2) they close early in the off peak season, understandably, so just call ahead. It's a tavern with upscale tavern food, but don't expect more than paper place settings and thin metal restaurant utensils...not really a complaint, it works, just know what to expect.
We really like it there though!!! Nice cheap kids menu too! I think pasta w red sauce is only $2!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cagoba25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting place...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stopped in for dinner around 7pm on a Wed night. We had attended a meeting on the Cape and decided to try a new place for dinner. The decor is interesting; as may be expected, the theme was bees. From the bee door knocker to actual hives suspended from branches... The place is cozy, with a small bar and many high-backed wooden booths. My overall impression of the service/staff was that they were friendly, if a bit disorganized. We did wait quite a while for someone to take our order. Filling the drink order took a bit longer than expected, but the food came out lightning fast. We both ordered from the specials menu. The lobster quiche was beautifully presented, but the lobster chunks in it were so small they were pretty dry. The salad was fresh and the house creamy garlic dressing was delicious. The blackened salmon was a generous portion and cooked to perfection. But the highlight of the night was the Honey Almond Bee Sting Ice Cream, made on the premises, topped with home-made whipped cream and toasted almonds. Amazing! So, overall, a somewhat average experience, tipped over to high marks by dessert. I would go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbannasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Mud Cake!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have been at Bee-Hive Tavern 3 years ago and still remember thier awesome Mud Cake... I never found anything like that after!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaurizioIT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mediocre food great tavern decor”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This restaurant has a very interesting pub/tavern like decor. It has a tiny bar that sits maybe 6 people. The food is just mediocre. Even the burgers are bland. I cannot recommend this restaurant as ther are many more in Sandwich, MA that provide better food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bee-Hive Tavern also viewed

East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing