We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at the Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Oaks
Ranked #1 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thiells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

First upon arrival we found our room to have many earwig bugs on the walls and in our bed.  We ended up having to strip our bed down to clean it out.  Then the following morning we found out that your Bed & breakfast is not in fact a bed and breakfast but an Inn that offers a continental breakfast.  No where on their website did it say this and personally when booking our trip we picked a bed & breakfast b/c of the homemade breakfast and coziness that B&B's usually provide, which the Inn at the oaks did not. When taking our showers we soon learned that the shower in our room was so small and awkward that no matter how hard we tried or what we did we could not keep the water from spilling out onto the floor, so every time we used the shower the floor of the bathroom would flood.

On top of this, on our first morning, we found our car's battery had died. We had jumper cables but needed another car to jump us.  When we went in to speak to the man that was working that morning to ask for help he became very uncomfortable and odd about our request for a jump.  He did end up calling AAA for us but would not offer any explanation as to why he couldn't/wouldn't simply jump our car with his (as his car was parked directly next to ours). I was 7 months pregnant at the time and we waited over an hour for AAA to arrive and in a matter of 2 minutes had jumped our car using a portable batter box. This all seemed very inhospitable and due to the way that the Inn staff member handled the situation made us feel very uncomfortable and he truly made us feel as though we were asking for something illegal and made us very reluctant to ask any further questions during our stay.
Additionally we were disappointed to find that the Inn, while relatively close to the nearby beaches, is not in fact on the beach as the pictures on their website suggests.
At this time I would not recommend this B&B/Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: we stayed in the garden room. It is a decent size w a private enterance which is nice but the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverDanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    58
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
181
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We paid for a deluxe room, but Inn at the Oaks had none available during our limited time frame and so we settled for a "newly renovated" one instead. The room was clean and adequate, but nothing special. The "king" bed was two twins pushed together and made up as one. Our bathroom was down the hall and was supposedly private, but another guest attempted to come in while I was in there. Part of our package included a lunch basket on arrival that was supposed to be "overflowing with local fruits and cheeses." Instead, it had two granola bars, two bags of chips, and two waters. There was a constantly rotating group of people at the front desk, and all were nice but uninformed and unhelpful. They made some suggestions when we asked for dinner and activity recommendations, but none of their advice was very good. We ended up wasting half a day trying to find a beach that was open because nobody bothered to mention that certain beaches on the map they gave us were closed due to bird nesting. Overall we had a fine time in Cape Cod because it was what we made it, but our lodgings did nothing to contribute to our experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrs12shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innattheoaks, Owner at Inn at the Oaks, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
We are very sorry that you find your trip disappointing. As you know, Living Social is a great deal at 50% off your room, there are limitations that go with this offer, including dates and availability. I presume that you opted for the Standard rather than a Deluxe room because this fit your schedule, and the Deluxe Rooms were unavailable.
I hope you were told when you booked the room that the Nauset Room is the only room in the Inn that has a two twin bed/king bed option. There is a 50:50 split as to what our guests prefer, so we make the bed up to each guests request. Sorry also that you found our staff recommendations unhelpful. Three of our four staff have lived in the area for more than 20 years each, so they are informed, but obviously every one has different tastes. One thing I'd like to mention to you, and to any one reading this review, is to please let us know of any problems right away (and of course this would be true at any place you stay). We have only one purpose for running an Inn, which is to make our guests happy. If they are not happy, we try to immediately correct a problem, and if we can't correct it, to make it up to them in some way.
But if we don't know the problems until after you leave, then there isn't too much we can do.
If you would ever care to give us a second chance, please mention your concerns from your previous visit, and I guarantee you will be impressed with how we respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

What a fantastic place to be!
Location is perfect, just a few miles from Coast Guard Beach and Nauset Light Beach (National seashore)

The Inn looks beautiful.
The rooms are beautiful, the garden big and relaxing and we really loved to sit on the veranda and read a book.

The inn keepers are so friendly and helpful. You feel at home right away.

The first 2 nights, we stayed in the Sunset Room, which is beautiful.
For the last night we had to change rooms because the Sunset Room was already booked, and we got the Garden Room. Also perfect! We even had our own fireplace.

Breakfast is great! Not the fat breakfast you get at all other American hotels, but a breakfast with fresh fruitsalad, homemade muffins, toast etc.

We really love the place and we come back if we go to Cape Cod again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afolkertsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Marsha, the head inn-keeper was wonderful, warm, and eager to help us find things to do and make reservations and accommodations. She truly made the trip wonderful. The other staff however, never even introduced themselves. They were polite, but our experience with them was more of a best western or chain hotel than a B & B/inn. Morning breakfast was a continental breakfast, not a traditional B & B hot breakfast. Most rooms do NOT have an attached bath, but a private bath down the hall from the room. The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor and was very small with arched ceilings, but we didn't spend a great deal of time in our room. Rooms and inn was clean and tidy; although, by the 3rd day, I could tell the bathroom floor hadn't been washed for our entire trip. The scenery is picturesque and the porch was the place to be in the early afternoon to enjoy the breeze, sun, and wildlife. Location is perfect--diagonal from the entrance to the national seashore, although during in-season it's probably difficult to get out of the lot or take a left as it's on Rt 6A (the main road in the Cape), but most inns/hotels are on this road as well. Also there is wireless internet and laptop computers available to guests. Overall, we would go back, only if Marsha is still there.

Room Tip: ask for attached bath or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YungCoupl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I spent the weekend here with friends, and it was awesome. Beautiful historic inn, with great wrap-around porch, lovely oaks shading the yard, fireplace crackling on the cool nights--a lot of really nice details, and super friendly staff. I especially appreciated the hospitality, which was a perfect, professional balance between attentiveness and space/privacy. Everyone in our group ended up happy, whether they preferred to hang out at the inn relaxing, or head out for more outdoorsy stuff--the National Seashore visitor center was right across the street, and we went on some great hikes out to the (stunning!) beaches in the area. Cape Cod Rail Trail (plus bike rental place) were right there too, and it's easy to hop on the bike trail and head straight to beaches, Wellfleet, etc., explore more of the Cape. I’m heading back to the inn in August, and can’t wait--a great spot!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I spent a long weekend at the Inn at the Oaks and can't recommend it enough. My friends and I stayed in the (dog friendly) carriage house out back. The rooms were very large and comfortable, and the main house also seemed lovely. We also loved the location. It felt secluded, but was also a very short drive to Wellfleet and Provincetown, and you could walk to a bicycle rental place and great bike trail, and also to a hiking path that led out to Coast Guard Beach. The innkeeper was very friendly and inn was roomy enough for privacy during breakfast, which we liked.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I stayed in the Sail Loft, a spacious and light-filled suite. The room was very clean and very quiet. The staff was friendly and responsive to any request. Breakfast was continental, but high-quality, with a large selection of items. The inn was completely booked, but spacious and quiet enough that at times I felt like I was the only one there. The location is ideal: Eastham alone has 7 or 8 beaches, and it's minutes from Wellfleet, which has excellent restaurants, galleries, more beaches, a drive-in theater, and more. Arnold's, which has the best lobster rolls, is less than a minute away. The inn is also right across from the entrance to Cape Cod's protected national park, which has miles and miles of bike trails, walking paths, wildlife, ponds, kayaking, and more. The visitor's center alone is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Sail loft was quiet, bright, and had private entr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessls87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
2.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
434 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#3 of 9 in Eastham
234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Town Crier Motel
Town Crier Motel
#8 of 9 in Eastham
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
4.2 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Oaks

Property: Inn at the Oaks
Address: 3085 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at the OaksAt The Gateway To The National SeashoreThe Inn at the Oaks is a charming 13 room bed and breakfast located in Cape Cod's historic Eastham, MA. We offer spacious and light-filled accommodations, delicious and nourishing breakfasts, thoughtful amenities, and an unfaltering attention to detail that will ensure your Cape Cod vacation experience will be cherished for years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Oaks Hotel Eastham
Inn At The Oaks Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing