We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring Cape Cod”
Review of Inn at the Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Oaks
Ranked #1 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring Cape Cod”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Inn. We stayed in the Captain room, which was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bath and sink were a bit old and some of the fittings were a bit wobbly, but the room certainly had character. The Inn has a great website that allows you to see the rooms before you book. Breakfast was a very good selection of continental style, and they offered amazing cookies and coffee in the evening. The Inn is on Route 6, so easy to get to and there was plenty of off road parking. There was also a laptop and free wifi available which was a great bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scientesquodcarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    60
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
184
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My family and I stayed at the Inn for 2 nights. After our wonderful experience, the next visit will be longer. You walk into the Inn and it seems your body goes into relax mode immediately. The people are fantastic, kind and helpful with a ready smile and any advice that you could need. You couldn't ask for a more homey atmosphere. Attention to detail is everywhere. The beautiful furniture, cable TV, 2 armoires (how nice to not have to figure out creative ways to store your clothes!), a refrigerator in the room, the wonderful breakfast, the amazing cookies (every afternoon!) and the beautifully kept grounds all add to the experience. The location is also fantastic. We took a 30 minute drive to Provincetown with its many fun shops and ate a lovely meal on the water. What a view! I would recommend the Inn at the Oaks to anyone who wants a relaxing, stress-free get away!

Room Tip: Each room is lovely. I would check the web site to see the various rooms and sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Located right on route 6 in the middle of the Cape and close to Nauset, Coast Guard and Marconi ocean side beaches, the Inn at the Oaks is run by wonderful, friendly people who are quick and efficient. There was no AC in our room, though I believe some of the other rooms have that. We had a fan. It was alright for us, since we stayed in the beginning of September when the weather was much cooler. There were freshly baked DELICIOUS cookies everyday in the living room, along with coffee. Available ALL DAY! FOR FREE! When we woke up we could smell the cookies baking. The continental breakfast was the usual stuff: cereal, bagels/toast/english muffins, fruit salad, whole fruit, juice, coffee, etc. BUT there was also freshly baked coffee cake- and it was out of this world! We enjoyed our breakfasts on the patio outside.

Despite being right on the busy route 6, the Inn at the Oaks was super quiet. It was such a nice escape, we could have just hung out around the inn for the 2 days we were there! but we ended up making the 30 min drive up to Provincetown to walk around; spending some time at Coast Guard beach, and while we didn't make it to the Wellfleet drive in movie theater (15 min away on Rt 6), it's on the to do when we definitely come back!

In fact,, we had such a nice time that we decided to make it an annual tradition!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retrojayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The inn is a beautiful and historical family house transformed into a B&B.

We loved how spacious it was, there is plenty of room for everyone to read/eat breakfast peacefully. It is very quiet and calm, with classical music playing in the background. You feel at home right away !

We slept very well and enjoyed a good breakfast (fruit salad, english muffins, bagels, great coffee and tea) with other travelers staying in the inn. The owner was kind in giving us advice about what to visit (there are a lot of beautiful beaches nearby).
The price is definitely reasonable for the comfort we got in return.

We recommend the Inn at the Oaks: great location (next to National Seashore), rates, comfort, and coffee !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibouxquivoyagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed two nights at The Oaks, a terrific historic inn located just outside the entrance to the National Seashore Visitor's Center, and would definitely recommend checking this place out. From what I understand, a new owner has just taken over recently and he & his staff seem to know what they're doing. Our room was clean, nicely done, neither too cluttered (as sometimes B&B's can be) but had definite character and charm, while the staff were knowledgeable, friendly, and a great asset to this gem of a place - we never felt crowded or pestered, but someone always seemed to be available when we needed directions, tips, or suggestions about the area.

For location, charm, cleanliness and friendliness, I don't think you'll find a better place on the Cape.

Room Tip: For the quietest room, ask about the carriage house - that's where I stayed ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We really enjoyed this lovely, friendly inn. The first surprise was how secluded it felt. It is right on a main road but well set back and very private. The inn is a lovely old home that has been recently redone. The rooms had lovely vintage furniture but none of the frou-frou that often overwhelms B&Bs. Everything felt fresh and clean.

Most of the first floor was given over to common areas - three very nicely decorated parlors and several eating areas. Breakfast is a simple serve yourself affair which may disappoint those who want an elaborate B&B breakfast event. It was fine for us. There are pastries, bagels, fruit, cereals, juice and good coffee and you can come down when you want and sit where you want. It is convenient for families and other travelers who don't want to be too scheduled or just prefer a simpler meal in the morning.

This is a great place to just chill, but there is also wifi throughout and a nice little flat screen TV in the room for those who want to stay connected.

To top it off, the owners and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbgtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at Inn at the Oaks last week. We loved the location, near the National Seashore and the bike trail. I The common areas were tastefully decorated with very comfortable couches. There were lots of nooks and crannies to provide privacy if you wanted to sit alone and eat breakfast or read at night. The porch was nice and spacious. There was always someone at the desk to answer questions.
The breakfast was adequate and I liked the coffee; my biggest peeve at B&Bs is weak coffee. I did not mind that it was not a hot breakfast and I liked that it was self-service.
We stayed in the Seacrest room. The bed was comfortable The room was sparsely decorated. The lighting was poor, with not enough light to comfortably read in bed. The "nautical" decorations were not present as described. There were no curtains on the windows, just plain blinds. The bathroom was poorly planned. The shower was very small. The closet was small as well.
I would go back because of the location, ambiance and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innattheoaks, Owner at Inn at the Oaks, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write about the things that you liked, and even the things that you didn't like. After reading your review, I immediately went up to the Seacrest Room and tried to remedy your concerns. I put in another reading lamp by the bed, and put up some nice pictures and, as you suggested, added some nautical touches. We had recently repainted the room, and you rightly pointed out that it needed some finishing touches. Unfortunately there is not much we can do about the layout of the bathroom. In an old house, some of the bathrooms are small and some are large. Each room is a little different. If you come back, let me suggest the Sunset Room, one of my favorites, which is larger, filled with light, and has a bigger bathroom. Or the Captain's Room which also has a nice size bathroom and a soaking tub. The Henry Beston is also a great suite; with two rooms and one and a half baths.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
5.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
2.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
4.2 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
408 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Oaks

Property: Inn at the Oaks
Address: 3085 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at the OaksAt The Gateway To The National SeashoreThe Inn at the Oaks is a charming 13 room bed and breakfast located in Cape Cod's historic Eastham, MA. We offer spacious and light-filled accommodations, delicious and nourishing breakfasts, thoughtful amenities, and an unfaltering attention to detail that will ensure your Cape Cod vacation experience will be cherished for years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Oaks Hotel Eastham
Inn At The Oaks Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing