We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip to the cape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Oaks Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family trip to the cape”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Tought the campground was good overall. Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. They did honor our request to be closer the bathrooms and showers as well. Weather was not very favorable during our stay with 4out 8 days being either overcast or rain. Not a ton of stuff for kids to do with rainy days, so we had to be creative to keep the, busy. Sites could be more level to eliminate longer set up time to get the camper level. Thought the price was right especially being on the cape. If we return to the Cape during the summer we would visit again as well as recommend to others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    25
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My daughter and I tented for a few days at the Atlantic Oaks and we had a great time. We had a quiet campsite (for anyone complaining about road noise, plan ahead a little!! There are plenty of quiet tenting spots...), the place was impeccably clean, the staff was so friendly and helpful (they even blew up my daughter's bike tire), and the location was perfect for us and what we wanted to do. The bike trail runs right along the back of the site and in one direction is Ben and Jerry's and in the other direction is Arnold's for fresh seafood. It's minutes to the Salt Pond Visitor Center, Nauset Light and Coast Guard beach (and its impressive tide pool). I thought that it was a great value. We were very comfortable and relaxed and are already planning our return trip for next year.

Room Tip: Call/plan ahead for a quiet tenting site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It was a decent location, although it's 40 minutes to Provincetown. It is on the rail trail, which was nice but there was no privacy in between the sites and the traffic noise was a little much. I suppose the people paying more with their RV's had more quiet. Some rode around at 11pm to tell everyone to put their fires out and as we were in the process of doing it, he still reminded us. We know the rules and it seemed like our parents were chastising us. I didn't appreciate it.
The office did let us charge our phones and iPad, which was nice.
Our kids loved the swing set, even though all it had was 2 swings and a slide. But I guess that's enough. Bathrooms were clean, which was great. Overall a decent stay. Not sure I'd go back because of the street noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

So much for the welcome arms of friendly manager greeting us after drving for hours from Canada to camp at Atlantic Oaks. The manager was terse, snappy, and would not elaborate on questions about the area. She was not very nice toward us. We have since learned from fello Canadians, they have been treated in a similar way. Then it comes to the bath house, in the evening, very dirty. Hair in drains. Someone even used the shower as a toilet! They charge a high price. Kids extra. Air quality poor to people abusing the fire rings. Watched campers in the row buring cardboard beer 20 pack cartons. Once we went to the Seashore Park beaches, we started to relax, yet the campground has issues that need to be resolved.

Room Tip: I guess ask to ask fellow Canadians or friends from The States to tell you about the area and not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I hosted a camping meetup group at this campground. We were all tenters and stayed in the "safari" area. I booked very far in advance and posted my site location on the meetup site so others could book near me. My site was paid in full when I booked. When I arrived they had moved my site and not told me. They were completely booked and pretty much told me that was just "tough". The older couple that runs the front desk are very rude and unaccommodating. They could care less that this had messed up our camping meetup. Other parties in my group did not find me until a day later as they were looking for me at the site number I posted 6 weeks before the trip. The campground is nice, clean and well maintained. The sites are very small and very close together but not bad either. Just beware of the rude couple if you have any issues. Don't plan on them being very helpful or even nice about it!

Room Tip: If you are tenting stay in the tent area near the office as there are no restrooms near the back one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eventgallb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shady3002, Manager at Atlantic Oaks Campground, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Our official policy, as stated on our website, is that we do try to honor specific site number requests, however we can not guarantee them. This is pretty much an industry standard. It is only on the rare occasion, when circumstance dictates, that we are unable to honor a request.

This policy did not come into play in this case due to the fact that we never did "move" the guest off of her "original" site as stated. Unfortunately, there apparently was either a miscommunication or misunderstanding on the part of the guest as to which site number was initially reserved.

As to the complaint about the rudeness of our employees, we will respectfully have to agree to disagree on who was being rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Area
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This campground is in a great location for visiting Cape Cod. Very close to Coast Guard Beach. Visited with a Class A 31'. Nice pull through site with lighted utility pedestals. Has a dog walk area but is next to a large pile of mulch. (Dogs cost $8.00 for every 2 nights to stay there. Never paid for as dog to camp before). The free WiFi worked pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If have breathing problems, stay clear of this campground. People light fires in the morning, the afternoon and night. When time to extinguish the fires, the doused water on multiple campsite fires creates an unbearable haze of smoke linger into dawn. It seeped into our tent. No sleep for my family. Oh. The tent sites are next to a State Highway. Last. The manager who check us in was rude, curt, and huffy. She needs anger management classes or a better pair of shoes. Can you say, "attitude and jaded?" There are more friendly campgrounds in Truro without endlessly burning fire pits. This place WAS the pits.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic O, Owner at Atlantic Oaks Campground, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
All of our ads say we permit campfires. Anyone who doesn't like campfires or may be sensitive to smoke should find another campground that does not allow them.
Atlantic Oaks has found that most campers prefer campfires so we will continue to allow them until 11 PM.
Campsites next to the Highway are the last ones to be rented and guests may reserve any site that is open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
2.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
2.6 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oaks Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oaks Campground

Property: Atlantic Oaks Campground
Address: 3700 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for fabulous family camping with the best location on Cape Cod, then come stay with us at Atlantic Oaks Campground! We are nestled in the heart of Eastham, MA, surrounded by beautiful beaches from Cape Cod Bay to the Cape Cod National Seashore. Enjoy 22 miles of beautifully paved bike path known as the Cape Cod Rail Trail right from our backyard, and an array of kayaking opportunities is also right down the street. We have so many choices for great restaurants that you will never have to worry about eating at the same place twice, or if you are into cooking over an open fire we allow those too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oaks Campground Hotel Eastham
Atlantic Oaks Campground Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing