We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite Cape hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
06090
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My new favorite Cape hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We take a trip to Eastham at least once a year. It's where I spent summers growing up, so I am quite familiar with the area. We were looking for a new place to stay this year, since we weren't too thrilled with our old hotel. The Blue Dolphin is great!

They were very friendly at check in, the rooms were well cleaned each day, and they even went out of their way for me when I asked about adding an extra night. They took the time to suffle a few reservations around so I could stay in the same room on that additional night. All with almost no notice! The rooms had a little porch out back which was great, and came in handy for drying beach towels too. They had picnic tables and grills in the courtyard, but we didn't use them.

The hotel pool was great and we spent a ton of time in it. It was an easy trip to the bike trail, and we ate at the restaurant on the property every morning. They had the best breakfast buffet! They also had a playground, horsehoes, and a volleyball net.

We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: We had a room in the very back of the hotel (all the way through the parking lots) and it was nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LPSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    77
    43
    11
    14
See reviews for
87
80
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have visited Wellfleet many times every summer and continue to stay at the Blue Dolphin Inn. We love it there, and recommend anyone staying there. The employers at the Blue Dolphin Inn make you feel right at home!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our door to the patio was falling off the hinges, and the bathroom was tiny and without hardly any ventilation- made showering a hot steamy hell. Overall a pretty standard, dated Cape Cod type of motel, but the in season rates seemed too high for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gobbeldigook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

There was definitely a mold problem In our room with a musty smell on one side. Lots of mold in the bathroom grouting. Tried to use the a/c but we got plugged up heads so must have been mold in that, also. No lock on screen doors, so didn't feel relaxed about sleeping at night with sliders open, but needed to for night air as long as couldn't tolerate room a/c. Pluses were good sized rooms, availability of microwaves plus standard frig in rooms, wonderful grounds for kids, and very nice pool. Tiny towels at pool,however. Ok place for a short stay. Wouldn't have wanted to stay there for a week. Despite being near the highway, the location was very quiet even with lots of guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I have mixed feelings about the Blue Dolphin. Yes, it was in a very convenient location, it was quiet (even though it was totally booked), the rooms were spacious enough, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The downside- the room did smell very musty, I had to wash my clean clothes when I got home because they smelled just like the room. The pool was nice, but if you went in the afternoon, all the towels were used. The bed was clean, but very uncomfortable- we're grateful we brought our own pillows. The bathroom is my biggest complaint. The shower could use some bleach on the grout and the wallpaper in there is falling off. (Yes, wallpaper in the shower...??) The tiles on the floor were cracked and coming up, maybe that's why they wouldn't clean the floor in there...I eventually did. The sink hardly drained at all...it took several minutes. And they really need a vent in there. Not be be gross, but after 'using the bathroom', the smell has no where to go but into the room.

Overall, we had a great stay and the room served it's purpose well. I think they should use the off-season (and some of our money) to do some updates/ maintainence. We would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauragee357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The room was spacious and clean, and the swimming pool was nice. The motel is a bit off the main road so traffic noise was minimal. Aside from these positives, there were several downsides. The mattress on our king bed was hard and uncomfortable. The bath tub didn't drain well, so when showering we'd end up standing in 6 inches of soapy water. The room had a small fridge but no microwave, even though we had requested one. Worst of all, we got a corner room - this meant our sliding patio door that faced the inner courtyard (the only source of natural light in the room) looked kitty corner directly into our neighbors room, and that we shared a patio space with them. All other rooms had dividers between patios - but not our corner room. We could see everything in their room and they in ours. We always had to have our curtain drawn if we wanted any privacy, and if we left the door open for fresh air we'd hear their conversation, TV, and air conditioner as if they were are own. If you stay here, make sure you don't get a corner room - its an absurd set up!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KooS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The place was okay, but the mattress were very old, and not very firm. Pretty squeeky too. For the price, I was surprised that they didn't buy newer mattresses - it seems like they should make enough where they can afford it. The rooms were clean, but the motel is aged, and it shows. Our room had a screen facing the parking lot which used only metal shutters to close it, and they didn't seal completely, so it wasn't soundproof. A group of people in the parking lot kept me up for at least a half hour, in combo with the bad bed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
20.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
0.7 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 5950 Route 6, Eastham, MA 02651
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments away from ocean, bay and freshwater beaches, on six lovely acres, featuring private patios, picnic area, outdoor pool, breakfast restaurant, packages and much more! Open mid-April through mid-October.newly renovated rooms with 39 inch flat screen tv, refrigerator ,microwave ,coffee machine ,hair dryer in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Eastham
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Inn Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing