We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We found the Eagle Wing Guest Motel to be very clean and spacious. Gerry and Mary are very friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and other sights. The pool was refreshing and had very little chemicals in the water. Continental breakfast in the front patio was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dbnrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2008

We recently stayed at the Eagle Wing Guest Motel and were impressed with the cleanliness and quietness mentioned in many of the other reviews. The room was quite pleasant, the pool was quite pretty, the grounds were nice, and the back of the room actually had a pleasant deck where you could eat, and looked onto a lovely lawn.

However, when you check in, the owner (in this case Gerry) subjects you to a long dissertation on how badly other guests behave, how if he "had a dollar for every previous guest who failed to close the windows when they turned on the AC" he would be a rich man. This, together with the various restrictive rules and regulations would warrant this a good place to stay if you were "in the older set" and wanted very little activity to hamper a quiet and restful stay.

Of particular concern was the pool restriction that forbade food and/or drink....a little difficult in hot weather when a drink of water might prove beneficial. It would appear that a non-social type clientel is desired as no unregistered guests were allowed in the rooms or pool. Be prepared for an almost automatic response of "no" when a favor or "unusual" request is made. There isn't much one can "get away with" as our next door neighbor was chastised for bringing his rented bicycle into the room at night (to preclude loss we believe as opposed to being snuck into the room as an unregistered guest).

In sum, quiet, clean and efficiently run, but not the most hospitable environment on Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Mojoajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeCodsBest, Gerry and Mary Orris, Owners at Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2008

When this guest departed, he and his colleague both said how much they enjoyed their stay and that they would be back next year. In light of their compliments, this review is extremely perplexing.

We inform all guests about some of our operations when they check in to simplify their stay. We are conservationists and the brief dialogue in the office and signs we have posted in rooms are “suggestions” to our guests to assist with our efforts. The majority of our guests appreciate our concerns.

The restrictions on our pool are required by the Town of Eastham and the County Health Boards. It is a standard sign that is supposed to be posted on every public pool in the country. Despite what the sign “says,” we have always allowed guests to take beverages in “plastic or aluminum” containers into the pool area. We have also always allowed guests to take food into the pool area and hope that common sense and responsibility prevail.

While this review references a “neighbor” being “chastised” for bringing his “rented” bike into the room, clearly this was none of his concern and also taken entirely out of context. We have two bike racks in an enclosed area where all guests are asked to safely store their bikes. When the gentleman with the bike was informed that we do no permit bikes in the rooms, he was apologetic for doing so. He was also very appreciative that we would provide a lock and key to safely secure his (not rented) bike in this area.

Our frequent conversations with this guest during this five day stay were light and cordial. While we provide Wifi at no additional charge, for security reasons we could honor his request to directly hook up to our office computer and printer. However, we did try to find an Internet café or computer shop where he might be able print out the documents he wanted. We do not know whether he took advantage of our efforts. We provided them with everything they requested and answered all their questions. We even provided special storage and packing assistance for them upon their check out.

We realize we can’t satisfy everyone. Despite their comments of satisfaction and indications of returning next year, we’re greeted with this type of review?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We were very happy with the Eagle Wing. The location is great and the propietors are super friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and we enjoyed having continental breakfast available. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank llla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

I've just returned from a five-night stay at Eagle Wing and could not be happier with my experience. I was traveling alone to attend a conference on the Cape and found the Motel via a web search. Throughout the process, from making my reservation to saying a fond farewell to Mary, the experience could not have been more enjoyable. Mary and Gerry are generous, intelligent hosts who are devoted to ensuring that their guests have the best stay possible. Whether I was seeking restaurants, seal tours, and a beach trail for running, they responded patiently and enthusiastically with maps and good advice. I live in a large city and have had the chance to stay in many good hotels; I'll remember this experience with special fondness and plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Nisba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Went up for the July 4th Holiday. We stayed for three nights and were very pleased with absolutely everyting.We really appreciated how quiet and spotless our accomodations were. It is a nonsmoking, adult property which is what I love. Homemade muffins made by Mary in the mornings were a real treat. Gerry is a very helpful, accomodating owner who I liked very much. I know a couple of reviewers took issue with the signs that are in the rooms. This just goes to show that they care very much for their property and it shows in everything they do. The pool is a nice addition to the property. Yes, it's close to the main road but there is a privacy screen and the location didn't bother me. It was too cool for me to swim but I did enjoy reading on The nice loungers, not the cheap plastic ones that alot of motels have. . By the way, the pool is spotlessly clean like everything else. Stay at the Eagle Wing if you are in the area. You will be happy you did.

Thanks Mary and Gerry for a wonderful stay.
Look forward to returning

Maria and James Mock
Westchester Cty NY

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NewyorkChubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Gerry and Mary at the Eagle Wing Motel have guest comfort in mind. The accommodations are very tidy, fresh, reasonably priced and well located at mid-Cape. Also they cater to adults only which makes for a more quiet environment. And don't miss eating at Arnold's just 5 minutes north, arguably the best crab shack on the Cape.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank berkshiremovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at the motel on 5/17 for one night and were very pleased. We paid $92 for the night which is a great value. The motel is located on a quieter part of the Cape, just 2 miles from the National Seashore and that's what we wanted. The owner, Jerry, was very friendly and helpful and gave us a lot of useful info about the area.
The room was simple with king size bed and new clean white sheets. The bathroom was pristine and seemed like was recently renovated. Motel also offers WiFi and continental breakfast. Now, the breakfast is not your usual continental breakfast with rubbery muffins and lipton tea, they are homemade with blueberries (!) that Mary (the owner) makes fresh every day! I usually don't eat pastries, and I had 2 muffins ;-) tea was also a good brand.
I would greatly recommend the place you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation but want great service and a nice clean room. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shapoklya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
6.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod

Address: 960 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastham
#1 Green Hotel in Eastham
#2 Family Hotel in Eastham
Price Range: £97 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Wing Inn is a unique property that combines the personalized touches identified with a guesthouse or inn with the modern conveniences associated with a larger, more upscale facility. The philosophy of this quaint, quiet property is to provide clean, comfortable and hospitable accommodations and personalized services. It is conveniently located to visit and enjoy the entire Cape. The property is for couples and adults only and is totally NON-SMOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Wing Guest Hotel Eastham
Eagle Wing Guest Eastham
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod Eastham, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing