We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Inn at the Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Oaks
Ranked #1 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here for the first time in November. Our room was the Garden Room, which is located on the first floor of the inn, about 10 feet away from the dining room. Please be aware that this is the room where everyone eats their continental breakfast starting at 7:30 am, so if you are planning to rest and relax then this is not the room to do it in. We were not very impressed with this because there is no mention of how close the room is situated to a common room and the dining room that can be quite noisy at times. The room is also advertised as having a private porch that was not the case with us. Haha. We went out one morning with our coffee to sit and read the paper on our "private porch outside of our private entrance" only to find other patrons of the inn sitting right outside of our room on the chairs that I am assuming were for our use on our private porch...Hardly the case. The only upside to our stay here was having the fireplace in the room which we enjoyed. The room was very small and the bathroom, namely the sink area and the shower, were too small for my wife who is 5'1" 115 pds let alone me who is 6' 200 pds. Maybe it would have been better if we stayed in another room, but overall our experience was subpar and wouldn't consider staying there again. Pro's: friendly staff, afternoon cookies, central location. Con's: noisy, no privacy, small room and bathroom(Garden Room)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CRNP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at the Oaks just before Thanksgiving. We wanted to go somewhere and "recharge our batteries", just the two of us, before the start of the hectic holiday season. We could not have picked a better place. As an assistant manager of an Inn, I am always looking to perfect the details and enhance the guests experience, the staff here really did that well. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Dan who offered us cookies and coffee (available each afternoon), gave us a tour, and told us about breakfast and the Inn's amenities then showed us to our lovely suite in the Carriage House. Along the way we met Larry, the owner, who was very pleasant and genuine.

We chose the Tack Room for our stay. The three suites in the Carriage House are pet friendly with private entrances to each of the lower level suites, as well as access to a small shared kitchenette. Our suite was roomy, clean and fresh. We toured the other suites in the Carriage House, I could not tell that they were pet friendly rooms. (I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the entire inn as I was a professional housekeeper for close to 20 years.) The bed was very comfortable, the rooms were nicely furnished and decorated, and we really enjoyed the privacy of the Carriage House.

In the morning we were greeted in the dinning room by Sam, the manager, with fresh coffee and a beautiful continental breakfast that included fresh fruit salad, hot and cold cereal, an array of bakery items and a warm friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed sitting at the large table and talking with Sam and some of the other guests.

The Inn's location is ideal for us. The walking/bicycle trails are right outside the driveway and the entrance to the Cape Cod National Seashore is across the street. (According to Yahoo Travel, Coastguard Beach is one of the countries top 10 beaches.) We had beautiful weather for 2 of the 3 days and were able to really enjoy the beach and trails. The one day that it rained we enjoyed leisurely checking out the few shops and stores that are year round. We actually got some great bargains and a relaxing start on our holiday shopping. (We only visit the Cape during off-season now that our son is grown.)

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning with friends and family, and of course, just by ourselves.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the privacy of the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel is right by the Cape Cod rail trail bicyle path, with a bike rental shop right round the corner, making it a perfect spot for the trail. Its also very close to first encounter beach and the National Sea Shore.

Service was great throughout our stay. House is lovely lots of great communal rooms for relaxing in, beautifully decorated throughout. We stayed in the Sunrise room - which is a good size and has a lovely comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonM_and_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

As an innkeeper, it was nice to take a break and finally stay at a bed and breakfast. Although different from ours, the inn was lovely and the staff efficent. I was a little leary of a continental breakfast, but it was ample and tasty. Everthing was comfortable and I came back with ideas for my own inn. While in Eastham for a wedding, I visited my friends who had a room at the local hotel. I was so glad I decided to stay at the inn--I am now hooked! No more motels for me!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mammabell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at the Inn at the Oaks mid-October 2011 - a beautiful time to visit the Cape if you like to bicycle! The location is perfect - almost across the street from the entrance to the Cape Cod National Seashore; also only a couple of miles from a movie theater and many good restaurants. The room was comfortable and there were several different "living rooms" on the first floor - so if your group wants its own space for cocktails or whatever, you could find it. I would have given it 5 stars if it had a hot breakfast. The breakfast was fine - fresh fruit salad, selection of several cold cereals, packets for instant oatmeal, bagels and toast, yogurt - but we would have preferred eggs or pancakes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lschroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have been to Cape Cod often but never in the fall. Luckily we got to stay at The Inn at the Oaks this past November weekend and it was glorious. The staff was superb, the room was totally comfortable and had all the amenities we need/enjoy. Breakfast was yummy and generous. We got to take a long walk on the empty and beautiful beach and then return to the warmth and comfort of this lovely Victorian inn which is beautifully furnished but not overdone. Got great recommendations for restaurants and was pleased that so many were open after the season. We even enjoyed the selection of games which we used one evening! We stay at a lot of B&B's and inns and this one is truly noteworthy. We just went as a couple for this trip but the place is well-suited for families so we plan to return with our kids (and our dog) in the near future.

Room Tip: The website was helpful and accurate...there should be no problem in choosing a room. We got to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldoggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Inn at the Oaks in September 2011. Booked online -- easy.

Arrived to find a beautiful property set back from the road but still convenient to everything. Checked in, our room was ready early and it was charming in every detail. We stayed in the Henry Beston suite, a two room space with en suite bathroom which featured a delightfully deep clawfoot tub. We had a very comfy king sized bed with lots of pillows of various firmness. The bedroom had a half bath and the full bath was off the sitting room which also had a mini fridge, a microwave, a desk and chair and a chair-and-a-half/mini futon that could have been a second bed for a child.

Our hosts were friendly, helpful and exactly the blend of visible and invisible that you dream of finding. They didn't hassle or intrude but were always available to provide directions, helpful tips or a referral to anything you may have wanted to do.

We didn't bring our dog, but they do have dog-friendly and kid-friendly suites that can accommodate up to I think 6 people.

We look forward to returning to this lovely Inn for longer stay. It's romantic, quiet, peaceful and perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMurphySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
5.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
2.0 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
2.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
264 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Oaks

Address: 3085 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range: £61 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at the OaksAt The Gateway To The National SeashoreThe Inn at the Oaks is a charming 13 room bed and breakfast located in Cape Cod's historic Eastham, MA. We offer spacious and light-filled accommodations, delicious and nourishing breakfasts, thoughtful amenities, and an unfaltering attention to detail that will ensure your Cape Cod vacation experience will be cherished for years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at the Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Oaks Hotel Eastham
Inn At The Oaks Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing