We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual summer seafood spot”

Arnold's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Description: "Best fried clams in the world"-Food & Wine Magazine. Arnold's seafood is so fresh, any fisherman would approve. Native lobster, local raw bar, cocktails, fried and baked seafood, lobster rolls, salads, an extensive children's menu, gourmet ice cream, and mini golf. Arnold's owner is Nathan "Nick" Nickerson, a true Cape Cod native and Mayflower descendant. Nick grew up surrounded by the sea and worked on farms and with family in Cape Cod restaurants. Almost 40 ago he founded what has become the world-famous Arnold's Lobster & Clam Bar. From the start, crowds were drawn to the fresh, native seafood, generous portions, friendly service and fun Cape Cod atmosphere found at Arnold's. Pets are allowed in our outdoor area in the back.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great casual summer seafood spot”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lobsters, rawbar, onion rings and many choices for the kids and vegetarians. This is a great summer spot for lunch or dinner. Icecream and mini golf are also available!

To the Arnold's owner... With the business you get every summer, it would be nice to see a recycling program. Everything is disposable and none of the disposables are recyclable or compostable. Traveling through the national seashore and protected lands on the Cape, it would be great to see conservation at the local restaurants.

Thanks for a great meal this summer and I hope to be back my next trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rose916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind words and for your concern regarding recycling. You may not be aware of this but we have been recycling for years now. If you were to walk out back you would see a large trailer full of cardboard, contractor size bags full of plastic bottles and jugs, bags full of tin cans, garbage barrels full of empty glass non deposit bottles, and giant garbage barrels without liners where we put all our vegetative produce we cant use, onion skins, corn husks etc. We go to the Eastham recycling station approx. 3 times a week more if needed. We are also involved in a shellfish shell recycle program where we pay to have our shells picked up and delivered to the Wellfleet Recycle Center where they ready the shells to put back on the flats to catch oyster spat to grow more oysters. Oysters by the way naturally filter and clean the seawater while providing people with the delicious meats from shucked oysters, fried oysters, oyster stew etc. Last year we recycled more oyster, clam and mussels shells than any other restaurant on Cape Cod!
I've looked into using more expensive items like bamboo utensils , plates etc but was told not to bother incurring the additional cost because they would not be composted but taken to a facility where the trash is separated and burned. They take the plastic, glass, metal etc and send that off to be recycled.
If I am missing anything please let me know as I am very much "into" doing my part to save the planet.
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to write about our recycling program here at Arnolds.
Nathan A. Nickerson III
OWNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    306
    124
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asunción
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Arnold’s Cold Lobster Roll!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I wanted to try the Arnold’s Maryland Style Crab Cakes and I couldn't because baked dinners served after 5:00 p.m. So, I try the lobster roll, and it tasted very good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luciernaga1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious, pricey, laboriously long wait....”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Delicious, pricey, laboriously long wait.... You earn your calories here, but the hardships are well worth enduring (well maybe not the NY/NJ crowds...but hey). The food is excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boots215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Fried Clams & raw bar”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Well worth the wait in line...if the food wasn't great there wouldn't be a line! Fried clams we had were perfect. Wellfleet oysters great! Fastest oyster shucker on the Cape...cutest too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clamalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great seafood, long wait, very expensive for self serve. Ice cream and miniature gold on site and located on the bike path.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SESKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arnold's Restaurant also viewed

 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Arnold's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing