We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Haven of Serenity on Cape Cod”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Haven of Serenity on Cape Cod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a too-short stay at Fort Hill Bed & Breakfast. We are B&B people and have had B&B experiences around the world. This was absolutely one of the best! The Civil War era house has been lovingly and thoughtfully restored and has virtually everything a guest could wish for - AMAZING breakfast, comfortable bed, engaging host and hostess and a location that is simply perfect for walking, viewing and truly "going off the grid" as a fellow guest said on Sunday. It is an incredibly serene environment. We were also extremely impressed with the flexibility we experienced because we needed to change our arrival time AND we had unexpected guests who joined us for the afternoon to sit in the garden and visit. Jean and Gordon couldn't have been nicer -- right down to the "to-go breakfast" that was waiting for us on our too-early departure! We will go back and stay longer!

Room Tip: The Lucille suite on the second floor was perfect for us but next time we would like to try the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thanks so much for your glowing review! You clearly enjoyed your stay here at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast and appreciate the history of the house and area. Your kind words about our hospitality make us smile, looking forward to another great year of warmly greeting guests.

And thank you for pointing out to other travelers that the steeper than normal (circa1864) staircase to the upstairs suite can pose a challenge for some.

The Emma suite on the first floor still has some open dates for 2015...and no stairs to contend with! We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
163
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent 5 days at Fort Hill in early June. It's location could not be better with P'town only 30 minutes away, the cycleway that runs right down to Harwich right on their doorstep and easy access to Orleans which feels like a year round town and has so many great places to eat. Not that you need to eat much after Jean's breakfasts - something different every day and always delicious. We were able to do day trips to Martha's Vinyard and Nantuckett from there and the whale watching was just amazing - memories that will stay for us for a long while. Gordon and Jean were great hosts and their tips on what to do where and when were very thoughtful and accurate - I am sure they will have a busy summer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast for your first visit to Cape Cod, and for sharing your kind thoughts here on Trip Advisor. As frequent world travelers, your input and observations provide valuable information for us and for other travelers. We consider your experienced opinion of Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast high praise, and we are thrilled you were impressed with our convenient, scenic location, full breakfast and warm hospitality. We hope you will be back to Fort Hill soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've been visiting the Cape since 1967, and am so glad that I *finally* found Fort Hill B&B. My wife and I consider the summer a loss if we don't spend some time at Fort Hill. It provides access to the best parts of the Cape- the National Seashore, Wellfleet, P'town.
If you're lucky, stay at the Nantucket Cottage for charm, privacy and beauty.
But the truth is, the best part is spending some time with the innkeepers, Jean and Gordon. Jean's breakfasts are amazing, Gordon's interests are far-reaching, and their hospitality will make even a rainy few days seem bright.
We're just back from a few days, so this summer is a win!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickPNMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We really enjoyed our visit here and our stay in the cottage. The cottage is quite, spacious, relaxing and spotlessly clean. The sunrises were spectacular . The grounds are also spacious with beautiful gardens and plenty of room to wander around to enjoy the views of the marsh, sand dunes and the ocean.The breakfast is to die for with fresh cut fruits, homemade muffins and omelets prepared the way you like them. Our host, Gordie and Jean, are superb innkeepers whose attention to detail made our visit to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SacandagaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a lovely review of your stay in the ocean-view Nantucket cottage on Fort Hill. We loved hosting you and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely house, great host and hostess, delicious breakfast - if you are on the Cape do yourself a favor and check out the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast. If you like to walk, you can quickly get to the top of Fort Hill and the view of the coastline and Atlantic is spectacular.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, totally private, separate bath, roomy with walk in closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently returned for a repeat visit to the Fort Hill B&B, and enjoyed ourselves so much that we intend to make it an annual tradition. You really cannot ask for much more in a B&B: tastefully appointed, peaceful surroundings, and above all, your warm and gracious hosts Jean and Gordon. They are an integral part your experience, and the inn itself feels intrinsic to this beautiful natural area - it is as if both innkeepers and inn have always been here, and always will be.

Room Tip: For privacy, choose the well appointed cottage. For a feeling of going back in time, choose one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have been here twice both times in the cottage couldn't be better for a get away.You have privacy,the place is spotless,it's top shelf all the way.The owners Gordon and Jean are there to help you with advice on restaurants things to see and do anything you need.The breakfasts are also real good too.We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: The cottage is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
1.5 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#3 of 9 in Eastham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.4 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 75 Fort Hill Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-2510
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax inside the Fort Hill Area of the Cape Cod National Seashore Park with panoramic ocean views and walking trails. The award-winning, adult-only B+B offers an ocean-view cottage and two gracious suites with private baths and full breakfast. Your hosts will give you a warm welcome and help you plan each day. Your accommodations will be private, quiet and luxurious. Eastham, home to the National Seashore Visitor's Center and ocean and Bay beaches, is the perfect location to explore the Cape from Provincetown to Chatham to the Islands. Join us to see why Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast has "the best location of any B+B on Cape Cod". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Hill Bed And Breakfast Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing