We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place! Will be back!”
Review of Wheel In Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheel In Cottages
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place! Will be back!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We (two moms and our 8-year-old daughter) just got back from out third stay at Wheel In Cottages (or as we call it, simply "Elke's"), and it was wonderful as usual!

The property itself is lovely: It's just Elke's house and the three cottages, all unique, but all very Cape Cod quaint with cedar shingles. The cottages are spaced out nicely for privacy, but close enough that it feels like a little neighborhood. There are mature trees for shade, and many flowerbeds, window boxes, etc. We always stay in Cottage 1, and love it -- so cozy! It's not fancy, but it is clean, comfortable and cute. There's a regular bathroom, as well as an outdoor shower which is great for rinsing off sand -- both have nice hot water and good water pressure.

The kitchen is compact but has everything you need -- it's not one of those "What can I really cook with a single dented frying pan, a rusty spatula, and a couple of plates?" situations. You'll find all the utensils, pots & pans, colanders, coffee mugs, wine glasses, bowls, plates -- even tupperware for packing beach picnics -- that you'll need, all decent quality and in good shape, as well as a full-sized fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker and blender. We save a lot of money eating at the cottage 1-2 times a day. We bring some groceries, and then supplement with the Eastham Superette (5 minutes away), Orleans Stop & Shop (10 minutes away), Mac's Seafood Market (5 minutes away), and produce from the many farm stands along Route 6.

The location is perfect: It's right on Route 6, but clever landscaping insulates you from the traffic. The back of the property borders the bike path, which is great for running, walking, or of course biking -- it's an easy 10 minute ride to Nauset Light Beach, a beautiful ocean beach that's part of the Cape Cod National Sea Shore, and which is a lot cheaper if you bike in! Many great bay beaches (run by the town of Eastham) are 20-30 minute bike rides, or a 5-10 minute drive (I recommend a weekly Eastham beach sticker). The Salt Pond Visitor Center is right in town too and is great way to learn about the many fun activities run by the National Sea Shore rangers. Provincetown is a 30-40 minute drive to the north, and Yarmouth/Chatham/Brewster are about 30 minutes to the south, so there are plenty of day trip options for whale watches, dining, antiques, people-watching, historic sites, nature hikes, etc.

Elke herself really makes Wheel In Cottages the best though. She is so friendly and welcoming, always available to share tips and advice (or provide extra trash bags!), yet not at all overbearing or intrusive. The cottages are obviously a labor of love, and she does such a great job. One day this trip, we were in Provincetown when an unexpected storm hit. It absolutely poured the whole drive back to the cottage. Of course we had all of our towels, beach blanket and swimsuits out on the clothes line from the day before and were sure they'd be drenched -- but got home to find that Elke had pulled everything off the line as soon as it started raining, folded everything neatly and brought it all all into the sunroom. So we had dry beach stuff the following morning thanks to her!

I can't imagine staying anywhere for a Cape Cod vacation! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodgravymissmaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here with our 2 year old and it was perfect. The cottage was a great size which meant that we were able to relax in the evening while the little one was asleep without worrying about waking her up. It was really well equiped so if you wanted you could cook almost anything. Although it looks close to a main road the cottages themselves are surrounded by trees and wildlife so you can happily let little people run round. There is easy non-road access to the bike path and woodland walks. Unfortunately the weather while we were there wasn't great but having the extra inside space was great. Elke provided everything we needed for chldren- cot, high chair and even a drawer full of toys and books which is great when you are travelling.
All in all a great trip. Really good for families. Its not state of the art but if you want clean, comfortable family accommodation then definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My family and I stayed here a couple months back and loved it. It was quiet, clean and peaceful. It made for a truly memorable vacation. There was proximity to a number of picturesque beaches and was able to watch the sun rise over the ocean in the morning with my son (an early riser) and watch it set in the evening over the bay with my daughter. We brought/made lots of food while there, but there was access to quite a few places to eat as well.

The cottages themselves were very well equipped and were just like mini houses. The layout of the cottages was such that we had our privacy and space but could easily visit with family in the other cottages.

Elke was great, very welcoming, accommodating and quite a good conversationalist!

Bill and family, MA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My wife, daughter and I just returned from an enjoyable week away at the Wheel In Cottages. The cottage itself was immaculate, and had everything you could think of for an enjoyable week away from home. Elke was like a "mom" making sure we had everything we needed... I initially found Wheel In Cottages on the Internet. and I liked what I saw, not only are the Wheel In Cottages centrally located to many of the Cape's best beaches and the National Seashore, there were many other family fun activities close by like the bike path, the Drive-In movie Theater and the Flea Market, Ice cream, Mini-Golf courses, and many great restaurants.

We look forward to returning to Wheel In Cottages for many years to come.

David, Ellen & Sarah Macone
Milford, CT

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

There is still something special about a Cape Cod vacation. Wheel in Cottages is an ideal place from which to explore the Cape. Cottages are spacious, clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed. Elke is a gracious and welcoming host. We found the cottage to be well-located especially for the needs of our family. Beaches, activities, restaurants and amenities are all nearby. Provincetown is less than half and hour away for those in need of some city life. The Cape Cod National Seashore is still gorgeous, and its beaches are so much fun. It is the classic summer holiday – a day at the beach, followed by some ice cream (or fried clam strips!), and a quiet dinner (as quiet as can be with two kids) in a cottage surrounded by pine trees. Kind of hard to beat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Simply the best! The Wheel In Cottages have it all, as far as we're concerned! Elke's loving attention is evident in everything: The beautifully maintained, very clean cottages with super well-equipped kitchens, comfortable furniture, quiet, peaceful surroundings, and abundant natural beauty were just what we were looking for for our early October getaway. Her care and concern for our well-being and comfort during our stay were wonderful, and she really went above and beyond to be sure that we had everything we needed. Her recommendations for restaurants couldn't be beat, and we enjoyed the proximity to the bike path (just a short walk through the woods), the National Seashore, and other local attractions. We are already planning our return visit!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I had gone to my favorite and reliable tripadvisor.com to try to find something perfect for a weekend get-away and came across Wheel-in Cottages. It did sound ideal and when I called the owner, Elke, she told me that she had a weekend cancellation and to come down. It was very short notice and she normally books WAY in advance. I can honestly say I lucked out. The reviews were right on and it was above my expectations. It helped that the weather was gorgeous and it was end of the summer so not huge crowds. We stayed in cabin 1 which was lovely; so clean and well appointed and charming. There were sheets and towels provided but I believe it is only offered for weekend guests and not weekly or longer rentals.

We had breakfast sitting outside on the picnic table, dinner at some local places recommended by Elke; I got my morning run along the bike path which connects to the property and the highlite for us was a lot of biking. This is the PERFECT location for biking. We did the rail trail which is what I also ran on. But my favorite was the trails in Provincetown which go througout the dunes and beaches and are absolutely spectacular. There is also a trail to coast guard beach which is lovely.

It was romantic and peaceful. We certainly hope to get back again and hopefully longer next time. This could not have been a better spot right on route 6 yet secluded and very pretty and private. I hesitate to put another great review out there....knowing it will just make it harder to book next time! But Elke deserves the great publicity. She cerainly made it special for us!

-Dana and Greg/NH

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
0.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#3 of 9 in Eastham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.7 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#2 of 9 in Eastham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheel In Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheel In Cottages

Property: Wheel In Cottages
Address: 5490 State Hwy, Eastham, MA
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Eastham
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our alcove of 3 cottages sits against the National Seashore with access to the Cape Cod bike trail through a private path in the woods. We are within biking distance to several gorgeous beaches including the well known Nauset Light. Local flavor is readily available at homemade ice cream shops and bakeries, brick oven pizza for the whole family, fresh seafood markets, and we are proud neighbors to world famous Wellfleet oysters. Provincetown makes a great day trip for shopping, pirate museum, restaurants and whale watching. We are a community of vibrant nature trails, Audubon sanctuaries, art galleries, rich history, and even a drive-in theater! It's a truly special place and a gem to discover. We have 3 cottages to offer you featuring sunny porches, picnic tables, fully stocked kitchens, privacy, wifi, air conditioning, comfortable beds, and a personal welcome from your host of 43 seasons. Whether you're seeking a romantic getaway, a memorable family vacation, or just an excuse for a sun tan... let us be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheel In Cottages Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing