We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at the Oaks - Family room”
Review of Inn at the Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Oaks
Ranked #1 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Inn at the Oaks - Family room”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in a family room that was advertised as a room for 4 people which really isn't the case. It is a 3 person max. The room was in a separate renovated building (outhouse) which was ok but somewhat small (for 4 people). Advertising the room for 4 is somewhat of an exaggeration and really should be modified.

Bed and sleep were fine, breakfast was good (in the main house) so all in all positive.
Wireless did not work very well and this needs to be dealt with (on a permanent basis) rather than telling guests that it doesn't work well because someone touched it or there are too many people using it.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innattheoaks, General Manager at Inn at the Oaks, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comments.

If you don't mind I am going to use your review as a public service announcement for guests who book through "third-party sites" like you did. We have 4 Suites that accommodate anywhere from 2 to 6 guests. When you booked through Booking.com the information you gave to Booking.com and then they gave to us only mentioned 2 guests so we put you in a Suite that is more than comfortable for 2 guests. On arrival you showed up with two handsome and tall boys. Putting 4 adults in that Suite is a very tight fit, unfortunately we did not know you were going to be four adults, had we known we have a very large Suite we would have put you in and you would have been more than comfortable. Unfortunately with the 'third party booking sites' this happens a lot. People search for the best dates with the best rates and forget to update the number of people to be in the room as they hop from one site to another looking for the best deal.

The Wi-Fi has been fixed, occasionally we get guests who think by pushing the re-set button they are helping us when in fact they just removed that particular airport from the system. It happens about once a year. We have tried hiding the Airport but it reduces the range and determined guests seem to find it every time.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    61
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
192
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Centrally located on Route 6 in Eastham, MA, the Inn at the Oaks was an exceptional experience for my husband and I.

A beautifully restored Captain's residence, the Inn at the Oaks provided a relaxing stay filled with extras that delighted us every day.

I first want to mention the simplest thing - the water. We filled our glasses straight from the faucet and it was actually delicious. The seond thing that really made a difference to us was the quality of the towels. They were so plush I felt they were brand new.

The bedding was of high quality as were the rooms furnishings. We had a large room that was just beautifully decorated and comfortable to be in after a long day at the beach or biking the CC Rail Trail.

The room comes with a continental breakfast every day. The staff was there, prepared and replenishing everything all the time. Big bowls of fresh fruit, muffins, breads and cereals and great coffee. We had the chance to see many of the guests at this time of day and the rooms where breakfast was held included several tables, a living room and many areas - both inside and out .

The downstairs of the inn includes a lovely one of a kind gift shop and a living room area that has books, magazines and historical documents about Cape Cod. In the afternoon a large pitcher of lemonade, a carafe of fresh coffee and cookies await your return from your day's activities. Thoughtful and delicious.

The staff was just above the rest. Pleasant and informative as well as easy-going.

The Rail Trail was about 1 block away and a beach trail was across the street. Perfect. Coast Guard Beach was right down the road as well as most restaurants.

I can not say enough about this experience. I encourage you to check it out.

Joanne and Ed Kenna

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

THE BEDS: A party of 6 of us (3 couples) stayed in the Sailor's Suite - which has a ginormous King Bed - that was amazingly comfortable, a pull out couch, which was so uncomfortable, one of the girlfriends took the other twin, and two twins - which one couple crammed into.

THE ROOM: It's an extremely cute room on the top floor of the cottage by the main house - Large and spacious which was nice - one bathroom (so that was tough) of which smelled a bit mildew-y as there's no protective inner shower curtain. There's a mini fridge. And a dining room table - I wish they provided 2 more chairs since there was 6 of us total. Wifi never worked for us, but we were mostly traveling/biking so it didn't bother anyone too much.

DOG FRIENDLY: One of my friends brought a dog and this was a dog friendly establishment and he had a ball! There are doggy poop bags and trash in the yard. And they leave treats in the room.

BREAKFAST: No hot/salty foods. So if you need eggs and bacon, you won't find it here. They do provide an assortment of fruit, cereal, juice/milk, bread/englishmuffins/bagels, yogurt. All healthy and good.

LOCATION: This is an ideal location if you're exploring the Cape. It's a half hour drive to Provincetown and a half hour drive to Chatham in the other direction. And it's smack in the middle of the Cape Code Bike Trail. There are no bikes at the Inn, but there's a bike shop a block away. The bike trail itself is extremely easy, it's when you veer off to try to get to say, PJ's Family Restaurant, or you veer off and go to a beach, that you may encounter some steeper climbs. Stay committed though, it's all a great workout, and everything's beautiful!

STAFF: Staff was extremely helpful with all questions we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The house had a beautiful historic feeling to it. We stayed in one of the 3rd floor rooms without an attached bath. The staff had warned us that it might get too hot, but the temperature was perfect. The staff here had more of a quiet, professional demeanor compared to other B&Bs that we had stayed in. The house was within a short drive of several beaches and a grocery store. Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have an attached bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JsonJson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Charming Victorian inn with a carriage house. We had a lovely stay in early May and were able to travel from one end of the Cape to other...reliving all my childhood memories. Our room was in the Carriage House and was very comfortable, with a table for eating. A welcoming handwritten note was left on our bed, along with a coupon for an area restaurant and poster highlighting writers from Cape Cod. If I stay again I would request the main house to eliminate the walk to the common rooms and coffee/tea that is always available in the main house. The breakfast was cereal/scones/fruit/beverages; just enough to get us started for the day ahead. There are lovely grounds to enjoy and relax...a perfect spot to enjoy all the highlights of the Cape.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The staff were very attentive. We had the Garden Room which is the only room on the first floor and has its own entrance door to the outside and a verandah. I was a bit concerned that the room is straight off the dining area but there was little noise at all. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was advertised as "compact" and that was no understatement however that was small price for the positives of that room. Breakfast was continental but extensive. We would certainly stay there anytime we are on Cape Cod.
The location is great as it is only 30 mins from Provincetown and a little less to Monomoy/Chatham. The only minor issue is turning into the inn coming from the south on highway 6 during the height of the season as 6 gets very busy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent two nights here for the first time.. Bought a Living Social deal and was afraid we might get the worst room. We were pleasantly surprised that we had the best room. There were only two of us, but the Sail Loft room could sleep six. It had a mini fridge, microwave sink and the best part was a nice private deck with a table and chairs looking at the beautiful grounds. Our room was located in a back building behind the beautiful Victorian Inn. Would like better lighting in the bathroom.. The Staff was most helpful and even loaned us beach chairs. Coffee, cookies and lemonade were always available in one of the parlors The breakfast was great for us - best coffee,, juices, fruit, cereal and the freshest baked scones, muffins, bagels and toast. Beautiful areas to eat at inside and out..Loved the firepit area at night. There is no pool, but you are one mile to Coast Guard Beach and the bike path goes right there.. Besides the beach - nice hikes with beautiful views of the ocean and marshes and we took a boat excursion to Monomoy and had hundreds of seals swimming around us and shore birds nesting with some chicks running about. We had perfect weather, which helped too. Yes this is an annual event from now on!!

Room Tip: The back building has three rooms and would be perfect for a family gathering. We had the top one S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddies109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
5.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
2.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
2.0 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Oaks

Property: Inn at the Oaks
Address: 3085 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at the OaksAt The Gateway To The National SeashoreThe Inn at the Oaks is a charming 13 room bed and breakfast located in Cape Cod's historic Eastham, MA. We offer spacious and light-filled accommodations, delicious and nourishing breakfasts, thoughtful amenities, and an unfaltering attention to detail that will ensure your Cape Cod vacation experience will be cherished for years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Oaks Hotel Eastham
Inn At The Oaks Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing