We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Cape Cod getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cape Cod getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast in August of 2013 for three nights. We were greeted by Gordon and Jean, who were warm, genuine and very interested in making sure were were comfortable and informed. They gave us great advice about restaurants, beaches, ferries, anything Cape Cod.

We stayed in the Lucille Suite, which is on the second floor of this historic colonial. The room was spotlessly cleaned, artfully and comfortably decorated and we had all necessary comforts. The location of the B & B on the Cape was fantastic. We could easily walk down the road and hike the Fort Hill Trail, with ocean views, breezes, wild flowers and sheer Cape Cod beauty.

It was an quick trip over to Wellfleet, the Cape Cod National Seashore was 5 seconds away, a quick trip to Ptown, or a 1/2 hour jaunt to Hyannis Port.

Jean is a fabulous cook, and the breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious! There is not one thing I would have changed about our stay. It is about as perfect gets! We hope to go back!

Room Tip: Take them seriously when they say the second floor stairs to the Lucille Suite are steep. We managed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
163
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

After an exhaustive search of B&B's, we cannot be happier with our choice to stay at Fort Hill B&B! The location on the Outer Cape (away from the malls and congestion of the Middle Cape) was excellent for our 3 nights away. We stayed in the Emma Room which had a separate sitting room with TV, wifi, beautiful bathroom, large closet, comfortable bed, and more. Outside you could enjoy the screened in gazebo, wicker furniture under the trees, a short walk to the top of Fort Hill to view the marshes and ocean, etc. Breakfasts were delicious and special care by Jean was given to accommodate dietary needs. It was great getting to know the other guests at breakfast, discussing politics and experiences/activities from the previous day. Jean and Gordon also recommended places to see and things to do with all their "insider" tips and secrets of the Cape. We wanted to cycle the Cape Cod Rail Trail for a couple of days and Jean recommended Little Capistrano's bike shop a km up the road. It was very handy (although crossing Hwy#6 to get to the sidewalk was a challenge in August traffic!) and the service was friendly and efficient. The trail is fantastic. We road 60k round trip to Chatham one day and 50k round trip to Wellfleet another day. We ate at the Wild Goose Tavern in Chatham, Abba in Orleans, Mac's Seafood Shack and Winslow's Tavern in Wellfleet, and The Oyster Company Grill in Dennisport. All were amazing meals! Fort Hill Bed and a Breakfast is well worth the stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarniaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our second visit to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast ( the first was in 2009 ). We stayed four nights and enjoyed our visit even more than the first time ( if that was at all possible ! ). The hospitality of our hosts was again outstanding , enhanced by the familiarity of the lovely setting and the warmth of the welcome. The superb local knowledge of Gordon and Jean enabled us to explore different beaches , eat at new restaurants , and enjoy favourite walks. The accessibility of the Inn meant that we could enjoy a day on Nantucket where we managed to pack in a walking tour , a museum visit ( the outstanding Whaling Museum ), a cycle ride , and a superb meal at Straight Wharf . The B & B is , quite simply, a great base from which to explore the Cape , a region of great charm and beauty . If there was a problem , it was the difficulty of prising ourselves away from the breakfast table to start the day ! !

David and Penny C

Room Tip: All rooms are of the highest quality
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling and water management much in evidence. Towels used efficiently.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Amazing experience. Hotel owners were gracious and very helpful. One of the best get-aways we've had in a long tim. Beautiful, well-cared for place. Highly recommended. Quiet, natural setting, beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the guesthouse it was beautiful and fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartholomew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The inn combines historical charm with modern updated on well maintained amenities. Gordon and Jean went out of their way to make to make us feel at home. Scenic location with nice walks starting right from the inn. Breakfast was carefully prepared. Our room was very quiet.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the Emma suite for two nights before a family week in South Wellfleet. A perfect place to relax after a long drive from New Jersey. Gordon greeted us warmly, showed us all around and recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. After a relaxing night's sleep in the very comfortable room , we enjoyed a great breakfast and wide-ranging conversation with Jean and Gordon. Friday night was just as peaceful, and we were sorry to leave on Saturday morning. We would definitely make a repeat stay there next time we visit the Cape. The location is perfect, close to the main highway but completely secluded and peaceful, with good walks just steps from the door.
Gareth and Janet . Princeton NJ

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for a week while attending a nearby conference in Eastham. No complaints at all! We were warmly welcomed by Gordon and Jean, who gave us lots of information and recommendations, and enjoyed superb breakfasts every morning. The location was great, rooms were lovely (we stayed in upstairs bedroom), and we appreciated the attention to detail. We'll be back, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs bedroom, which was lovely and suited our needs. If you can splurge, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longmeadow120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
9.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
1.4 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
0.7 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 75 Fort Hill Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-2510
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax inside the Fort Hill Area of the Cape Cod National Seashore Park with panoramic ocean views and walking trails. The award-winning, adult-only B+B offers an ocean-view cottage and two gracious suites with private baths and full breakfast. Your hosts will give you a warm welcome and help you plan each day. Your accommodations will be private, quiet and luxurious. Eastham, home to the National Seashore Visitor's Center and ocean and Bay beaches, is the perfect location to explore the Cape from Provincetown to Chatham to the Islands. Join us to see why Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast has "the best location of any B+B on Cape Cod". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Hill Bed And Breakfast Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing