We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”
Review of Inn at the Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Oaks
Ranked #1 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a night in summer 2012 and it was wonderful! The staff was super friendly, the house is gorgeous, and the location is incredibly convenient and just a 5-minute drive from several nice beaches. We stayed in the Overlook Room on the third floor, which is one of the standard size rooms and was plenty large for us and has a skylight that lets in a lot of natural light. It has a private bathroom three steps down the hall which was also very nice. The house itself is pretty large with lots of sitting rooms and porches on the first floor. Everything is air-conditioned (even the third floor on a hot evening was very comfortably cool!) and very clean and neat. FYI, the breakfast is not a hot-cooked-to order thing, but they do have a wide selection of fruit, yogurt, baked goods, etc. and everything was good. The best part is that the price was incredibly reasonable! It was only about $30/night more expensive than most of the dingy motels we were looking at and I couldn't have asked for a better stay! Definitely will go back when we get the chance, and would strongly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonErnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a delightful time at the Inn at the Oaks. Beautiful room (Sunset room) thoroughly modern facilities, yet a feeling of old-time Cape Cod. Breakfasts offer a choice of a common table or lots of remote tables in the two living rooms for privacy, or a shaded table outside. Breakfast is presided over by Samantha, boubless source of energy, food, and information about the Cape and things to do. The bedding deserves a sepcial note, multi layers of sheets, coverlets, cover, blanket, so you can get exactly the amount of warmth or cool you need, depending on the weather.
This location between Chatham and Wellfleet is also ideal, a quick drive in either direction gets you to the Audobon Center, National Seashore beaches, the restaurants of Wellfleet, or the shops of Chatham. A short walk away is an excellent bike rental, and entrance to the Cape's bike trail.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The room is a bit small, but it is a B&B, so it is quite expected. The oak room and overlook room on the third floor are with separate private bathroom. It means the bathroom is not in your room, but it is not shared with other guests. Very clean and nice. We are happy with everything. Feels like a home, in stead of a hotel. The backyard is big. Plenty space for parking. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innattheoaks, General Manager at Inn at the Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. You are correct Oak and Overlook are small, they are our smallest rooms. They are two of our three standard rooms, meaning they are smaller and have private baths across the hallway, but still very lovely rooms.

The best compliment you can give an Inn is that we are clean - so thank you very much for that - my housekeepers are hard workers and we would be lost without them - the unsung heroes of the business.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Samantha
Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This would be my third stay at this Inn but probably my last. New ownership had an opportunity to improve on the attention to detail so missing previously. Instead, the experience has actually deteriorated in my opinion. We booked at the Inn at the Oaks because we needed the space available with the Sail Loft Suite and my preferred Inn was booked. No longer are there kitchen utensils, no grill, no cups, plates nothing. The Inn was kind enough to lend us a pot and pan for our fish which we fried instead. The Sail Loft sleeps 8, however upon making the reservation on the phone, a female manager says we must pay an extra $35 for each person per night greater than two people. Huh? We passed on the Sail Loft initially and kept the Beachcomber. Only upon check in did the current male manager approve my upgrade (an additional $30/night) to the Sail Loft without the extra person charges as it wasn't booked anyway. Many former reviewers here evidently have never experienced a first class hospitality act which requires attention to detail. Here, the lawn was not cut, two bath towels for three people, a crusty old wash cloth left behind the shower curtain, no mirror in front of the sink, leaves and water all over the deck furniture, mold and rot on the deck rails and out buildings. Where was the swing and the horseshoe pit former guests had enjoyed? The continental breakfast was fine but the former owners cooked to order for you and took the time to socialize. Only thing that really has improved is the price...up.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PZFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was not our first stay here, but was our first since its new ownership. Although we missed the previous owners' hospitality, we totally enjoyed our stay, and the new management. We did miss a hot breakfast, but can't say there wasn't enough to eat at the Continental breakfast, and the fresh-bakedscones, muffins and cake, together with delicious coffee, yogurts and fresh fruit salad certainlly constitute a breakfast! Not to mention the available fruitbowl,lovely afternoon cookies and localy roasted Beanstock coffee. The Inn's locaion is ideal, so near the entrance to the National Seashore, and convenient to a conference my husband attends often in Eastham. Our room, this year a small suite on the second floor was comfortable, and even though faced the front of the Inn, Rte. 6 traffic is far enough away not to be at all intrusive. The inn is large, quiet, with plenty of access to private "reading" nooks, even in all the many public spaces. Full guest access to a fridge for one's own stash of lunch or leftovers, cold drinking water and tea are appreciated. The shower in our suite, an add-on to an old tub bath, could be improved, tho. We will certainly return to this Inn!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Kelly, who checked us in and gave us a tour, is extremely friendly and welcoming. She gave us great tips about places to visit in Wellfleet, made friendly conversation, and radiated happy vibes. The inn is very dog-friendly and has a nice, shady backyard for dogs to run around. This is a good thing for animal lovers, but would probably irritate those who can't stand any sort of barking. There's also lots of space for kids to play, tables for picnic, and tetherball. Tetherball!

The indoor areas have plenty places to sit, read, and relax. In the parlor are cookies and lemonade (unusually flavored with banana chunks) for the guests. On the second floor, there's a pleasant patio.

We stayed in the Willow Room, which is on the third floor. I noticed that the other two rooms on the third floor had bathrooms in the hall. Our bathroom was inside our room, but it was a squeeze to get in the shower. The sink, a quaint faucet connected to an antique bowl atop a wooden cabinet, was located outside the bathroom. It worked fine. The odd thing about the room was that it had no curtains, no blinds, nothing. It's not like anyone can see you-- the view outside is trees, trees, and more trees--but the morning light was merciless. I wasn't able to sleep past six. Also, for all you journal writers out there, this room has no desk. Otherwise, the room was quite comfortable for our short stay.

I was a bit disappointed that they had nothing hot for breakfast except for coffee, which was actually pretty good. The cake, toast, scones, yogurt, and fruit was serviceable but both the cake and scones were a bit too sweet for my taste.

Overall, a nice place to stay on the Cape... especially for dogs and families. Also helps that it's very close to my husband's favorite restaurant: Arnold's.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

5/13/12
My wife and I stayed ai the "Inn at the oaks: this mother's day weekend, and we had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful victorian style inn, that is is great shape. We stayed in the "Garden Room" which is the only guest room on the 1st floor of the main house. We had a separate entrance, besides the entrance from the parlor, also had a setting porch all to ourselfs. There was a delightfull contentinal breakfast each morning, with lots of pipping hot joe to enjoy!
This weekend most of the attractions and resturants on the cape, and in the imediate area of the inn were just opening for the season, so there were tons of things to do and places to go for dinner. We also took advantage of the inn's location to the cape bike trail, to streatch our bike legs( probably to far, we did 22 miles).
The staff was wonderful, very helpful in locating places to enjoy a quick bite, and in locating antiquing places to scrounge thru.
We also traveled with our two small dogs( our children), and the inn and staff were just so nice and hospitable towards our little ones.
We are already planning our next visit, probably later in september or early october, to checkout the fall season.

Room Tip: The garden room is very cozy for an intimate get-a-way with your spouse, spacious setting porch, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastham hotels
2.0 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Eastham
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town Crier Motel
Town Crier Motel
#6 of 9 in Eastham
225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#2 of 9 in Eastham
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Oaks

Address: 3085 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range: £61 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at the OaksAt The Gateway To The National SeashoreThe Inn at the Oaks is a charming 13 room bed and breakfast located in Cape Cod's historic Eastham, MA. We offer spacious and light-filled accommodations, delicious and nourishing breakfasts, thoughtful amenities, and an unfaltering attention to detail that will ensure your Cape Cod vacation experience will be cherished for years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Oaks Hotel Eastham
Inn At The Oaks Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing