We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite lunch spot on the way to outer Cape”
Review of Bee-Hive Tavern - CLOSED

Bee-Hive Tavern
Price range: US$0 - US$26
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Favorite lunch spot on the way to outer Cape”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I look forward to stopping at the Bee-Hive for lunch whenever we stay on the Cape (usually in Wellfleet or P'town). This time we brought overseas friends and their two young children. We were welcomed warmly and given a spacious table with a high chair. The food was as good as usual - delicious fried oysters made up for the fact that they had sold out of lobster rolls (which I think are the best on the Cape). The service was a little erratic (unusual in our previous experience here) but we'll definitely be back on our next visit to the Cape.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTraveller149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    40
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“This place is so wonderful, thanks to the owner & employees, oh & the food!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Upon the recommendation of our B&B owners from Captain Chipman Inn (see our review for that as well!) just up the road, we tried the Bee - Hive for their burgers. Expecting good food, we were instantly charmed by so much more. The bartender Annie immediately greeted us as if we were lifelong friends (which we felt like by the time we left.) Owner Debra is so comfortable, charming, and friendly as well. It was the highlight of our 11 days in New England! We cannot wait to go back, thanks to their marvelous hospitality. And honestly, probably the best burgers we have ever had, and we're from Wisconsin!

Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly choice for dinner”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner on a Saturday night. The fish & chips couldn't have been better. Lightly battered and well cooked. Try it! Live music on Friday and Saturday nights by a superb guitarist/singer. Only two beers on tap one a Cape blonde which was pleasant. We sat at the bar and enjoyed chatting local folk and the staff. All very convivial.

Helpful?
2 Thank 227RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Waiting in traffic”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First time visitors, felt very welcome. Bartender, Scott, was incredibly social with local information. Burgers, steamed mussels, French Dip sandwich were all excellent. Margaritas and a Bloody Mary were well worth the trip. Can't wait to return next week with a full complement of friends staying with us. The bar is stocked with our preferred alcohol, Barcardi Limon, Capt. Morgan and Absolut. See you on Sunday Scott!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Bland food, comfortable atmosphere, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place has been around for a while and the atmosphere is old tavern Cape Cod. Wooden booths, small dimly-lit bar, sort of comfortable.
The service is "summer season high school" which you'll find at most places in this price range, which is modest. The servers are inexperienced and they know they will not do this past the end of August. It shows. Don't come here for elegance or finer service; it's not here. There is no view to speak of.
The menu looks fine, the wine list is very thin, and the beer choices OK.
The food preparation is fair to middling. It has all the options from stuffed shrimp and cod and lobster, to an assortment of sandwiches and smaller [places, and all the usual fried foods. Our stuffed cod, which was the evening special, was bland. The dressing was mild to the point of tasteless and cod just a bit overcooked.There are much better choices for our taste in the area and we will not be going back. We suspect it will be around for at least a while and for years to come because it is, in a word, inoffensive. If that's what you're looking for. In this price range, we would much prefer The British Beer Company or even Bobby Burns' Pub. (They are both members of small chains.) For something much nicer in all respects ... much better food, much better service, beautiful views, a bit more pricey ... try Mattakeese Wharf, a few miles east in Barnstable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank writer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bee-Hive Tavern also viewed

East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing