We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the pool in the photos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield,NH
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the pool in the photos”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Beautiful sunny days did not find us lounging by this green and murky pea soup pool. Totally disgusting and in my mind not safe to use. The ground s were well kept so couldn't understand why the pool was in such poor shape. Also, it would be great if the cleaning staff washed the grimy fingerprints from the doors. They were really dirty and it made you wonder how much care was given to the overall cleaning of rooms. Never had such old scratchy bath towels. Not ever planning a return trip . Too bad because the location was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank NHBahamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    45
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we enjoyed our stay here. Quiet, clean, comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. A real value for the Cape and close to everything. The only dossier is that the walls are a bit thin and you could hear the next door TV very clearly. But we weren't in the room except to sleep and we always bring was earplugs when we travel!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I recently stayed at Viking Shores Motor Lodge in Eastham. I've been staying in Eastham with my Family since I was a kid, but this summer I decided I wanted to bring my sister and her friends to the Cape for a separate trip. When looking for hotel accommodations, I came across Viking Shores, and I was very impressed with their prices. For our group of six, we had to get two rooms, and Viking Shores was the best price I found. In addition, I was very happy to find that they, unlike other places, allowed a two night minimum. Upon checking in, I was even more pleased with the choice. The two rooms were very clean, smelled fresh, and the set up was perfect for our needs. In addition, the shower and toilet looked new, and we loved that there was a vanity with sink and mirror outside of the toilet area. The rooms had a small closet, desk and chair, table and two chairs, TV, two double beds, and a dresser with a mirror. The room also had a small fridge which was very useful for storing waters. I was surprised with how comfortable the beds were, but all of us agreed that we slept extremely well. One of the best things about the hotel is the pool. It looks very new, had nice seating, was extremely clean, and was kept a comfortable temperature. Also on the property are a variety of grills and picnic tables, which we saw people using to cook dinner. The staff was very nice, and although it's not a big fancy hotel, we loved the family feel of the place. When we needed more towels, someone brought them to our door, and if we had any questions about anything, they were more than helpful. They even have english muffins, toast, munchkins, juice, and coffee in the main office area every morning from 7-10, which was really nice. Lastly, being six girls, safety was a concern when booking our hotel, but we felt very comfortable and safe at Viking Shores. Overall, the only negative thing I have to say about Viking Shores is that I was disappointed that the Wifi wasn't working from our room during our stay, but they did have a computer we were allowed to use up in the office area. Also, I wish the lighting had been a little brighter in the rooms, but it wasn't a big issue. It's nothing fancy, but this place is in a great convenient location, its clean, and most importantly, gives a lot of value for the great price. I would definitely return and recommend to friends looking for a cost effective place to stay during their vacation.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in a room on the end of either of the buildings for the most quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

After a miserable experience at the Captains Quarters just down the road we were happy to find availability at the Vikings Shores. It was like the Ritz in comparison. To be clear, Vikings Shores is a basic motel but the rooms were very clean, the grounds immaculate and service was friendly and helpful.

The rooms are a bit small but the room we had opened up to a picnic area which was perfect for our young kids to have some space to run around. The pool was nice, it is supposedly heated but it is not kept warm. However, once you get in it was quite comfortable. The playground set was another bonus for families with small children.

The staff was friendly and attentive. When asked they promptly delivered a roll away bed and replaced a lost key without any extra charges.

Most importantly, although there were some flaws (e.g, warped wall paper) the rooms and grounds were exceptionally clean and well-maintained. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1000monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale,FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Ifound the staff to be most helpfull & rooms clean & smelled fresh.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commissioner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

It's a good thing we had our own linens because there was no way we were sleeping on the "see through linens" provided under an old blanket. For $160/night, this is a total rip off and was like sleeping at the Bate's Motel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConnecticutBeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Clean, easy and friendly staff. Breakfast included.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
1.3 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
20.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
2.0 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Shores Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Shores Motor Inn

Property: Viking Shores Motor Inn
Address: 5200 Route 6, P.O. Box 1899, Eastham, MA 02651
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Shores Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Affordable Eastham, MA accommodations near the Cape Cod National Seashore. On the Cape Cod Rail Trail / Bike Path *Choose from 40 smoke-free rooms, perfect for day or weekend trips, family reunions, wedding guests and group getaways. Our Motel offers a spacious coffee bar area great for family gatherings or conference center. Thoughtful, family-friendly amenities include in-room refrigerators, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary continental breakfast daily, Direct access to the Cape Cod Rail Trail / Bike Path, Outdoor Pool & No minimum night stay required. Plus, a number of Cape Cod restaurants and beaches are within easy driving distance from our relaxing Cape Cod motel. Guests at our Cape Cod motel get the advantage of two motels in one. All the amenities at the Blue Sea Motor Inn located in Truro are available to our guests. Amenities include a heated indoor pool & whirlpool, Private Beach Access to the Cape Cod Bay & Free parking for the shuttle into Provincetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Viking Shores Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Shores Hotel
Viking Shores Motor Inn Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing