We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Cod, cottage, cool!”
Review of Cottage Grove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottage Grove
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cape Cod, cottage, cool!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in cottage 1 recently and were happy with our overall experience. We will definitely have this place on our list for our next Cape stay. Jennifer the manager was helpful with every request and with answering all our questions about the Cape. There's also a great guidebook in the room that we ended up toting around with us for the weekend. The weekend we stayed, the price was very competitive, especially compared to places where we would have gotten an attached room, rather than a stand-alone unit. The location is fine; the usual trickiness of getting in and out from Route 6, but that also means it's very central to everything. The cottages are very picturesque, with lots of character. Others have complained that the places are dirty and rundown, but no, they are just not brand-new and many elements have been repurposed. If you are not into vintage comfortable, then a cookie-cutter motel will do better; fifty-yr old wood panels are never going to seem sterile. We even enjoyed the night when it poured because it made such a cozy noise on the roof. Cottage 1 would have been very sufficient space-wise for the two of us and our dog, except there was more furniture in it than I would have placed myself (end table, coffee table, rocking chair) and more than we needed. Knowing this, I would ask in advance to have these things stored for our visit if possible. The layout of the cottage, which included a separate bedroom area, was very convenient. We liked having both the inside and outside showers, and having the full kitchen was great, even if we didn't cook much. It's always homier to have real plates to eat from... We did have a little confusion over how we were supposed to make sure to receive fresh towels -- most days, we were present when the office was open from 9-11 and could just request towels, but one day, we left before 8 and returned after the office had closed, and our wet, used towels were still waiting for us when we returned. I wouldn't have minded reusing them either, but there's really no place to hang stuff to dry besides the furniture. It would be great if there were some sort of little rack for bathing suits and such. I'm a little confused as to what a previous poster is talking about as far as daily maid service. We certainly didn't have that (and the place doesn't seem to be claiming to provide it).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We just returned from a week at Cottage Grove and just loved it! The cottages are very comfortable and clean - everything you need is there. It's a relaxed and comfortable place to getaway and recharge. We love that it's dog friendly with out being dog worn. Just a very homey, comfortable, relaxing place to be. Close to all of the beaches, a great place to start your lower Cape adventures. Jennifer, the manager is so nice - she's great with recommendations for anything from where to have dinner to the best trails for dog hikes. Before we left today we made a couple of reservations for next year. Can't wait!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are unique and have their own individual charm. Check out their website for det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingYoginiME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here a while ago but forgot to write a review. I'd like to start out by saying that Cottage Grove was a very clean place...and one of the few cottage places that give you daily maid service (which is great!).....it's also in a good location...right on rt 6 in Eastham. The owners were friendly and make their guests feel very welcome. It is however, a bit pricey.....esp if you want to rent one of the larger cottages which you can only do if you stay 1 week.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After reading all the great reviews on TripAdvisor, we thought we'd give Cottage Grove a try -- and we're sure glad we did! We stayed 6 nights in Cottage 3, which is only 250 sq ft, but it's laid out so that you can close off the bedroom from the living room/kitchen area. It was plenty of room for 2 people. As other reviewers have described, the decor is very rustic and each cottage has a lot of personality. It's clear that a lot of thought has gone into the decor, with everything from the rugs, lampshades, and plates incorporating 1930's era designs. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, as was the loveseat in the living area. Linens and pillows were all high-end quality.

The property manager Jennifer was available 7 days a week, and gave us plenty of good tips about places to eat, shop, & sightsee. We especially appreciated her suggestion of Fort Hill, which was just stunning in its beauty at sunset. Eastham is a great central location on the Cape. We're already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Some of the cottages near the front of the property may have some road noise, but #3 was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_J101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you want turn down and room service, this is not the place. But if you want a charming cottage in a quaint setting of a grove of trees, this is the Heaven. I travelled here for a professional conference and a friend and I each had our own well-stocked, restored 1930's cabin. To our surprise, we had no desire to eat out. There was a fresh fish market down the street that would cook our lobster and the albeit small, but stocked kitchen enabled us to prepare sides with ease. Each cabin has a fan, air-conditioning and comfortable bed and showers. The one drawback is that it's on HWY 6 so turning left out of here was sometimes a challenge.

Room Tip: I loved cottage 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltraveled00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is the type of 'find' that I would prefer to keep to myself as a lovely secret, and perhaps share it with a dear friend or two. However, as I have been encouraged to share my impressions, I will give this favorable report. These cottages, built in the 1930s, have been updated to incorporate all good things modern (great hot water, cable, good A/C) while retaining the features of the original cottages and including exposed beams for a nice design touch. Everything is quite well appointed and comfortable; even the towels and amenities appear to have been chosen with care. Manager Jennifer Congdel is devoted to guests and able to provide a wealth of information about the cape and the best places to explore. She truly goes above and beyond to be welcoming. Much to be pleased with here; I hope I will not be long in returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letters2mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Cottage Grove (#4 cottage) for 5 nights this past June. The history of the cottages is really interesting with wood from disallowed road side bill boards used by the original builder in the 1930's. He had the contract to remove the signs on the Outer Cape. The cottages have been restored to keep their rustic look with beautiful pine floors,walls and ceilings. They are nicely spaced out over about 3 acres of wooded land nicely back off busy route #6. There is no road noise at all- just the sound of the many birds that seem to like the place as much as we did.
The part that really caught our attention was how there is a rule that no cars are allowed onto the property. You are allowed to drive in to your cottage to unload then you drive back and park outside the wooden barrier fence under some nice big trees. It makes for a very tranquil, peaceful setting within the cottages. And there's lots of privicy with lots of trees and shrubs around each cottage. Just a terrific place with a ton of real Cape Cod friendleness- Jennifer does a great job tending to all her guests and is a wealth of information about what to do and where to go on the Cape. Have stayed at 4 other cottage colonies on the National Seashore- this one is really special and we plan to return many times in the future. Trust me- you will absolutely LOVE this place. Bruce & Betsy, Mississauga Ontario. P.S. beds are excellent!

Room Tip: The little cabins are a bit small- if you want more space move up to a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BruceL627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
5.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
5.1 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove

Property: Cottage Grove
Address: 1975 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic and comfortable property that has 9 individual cottages. Close to the Cape Cod National seashore visitors center and a convenient location to other areas of interest on Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing