We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Cape Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Eastham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband I vacationed at the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast in Eastham, staying in the Nantucket Cottage for six days. The location of this B&B cannot be beat. The quiet setting is adjacent to the National Seashore, with trails leading out into woods and fields with stunning views of Nauset Marsh and a glimpse of Coast Guard Beach on the horizon. The historic Penniman House is directly across the road. The entire neighborhood has a19th century aura.The innkeepers, Jean and Gordon Avery, were welcoming in every way and made us feel completely at home.  Each day offered new pleasures at the breakfast table. Jean is an exceptional and imaginative cook.  Gordon is very gracious and attentive. He provided many great suggestions for restaurants and ways we could enjoy our Cape experience. 

The spacious and charming Nantucket Cottage is a separate private lodging located close to the main house. The living room with its cathedral ceilings and views across the lawn and gardens to the distant marshes was perfect for reading and relaxing.The well-apportioned kitchen with a tiny refrigerator, microwave, and sink allowed us to make our lunch daily before heading out on a new adventure.  A cozy bedroom with a comfortable queen size bed was on a second floor above the living room.

Jean and Gordon have done a marvelous job of creating a relaxing, enticing, special, home-like destination that we will surely return to frequently.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank F_James2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Fort Hill when we were first married and had the opportunity to return this summer... and were delighted to have our memories and expectations exceeded! The Nantucket Cottage is a perfect space, with every need anticipated and taken into consideration. We were there for several days and found this to be the perfect spot - both when setting forth on active exploration days, and when spending an entire day on the property and in the lovely Fort Hill neighborhood.The space was beautiful, comfortable and ensouled; we had a wonderful view across the dunes and to the ocean. Jean and Gordon are warm, knowledgeable and attentive hosts; on each day breakfast was different, and out of this world. The other guests were interesting and well traveled and we found ourselves deep in conversation over breakfast every day. We learned that, like us, many of them are travelers who research accommodations for months on end trying to make the perfect selection - and all of believed that we had done so with Fort Hill! Our trip to this wonderful B & B will be an annual and eagerly anticipated annual ritual.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LisaL919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to share your thoughts about your stay here at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast with other travelers. Although we have been innkeepers here for 25+ years, we are still amazed at the warmth and friendliness of our guests. It is because of our great guests, like you, that we eagerly anticipate both our "regulars" and each new couple who stay with us. We are expecting another busy summer so please let us know if you would like to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I spent a perfect weekend earlier this summer at Fort Hill. We have been visiting family in Eastham for years, and have always admired this B&B for its charming appearance and lovely location, and decided to take the plunge (leaving the kids at grandma's house in Eastham). What a treat! The inside is just as charming and comfortable as the outside, and Jean and Gordon are perfect hosts--warm, personable and helpful, but not intrusive. We were one of three couples staying that weekend, and it was really fun to chat with the other guests over breakfast-we feel we gained some real friends (not to mention pounds-the breakfasts were to die for)! The location is perfect; a short walk to "destination" bird watching (seriously--and I'm not a bird watcher, or at least I wasn't until now!!!), and close to the bike trails and beaches. We cant wait to book again for next year. Just a perfect experience all around!

Room Tip: WE stayed on the first floor in the main house-a two room suite. It was perfect. I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robinpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

As we look out our window in February to the snowy, frozen landscape here at Fort Hill we are warmed by your words in your enthusiastic review of your stay with us last summer. You are not the first guest to have your heart stolen by the sights and sounds of this very special location in the National Seashore...but we are thrilled that even the birds made an impression on you! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations, offering gracious accommodations, warm hospitality and the opportunity to escape your busy lives. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Jim and I travel to the Cape often and this was one of our favorite visits.
The location is perfect. Just minutes from Wellfleet, Beaches, and Galleries.
The Inn is lovely. Book early as it usually fills fast. From the top of Fort Hill the view of the marshes and dunes is surreal.
Bring a bottle of wine and experience spectacular sunsets. Gordon and Jean are warm hosts and have a wealth of knowledge regarding restaurants, shopping, and secret spots to visit.
Breakfast is made with great love. Jean remarked one morning that a homemade yogurt was cooking and would be ready the next day. Wow! it was delicious. Fresh fruit, home baked scones, and delightful crepes, eggs etc. were just a few of the delightful tastes she brought to the table.
Gordon intrigued us as he joined in on meaningful conversation. We left feeling as though we've known him for decades. This is a place to relax and listen to birds....To sit quietly and read.....To just look around and smile.....

Room Tip: The Cottage is Beautiful. First floor Emma Room is very comfortable with a wonderful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I choose this quaint Bed and Breakfast for a restorative weekend getaway because of its beautiful location on the National Seashore. We don't usually choose Inns however something about the external charm motivated us to give it a shot. When we arrived we were greeted by the charming Inn keeper Gordon. He was intent on covering every detail and was overly courteous in a comforting way. The home was a historic house inviting and full of good karma. Our room was a suite on the second floor and was clean, quiet and perfectly adequate for our stay. Then breakfast!! Jean and Gordon were fabulous at making our mornings most memorable. Jean's cooking and Gordon's doting service was just what we needed to restore our tiered state of being. I must also mention the kindness they extended to all their guests was what impressed us most it was like we had known them forever. We can't wait to visit this magical place again it was just what we needed to recharge. Thank you Jean and Gordon.

Room Tip: Upstairs suite is adequate however the steep staircase would make it less desirable to those who don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank collcran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed in lots of B&B's and this is one of the very best experiences we have had for a number of reasons. The B&B is in a charming historic home located within the National Seashore. The accommodations were wonderful and the location is perfect. We have stayed in other locations on Cape Cod and this location is now our favorite. It is close to the best hiking and sight seeing, as well as the most interesting towns, good places to eat, etc,. The inn keepers were wonderful. They are long time Cape Cod residents and seem to know just about everything about Cape Cod and seem to enjoy sharing. No complaints of any kind during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a too-short stay at Fort Hill Bed & Breakfast. We are B&B people and have had B&B experiences around the world. This was absolutely one of the best! The Civil War era house has been lovingly and thoughtfully restored and has virtually everything a guest could wish for - AMAZING breakfast, comfortable bed, engaging host and hostess and a location that is simply perfect for walking, viewing and truly "going off the grid" as a fellow guest said on Sunday. It is an incredibly serene environment. We were also extremely impressed with the flexibility we experienced because we needed to change our arrival time AND we had unexpected guests who joined us for the afternoon to sit in the garden and visit. Jean and Gordon couldn't have been nicer -- right down to the "to-go breakfast" that was waiting for us on our too-early departure! We will go back and stay longer!

Room Tip: The Lucille suite on the second floor was perfect for us but next time we would like to try the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thanks so much for your glowing review! You clearly enjoyed your stay here at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast and appreciate the history of the house and area. Your kind words about our hospitality make us smile, looking forward to another great year of warmly greeting guests.

And thank you for pointing out to other travelers that the steeper than normal (circa1864) staircase to the upstairs suite can pose a challenge for some.

The Emma suite on the first floor still has some open dates for 2015...and no stairs to contend with! We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
1.5 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 10 in Eastham
294 reviews
3.2 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
440 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
#3 of 10 in Eastham
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
0.8 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
2 mi away
Town Crier Motel
Town Crier Motel
#6 of 9 in Eastham
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 75 Fort Hill Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-2510
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range: £119 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax inside the Fort Hill Area of the Cape Cod National Seashore Park with panoramic ocean views and walking trails. The award-winning, adult-only B+B offers an ocean-view cottage and two gracious suites with private baths and full breakfast. Your hosts will give you a warm welcome and help you plan each day. Your accommodations will be private, quiet and luxurious. Eastham, home to the National Seashore Visitor's Center and ocean and Bay beaches, is the perfect location to explore the Cape from Provincetown to Chatham to the Islands. Join us to see why Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast has "the best location of any B+B on Cape Cod". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Hill Bed And Breakfast Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing