We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”
Review of Inn at the Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Oaks
Ranked #1 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I am so disappointed in the Inn at the Oaks.

Let me preface by saying the woman I spoke with was quite knowledgeable in assisting me with Living Social deal I found for the time period in September we were looking to be on the Cape. $249.00 for two nights, and only a $50.00 pet fee, to me seemed like a great deal and I was excited to book.

However, after having further discussion with Mary and confirming the dates we wanted to stay were available, she told me my 9 month old daughter was not allowed at the B & B.

I'm baffled. I had not even thought to see if there was a policy on children at such a “family friendly” inn.

Her reason was that babies cry and babies scream and that this is common practice at B&B's. We have had only one other experience with a B&B and all members of the family were allowed, so I guess we are inexperienced here. But come on, not allowing a baby who sleeps in the parent’s bed with them, crazy. We have not had a single pleasure trip since before she was born and have no desire to go away without her. According to their policy, once she is 5 she will be allowed, which amuses me because the only time you hear our daughter is when she is laughing. Most 5 year olds I know make much more noise than a laughing infant.
The policy also mentions that very few of their rooms accommodate more than two guests, which is another reason for the no babies’ policy. However, the suites that are pet friendly and where we would be staying sleep up to 6. Not to mention, our daughter sleeps in bed with us so we would require no more than one king bed.

When I said to Mary, “What would have happened if I never mentioned my daughter on the phone, whether on purpose or just because it did not come up?”, she stated that when they saw us arrive with her we would have been charged “about” $150.00. Where in the policy does it state an associated fee to showing up with a child under 5 and also, how does paying that dollar amount affect the amount of noise said child omits? Not to mention the arbitrary “about” $150.00. Do they make up the fee on the spot?

I am extremely disappointed in the Inn at the Oaks policy and they have forever lost my business and the business of my travel happy friends. Regardless of whether or not we are travelling with a child, without, or when she reaches their acceptable age of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lionspurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innattheoaks, Manager at Inn at the Oaks, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your comments on our "family friendly" policy. We recently changed this policy by adding an age limit for our family travelers. We debated this issue for almost a year. We took into consideration the comments and complaints of many guests over the past several years.
While we still strive to be a family friendly inn we also need to accommodate our guests who are having a quiet getaway.
Lots of guests have said that the Inn at the Oaks has a special feel to her and we agree. She is a beautiful old building, lovingly built by Captain Barnabus Chipman for his family in the 1870’s. Most of the original building’s interior; walls, floors, ceilings, and some windows are still from the 1870’s and we like to think that is what makes her so special.
Unfortunately these walls, floors and ceilings are not sound-proofed the way a new hotel would be and the unfortunate fact is that even a happy giggly baby awake at 4am can easily wake up three, four and sometimes more rooms.
Our new policy of accommodating children 5 and over allows us to be family friendly to all our travelling families as well as the families that are travelling for a quiet get away from their family.
We will continue to firm up this policy over the next year. We will honor our commitment to our guests who booked with us prior to August 1, 2013. Also during this time any bookings through third-party sites and bookings with "forgotten" children will not be charged any 'arbitrary' additional fees, our policies are written very clearly on our website for all our guests to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    60
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
185
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Inn at the Oaks in July and were very happy with everything. The location -- very near the Cape Cod National Seashore entrance - is perfect for spending time at the beach, and the Inn itself is quiet, cool, comfortable and perfectly clean. We loved it and plan to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmdonnelly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was a perfect inn. We stayed in the Sail Loft Suite, located in e Carriage House behind the Inn. The room was divided creatively with sails, and very comfortably accommodated two children, a mother and a grandmother. Our room had a small deck with a table and 4 chairs and was delightfully cool and shaded, even during the hottest part of the day.

The inn keepers were friendly and available for questions, recommendation, etc. Coffee and cookies were available all day long.

The Inn is perfectly located, across from the Salt Pond Visitor Center to theNational Seashore; the beach a mere 5 minute drive..or a short bicycle ride away. It is situated at the beginning of the outer cape..also near the Audubon Center which is fantastic and perhaps one of the hidden gems of the Cape.

I highly recommend Inn at the Oaks and hope one day to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JREISKIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Inn at the Oaks is a lovely old Cape Cod house transformed into a very comfortable guest house. Our room was large with old antique furniture which really suited the room.
We loved the juice, coffee and cookies available every afternoon, just what you wanted after a beach walk.
The staff were friendly and some very chatty, happy to advise on walks and suggest places to visit.
It was a good position to tour all over the cape although Eastham itsn't very interesting. My favourite place was Chatham, charm and lovely shops though pricey.
I would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and we didn't want to leave! The Lighthouse Suite was absolutely perfect for us. It sat in the back and had its own little deck. I loved the sitting room and the way it was decorated. I would sit at the table at night to journal. It was so cozy and comfy! I am a freak about cleanliness and this room was immaculate! The breakfast was awesome and just right. Not too fancy and you can choose what you wanted. The staff was super nice especially Kelly. We couldn't have had a better room or a better stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunniedaze07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Inn at the Oaks for a weekend in July while visiting our daughter at camp and could not have made a better choice. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful from the start, making excellent dining recommendations and helping us to organize a bike rental (3 mins walk away), with which we were then able to hit the famed and beautiful Cape bike trails. The grounds and building are lovely, and while conveniently located right off the main Cape Route 6, the Inn is set back sufficiently so that it feels quite removed. Even though the B&B was full while we were there, it never felt so -- I had to work one evening, and had one of the parlor rooms entirely to myself. There are lovely touches, such as the afternoon tea (with delicious home-made cookies), a small gift shop with locally produced crafts and foods, and great flexibility on the part of the staff (guests are welcome to use fridge, microwave, and the Inn's table settings to bring in their own meals, drinks, etc). We stayed in the Sunset room, which was very nice and has an extremely comfortable king bed; the bathroom, though basic, was perfectly clean and well-supplied with amenities. Two observations, neither of which marred our stay: the AC is centrally regulated, and on occasion was a little too cool (the staff quickly remedied this with an additional blanket) and the walls in the main house seem a little thin (that said, I'm typically a very light sleeper, but somehow was not disturbed by some carried sound). Word must be out about this place -- half of the guests while we were there were from overseas! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inviaggio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The place is lovely and the grounds are beautiful, the people were friendly, the continental breakfast was fine, We made two mistakes when we booked this place: 1) not asking if the "private" bathroom was en-suite (it wasn't), and 2) booking a third floor room. The room was very very small which would have been ok, but my 6'2" husband could not stand up because of the sloping ceiling, and neither could I, at 5'5". In fact the only place one could have stood upright was right over the bed. The room had a small desk, but was too tiny to accommodate even a straight backed chair. It's possible other third-floor rooms don't have sloping ceilings. The down-the-hall bathroom was right at the edge of the stairway...beware if you have to use it when you're half asleep. Having said all that negative stuff, the building is really nice, old but well kept. The resident manager had broken her foot but was still very accommodating and her cookies, served in the afternoon were terrific.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about en-suite baths, private baths aren't necessarily in your room. Don't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotaVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
5.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
2.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
408 reviews
4.0 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
2.0 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Oaks

Property: Inn at the Oaks
Address: 3085 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at the OaksAt The Gateway To The National SeashoreThe Inn at the Oaks is a charming 13 room bed and breakfast located in Cape Cod's historic Eastham, MA. We offer spacious and light-filled accommodations, delicious and nourishing breakfasts, thoughtful amenities, and an unfaltering attention to detail that will ensure your Cape Cod vacation experience will be cherished for years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Oaks Hotel Eastham
Inn At The Oaks Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing