We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owmers Bring Viking Shores Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Owmers Bring Viking Shores Down”
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We've been going here for over 15 years and will NEVER go back. Among other things, they discontinued continental breakfast without notice and locked the breakfast room.
The pool was not heated, but more important, not clean. The new owners had a very cavalier attitude. More importantly, they have been dropped from AAA and the Mobil guide. That speaks for itself.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank orangeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    45
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

The staff here is very nice. There is a lovely breakfast room where you can also bring a picnic lunch. The playground is lovely and the grounds attractive. But:

Rooms are VERY small. We had a room with 2 double beds--one against one wall and one at a right angle against another wall and it was pretty cramped. Beds were NOT musty, but mattresses average, no more.

Furnishings were dated. There was what was supposed to be a bedside table--just one for two double beds, and it was a wobbly little stand that seemed like a high school shop project done by an unskilled student.

Lighting was spartan and the shade over the hanging lamp over the table was not secure--we knocked it off several times.

And we had an ant invasion. This was noted, but it took several days to clear it--by the time it was over, we were leaving.

I was disappointed, and as much as we liked the exteriors, the problems with the rooms would keep us from staying here again.

  • Liked — Grounds and breakfast room
  • Disliked — Cramped and dated. Not comfortable for more than a one night stopover.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LibraryLady61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We spent a week on the outer cape staying each night in a different motel and found the Viking Shores to be a notch above the typical cape motel. We found the room to be clean and NOT musty. We particularly liked the heated outdoor pool because it was warm enough for the kids to swim in for a long time, not just a quick dip. The owner later mentioned that a warmer pool makes for happier kids which makes for happier customers. The continential breakfast was simple, but adequate.

Viking Shores has bikes to rent and they are on the bike trail, which makes things easy.

  • Liked — Heated pool
  • Disliked — On Route 6
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ElectricalEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Nice on the outside but not so great on the inside. Rooms smelled musty. Had to switch from a queen bed reservation to a double bed room. Matresses VERY uncomfortable. I had to clean down the outside of the toilet myself. Left one day early but motel never refunded the money. When asked for a refund, response was very rude and sarcastic.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank babs1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2005

The room was clean, the grounds well-maintained, and the owners and staff were all very informative, helpful and friendly. What more can you want really?

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend the place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank akosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2004

Great heated pool -- very clean.
Right next to bike path, bikes for rent.
Proprietors were helpful and friendly.
Lawns, picnic table, grill, big trees, doughnuts and english muffins for breakfast.
Shuttle to the beach.
This was a great place to stay.

Helpful?
9 Thank chralene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
1.3 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
20.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
2.0 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Shores Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Shores Motor Inn

Property: Viking Shores Motor Inn
Address: 5200 Route 6, P.O. Box 1899, Eastham, MA 02651
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Shores Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Affordable Eastham, MA accommodations near the Cape Cod National Seashore. On the Cape Cod Rail Trail / Bike Path *Choose from 40 smoke-free rooms, perfect for day or weekend trips, family reunions, wedding guests and group getaways. Our Motel offers a spacious coffee bar area great for family gatherings or conference center. Thoughtful, family-friendly amenities include in-room refrigerators, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary continental breakfast daily, Direct access to the Cape Cod Rail Trail / Bike Path, Outdoor Pool & No minimum night stay required. Plus, a number of Cape Cod restaurants and beaches are within easy driving distance from our relaxing Cape Cod motel. Guests at our Cape Cod motel get the advantage of two motels in one. All the amenities at the Blue Sea Motor Inn located in Truro are available to our guests. Amenities include a heated indoor pool & whirlpool, Private Beach Access to the Cape Cod Bay & Free parking for the shuttle into Provincetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Viking Shores Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Shores Hotel
Viking Shores Motor Inn Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing