We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour guide and house...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Penniman House

Captain Penniman House
Ranked #9 of 27 things to do in Eastham
Attraction details
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great tour guide and house...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We finally got in!!
We've been trying to tour this house for quite some time now and were pleased it was open this time on our visit. We love the house, the history, and the very friendly, local tour guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The home has limited visiting hours, but it's worth a quick stop to visit a historic whaling captain's home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Voyagereuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good example of bad effects of sequestration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We paid a visit during an open house where you could walk around what was once the most stately of homes in the Eastham vicinity. No more.
It's certainly worth a visit to learn more about the a prominent whaling family and the often difficult but prosperous life they led. The displays tell a concise and engaging story about the family and their globetrotting excursions. But the house itself is essentially bare and badly in need of a paint job. The friendly volunteer we met who was manning the house lamented the state of affairs, as should we all.
This is part of the Cape Cod National Seashore, but the National Park Service has a lot on its plate to maintain, but not enough money to do the job right. The sequestration is partly to blame. As it was, it took private donations to ensure the visitors center in Provincetown was open. An old house falls further down the list. But do make a stop and leave enough time to walk around some of the short trails nearby, which give you some great views of the nearby marshes and allow you to escape from the more touristed parts of the Cape, even if only for a short time.
P.S. No bathroom here. You'll either have to go out to the Eastham visitor center on Route 6, or see if the loo is open on one of the trails

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Good tour for anyone interested in history of cape cod. Great views of marsh and water from fort hill. Be warned that it is buggy so bring all the repellant u got! The trail is nice. We saw deer, jack rabbits and beatiful scenery.

They have nice overlooks so make a reservation with the national seashore for a guided tour or come during their open house days. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlnyc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love the History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Tour guide- George- was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Many interesting pictures of the family displayed. Love the original furnishings and wallpaper. No admission but you can leave a donation. Lasts maybe an hour.

Great scenic area just past the house that is part of the Cape Cod National Sea Shore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SewFine802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Penniman House also viewed

 

Been to Captain Penniman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing